Ajaja ajaja

Famille : Threskiornithidae

 

GIF - 5.4 ko

 

Texte © D. Sc. Giuliano Russini - Biologiste Zoologiste

 

 

GIF - 5.7 ko

 

Traduction en français par le Prof. Renata Rasia

 

 

JPEG - 23.8 ko
L’Ajaja ajaja vit dans l’Amérique du Sud et du Centre jusqu’en Floride © Giuseppe Mazza

La spatule rosée ( Ajaja ajaja - Linnaeus, 1758 ) est un splendide et curieux oiseau appartenant à la sous-classe des Ornitures ( Ornithurae ), super-ordre Néognates ( Neognathae ), ordre des Pelecaniiformes ( Pelecaniformes ), famille Treschiornitides ( Threskiornithidae ), genre Ajaja.

Les spatules, avec pas moins d’une dizaine d’espèces, toutes afférentes au genre Platalea, sont dispersées en Europe centro-méridionale, en Afrique, en Asie, en Australie, tandis qu’en Amérique du Sud il s’agit du genre Ajaja.

En réalité encore maintenant beaucoup de biologistes ornithologues, dans les revues d’Ornithologie, identifient l’ Ajaja ajaja, oiseau endémique du centre et du sud de l’Amérique avec la terminologie utilisée pour les espèces du vieux monde, c’est-à-dire comme Platalea ajaja ; la International Commission for Zoological Nomenclature ( ICZN ), n’a pas encore donné un éclaircissement à ce sujet.

L’ Ajaja ajaja est appelé par les indigènes “rosado”, pour la couleur de sa livrée, ou bien “cucharon” (spatule , grand cuiller) pour la forme caractéristique de son bec.

Outre la spatula rosée du centre de l’Amérique du sud ( Ajaja ajaja ) deux autres espèces très connues sont : la spatule d’Afrique ( Platalea alba ) et la spatule blanche ( Platalea leucorodia ), présente dans le centre et le sud de l’Europe, comme en Italie (Sardaigne, Pouilles ) bien qu’elle nidifie aussi aux Pays-Bas, Hongrie, dans les régions du nord des Balkans, dans l’est de l’Europe jusqu’à l’ouest de l’Asie et en Afrique en migrant pour hiverner, dans le centre et le sud de l’Afrique ainsi que dans la péninsule du Deccan en Inde.

Zoogéographie

La spatule rosée est présente dans le centre et le sud de l’Amérique ( Mexique, Caraïbes, Guyane etc. ) où on peut trouver de différentes couples en train de manger, le bec dans l’eau.

Souvent on les retrouves avec d’autres oiseaux échassiers, comme aigrettes gazettes, hérons, ibis, chevaliers gambettes, flamands gris et roses.

En réalité on les retrouve aussi dans la partie du sud des Etats-Unis, notamment en Floride. A propos de cela , un centre où on peut les observer et les biologistes peuvent les étudier facilement c’est le Refuge Naturel National de Ding Darling. Là les spatules rosées vivent en communauté avec de différentes espèces d’airons, pélicans, chevaliers gambettes , aigrettes gazettes et flamands roses.

JPEG - 31.7 ko
Ce sont des animaux agiles et prêts à s’envoler face au danger © Giuseppe Mazza

Habitat-Ecologie

Ce sont des animaux qui aiment les milieux humides comme les marais à cannaie et les associations à mangroves ( où ils nichent en construisant leur nid sur les arbres ) les rivages des lacs et ils aiment aussi les plaines limoneuses.

Puisqu’il s’agit d’oiseaux de nature paisible, pas territoriale, il est assez facile de les trouver en communautés mixtes.

Morpho physiologie

Pour plusieurs caractéristiques morpho- logiques, en général les spatules du genre Ajaja et Platalea se ressemblent. Les différences sont dans le fait que les Ajaja ajaja ont la tête nue ( sans la mèche caractéristique de la Platalea leucorodia ) grisâtre comme le bec, qui a une forme pareille à celle des autres espèces de spatules, y compris celles du Vieux Continent.

Sa livrée est très belle presque entièrement rose terne, en opposition au rouge carmin des rémiges et des couvertures.

Le reste présente des caractéristiques morphologiques et des dimensions communes aux autres espèces.

Cette espèce mesure 80 cm de long. Toutefois 15 cm font partie de la queue qui est à peu près carrée et qui se confond avec le corps ; le bec mesure 20 cm.

Celui-ci, gris , est long et robuste, à forme de spatule qui s’élargit vers le sommet du rostre. En outre la partie supérieure est caractérisée sur le dos par des sillons et des rugosités très marquées et se termine à l’extrémité avec un petit crochet plié vers le bas.

Les narines sont carrément allongées et rapprochées car elles sont convergentes à l’extrémité inférieure ; elles se trouvent environ à la base du bec. La peau qui environne les yeux est nue ainsi que celle du menton, des rênes et du front tandis que la région auriculaire est couverte de plumes.

JPEG - 102.7 ko
Une Ajaja ajaia en Floride en train de bâtir son nid © Giuseppe Mazza

Les ailes sont grandes avec une envergure de 120-130 cm environ.

La livrée ne varie ni en fonction du sexe ni en fonction de la saison. C’est pourquoi, il n’y a pas de dimorphisme sexuel, ni stable ni saisonnier.

Chez les adultes les yeux sont rouges. Mais chez les petits le bec et les yeux ont une couleur différente : jaunâtre le premier et noisette le deuxième.

Chez toutes les espèces les pattes sont très longues ; chez la Ajaja ajaja couleur chair.

Toutes les spatules, pour s’adapter à la vie dans les biotopes aquatiques ont les trois doigts du pied tournés en avant et unis entre eux par une membrane qui arrive jusqu’à la deuxième phalange. Les biologistes appelant ce pied "syndactyle".

Ils se nourrissent en faisant aller leur bec dans l’eau, fouillant le fond comme des hérons mais à la différence des ceux-ci ne sont pas des filtreurs. Bien qu’ils se nourrissent aussi de petits crustacés et mollusques, ils mangent des coléoptères et hétéroptères aquatiques, poissons, grenouilles et tritons, ne rejetant pas les bourgeons des plantes aquatiques.

Le bec est aussi utilisé comme pivot d’appui sur lequel ils se soutiennent pour bouger le corps vers l’une ou l’autre direction.

Les adultes n’ont pas un grand nombre de prédateurs potentiels ( sauf les caïmans, les alligators et les crocodiles ) même si les ratons et les aigles chauves peuvent tuer des subadultes.

Les petits sont proie d’aigle et d’autres rapaces. L’homme ne les chasse pas , pas même les populations indigènes puisque leur chair est immangeable étant huileuse et avec un saveur de poisson. Selon des données recueillies sur terrain il semble qu’ils puissent vivre jusqu’à 17 ans.

Ethologie-Biologie Reproductive

Ce sont des animaux prêts à s’envoler dès qu’ils s’aperçoivent de n’importe quel danger.

A la différence des hérons , ils volent avec le cou en extension et en alternant de rigides battements d’ailes.

JPEG - 95.6 ko
Même si sa chair n’est pas comestible, elle est menacée par la dégradation de son habitat © G. Mazza

Ces ciconiiformes ont un comportement et des habitudes peu différents de ceux des cigognes et des hérons ainsi que des autres oiseaux aquatiques de la même taille. C’est pourquoi, grâce aussi à leur nature paisible qui les caractérise, ils vivent bien en groupe mixte.

Il se nourrissent d’habitude pendant la journée, bien qu’ils ne restent pas inactifs la nuit.

Au cours de la saison de nidification, les spatules rosées se réunissent en de vastes groupes, quelquefois avec des hérons, des cormorans, des ibis ; elles nichent dans les arbres qui se trouvent le long des fleuves comme par exemple les mangroves.

Elles n’ont pas beaucoup d’exigences pour ce qui concerne le support qui peut être une plante luxurieuse ou une vieille souche. Quelquefois le nid est bâti directement sur le sol.

C’est le mâle qui a le rôle principal dans cette construction et cela pour gagner les bonnes grâces de la femelle.

C’est un spectacle vraiment insolite voir, dans l’aire où les Ajaja ajaja se sont réunies en grands rassemblements, de milliers de nids proches l’un à l’autre qui cachent les renforts des branches.

Les œufs, de 3 à 5, sont déposées vers la fin d’avril ou début mai. D’habitude on compte 4 œufs, blanches, piquetées en marron , dimensions 67,3 x 45,5 mm.

Le couple s’occupe longtemps des jeunes même quand ils sont autonomes , avec eux ils font de long vols aux alentours.

Etant donné leur chair immangeable, le déclin de la population de Ajaja ajaja, est due à des phénomènes de modification du milieu et d’altération des aires où elles vivent.

La IUCN contrôle et recense sans cesse les populations ; actuellement elle est considérée comme espèce vulnérable.

Pour leur très belle livrée, ces spatules sont souvent présentes dans des jardins zoologiques et dans des parcs. Elles s’adaptent bien en captivité, elles se reproduisent et s’attachent à qui les nourrissent.

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein des PELECANIFORMES cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_A-255-2_Ajaja_ajaja
_A-255-1_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-3_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-4_Ajaia_Ajaja
_A-255-6_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-7_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-5_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-8_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-11_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-9_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-10_Ajaia_ajaja
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Ajaja ajaja

Family : Threskiornithidae

 

GIF - 5.4 kb

 

Text © DrSc Giuliano Russini - Biologist Zoologist

 

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 23.8 kb
The Ajaja ajaja lives in Central and South America, up to Florida © Giuseppe Mazza

The Roseate spoonbill ( Ajaja ajaja - Linnaeus, 1758 ) is a splendid and odd bird afferent to the clade or subclass of the Ornithurs ( Ornithurae ), superorder Neognaths ( Neognathae ), order of the Pelecaniforms ( Pelecaniformes ), family Threskiornithids ( Threskiornithidae ), genus Ajaja.

The roseate spoonbills are diffused with at least a ten of species in central-southern Europe, in Africa, Asia, Australia, all afferent to the genus Platalea, and with the genus Ajaja in South America.

In reality, till nowadays many ornithological biologists, in the Ornithology magazines, identify the Ajaja ajaja, autochthonous bird of Central and South America, with the terminology utilized for the species of the Old World, that is, as Platalea ajaja; the International Commission for Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN), has not yet given a clarification about the matter.

The Ajaja ajaja is called by the natives “Rosado”, due to the colour of its livery, or “cucharon” (spatula, big spoon), due to the characteristic shape of its bill.

Besides the Central-South American Roseate spoonbill ( Ajaja ajaja ) other two much known species are: the African spoonbill ( Platalea alba ) and the Eurasian spoonbill ( Platalea leucorodia ), present in central-southern Europe, as in Italy (Sardinia, Puglia), even if it nidifies also in Netherlands, Hungary, in the northern areas of the Balkans, in eastern Europe, up to western Asia and in Africa, migrating to hibernate in central-southern Africa as well as in the Deccan Peninsula in India.

Zoogeography

The roseate spoonbill is present in Central and South America (Mexico, Caribbean, Guyana, etc.), where several pairs intent on eating, with their beaks immersed in the water, may be observed.

They are often found together with other wading birds and threskiornitids, such as egrets, herons, ibises, redshanks, grey and pink flamingos.

In reality, they are found also in the southern part of USA, Florida in particular. In this context, a centre where they may be observed and where the biologists may easily study them, us the National Wildlife Refuge of Ding Darling. Here, the roseate spoonbills live in community, together with several species of herons, western pelicans, redshanks, egrets and pink flamingos.

JPEG - 31.7 kb
They are nimble animals, ready to elegant take offs by the least sign of danger © Giuseppe Mazza

Habitat-Ecology

They are animals loving the humid environments, such as the reed marshes and the mangrove associations (where they nidify building up their nest on the branches), the shores of the lakes and love also the muddy flat plains.

Being pacific, not territorial, birds, it is quite easy to meet them in mixed communities.

Morpho-physiology

For many morphological aspects, the spoonbills of the genus Ajaja and Platalea do resemble in the general lines. The differences are that the Ajaja ajaja have the bare head (without the characteristic tuft of the Platalea leucorodia ) of a greyish colour, like the beak, which however has analogous shape to that of all the other species of spoonbills, including those of the Old World.

Its livery is gorgeous, almost wholly of a delicate pink colour, which contrasts with the bright carmine red of the remiges and the wing coverts.

For the rest, they have morphologic characters and dimensions common to the other species.

They have a maximum length of 80 cm. However, of these, about 15 cm concern the tail, of a roughly squared shape, and about 20 cm belong to the bill.

This last one, greyish, is long and robust. The two branches are flattened and form a structure similar, rightly, to a spatula, widening towards the rostral apex; the upper branch, furthermore, is dorsally characterized by grooves and roughness quite prominent and ends, at the extremity, in a small hook facing down.

The nares have a remarkably elongated shape and are significantly close, because they converge at the lower extremities; they are located almost at the base of the beak. The skin surrounding the eyes is naked, as well as that of the chin, of the part of the head between the eye and the lateral portion of the base of the beak and of the front, whilst the auricular region is feathery.

JPEG - 102.7 kb
An Ajaja ajaja, in Florida, while building its nest © Giuseppe Mazza

The wings are ample, with a wingspan of about 120-130 cm.

The livery does not vary either due to the sex or due to the season. For this reason, there is no stable or seasonal sexual dimorphism.

In the adults, the eyes are red. But in the young the beak and the eyes have a different colouration: yellowish the first and light brown the second.

In all species the legs are very long; in the Ajaja ajaja they have an incarnadine colour.

In all spoonbills, for adapting to the life in the aquatic biotopes, the three toes of the foot facing forward are united by a membrane which reaches the second phalanx. The biologists call this foot “syndactylous”.

They nourish moving continuously their long beak into the water, rooting the bottom like the flamingos, but unlikely these last, they are not filterers. Even if nourishing also of small crustaceans and molluscs, they eat in fact coleopterans and aquatic heteroptera, fishes, frogs and newts, not disdaining the shoots of the water plants.

The beak is also utilized as pivot support, on which sustain, for moving the body in one or another direction.

The adults do not have (apart possible caimans, alligators and crocodiles), a great number of potential predators, even if raccoons and bold eagles may kill some sub-adults. The chicks are predated by eagles and other raptors.

The human being does not hunt them, not even the autochthonous populations, because the flesh is uneatable, as greasy and with taste of fish. From reports collected on the field, it seems that they may live up to 17 years.

Ethology-Reproductive Biology

They are nimble animals, ready to the elegant take off as soon as they realize that a danger is approaching. Unlike herons, they fly with the neck outstretched forward and with an alternation of stiff wing beats.

JPEG - 95.6 kb
Even if its flesh is not edible, it’s an endangered species due its habitat changes © Giuseppe Mazza

These ciconiforms have behaviour and habits not much different from those of the storks and the herons, like other aquatic birds of similar size. For this reason and their pacific temper characterizing them, they live well in mixed congregations.

They carry on their nutritional activity mainly in the day hours, even if often they do not stay idle during the night.

In the reproductive season, the roseate spoonbills unite in immense flocks, at times with herons, shags and glossy ibises, and build up their nest on the trees which line the frequented ponds, for instance the Mangroves.

They are not demanding about the support, which may be a luxuriant tree or an old semi-submerged stump. And, at times, their nest may be built directly on the ground.

However, it is the male carrying on the most of the work in its construction, thus appeasing the partner.

It is a really unusual spectacle to see, in the area where the Ajaja ajaja unite in Great flocks, thousands and thousands of nests close each other, which almost hide the structures of the branches.

The eggs are laid by late April, or early May, in a number varying from three to five. Usually, they are four. They are white, spotted of brown, 67,3 x 45,5 mm.

The progeny is followed for long time by both parents, also when it has become self-sufficient, and with it they make long flights in the vicinities.

Seen the unpalatable nature of their meats, the decrease of the population of the Ajaja ajaja, is to be attributed to phenomena of habitat modifications and of alterations of the distribution areas where they live.

The IUCN monitors and counts the populations tirelessly; presently it is considered as a vulnerable species.

Due to their splendid livery, these spoonbills are often present inside zoological gardens and parks. They adapt very well to the captivity, reproducing and also getting fond to those who feed them.

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within PELECANIFORMES please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_A-255-2_Ajaja_ajaja
_A-255-1_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-3_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-4_Ajaia_Ajaja
_A-255-6_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-7_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-5_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-8_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-11_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-9_Ajaia_ajaja
_A-255-10_Ajaia_ajaja
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants