Alpinia purpurata

Famille : Zingiberaceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

Traduction en français de Christine Galliano

 

 

JPEG - 126.4 ko
Alpinia purpurata est très cultivé dans les jardins tropicaux pour sa végétation luxuriante et son inflorescence voyante rouge, rose ou blanche, de 30-40 cm, durant environ trois semaines © Mazza

L’ Alpinia purpurata (Vieill.) K. Schum. (1904) est originaire des forêts humides de la Papouasie, Nouvelle Guinée, Iles Salomon, Nouvelle Calédonie et Vanuatu.

Le nom du genre est dédié au médecin et botaniste italien Prospero Alpini ( 1553-1617 ) ; le nom de l’espèce en latin « purpurata » = vêtue de pourpre, fait référence à la couleur des inflorescences.

Les noms communs les plus utilisés sont : red ginger, red cone ginger, pink cone ginger (anglais) ; gingembre rouge, gingembre d’ornement (français) ; Scharlachroter Ingwer, Purpurfarbener Ingwer, Scharlachrote Alpinie (allemand) ; ginger rojo (espagnol) ; gengibre vermelho (portugais).

Plante herbacée pérenne, rhizomateuse qui présente de fines tiges allant jusqu’à 2 m et plus de haut, semblables à des cannes ; les feuilles ont une longueur allant jusqu’à 70 cm et jusqu’à 20 cm de large, vert clair brillant.

Les inflorescences, terminales, durent longtemps ( environ 3 semaines ), ce sont des épis d’une longueur de 30-40 cm avec des bractées rouge vif ( il existe aussi des variétés roses ou blanches ) d’aspect ciré dans lesquelles naissent de petites fleurs blanches.

Les fruits, rarement produits, sont des capsules globuleuses d’environ 3 cm de diamètre contenant des petites graines noires, oléagineuses, souvent avec un arille ( enveloppe qui pour certaines espèces englobe tout ou partie de la graine ) rouge ; sur les inflorescences, à la flétrissure des fleurs, naissent de nombreuses plantules, qui en grandissant, font plier la tige, par leur poids, jusqu’à terre où elles s’enracinent facilement, formant une nouvelle touffe.

Sa reproduction est facile et se fait habituellement par division et à travers les plantules produites sur l’inflorescence.

Cultivée sous tous les tropiques, aussi bien pour son inflorescence de longue durée, amplement utilisée dans les décorations florales, ainsi qu’en plante de jardin, outre que pour ses inflorescences produites tout au long de l’année, que pour sa végétation luxuriante.

Elle nécessite un climat chaud humide, constant toute l’année, en position de plein soleil ou légèrement ombragée et des sols riches, de préférence acides ou neutres ; en dehors des régions tropicales ou subtropicales humides, elle doit être cultivée en serre chaude, en effet même si elle résiste, sur de courtes périodes, à des températures proches de 0°C, elle fleurie difficilement.

Synonymes : Guillainia purpurata Vieill. (1866) ; Languas purpurata (Vieill.) Kaneh. (1933) ; Guillainia novo-ebudica F.Muell. (1873) ; Alpinia grandis K.Schum. (1898) ; Alpinia purpurata var. albobracteata K.Schum. in H.G.A.Engler (1904) ; Alpinia purpurata var. grandis (K.Schum.) K.Schum. in H.G.A.Engler (1904) ; Alpinia purpurata var. anomala Gagnep. (1935).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des Zingiberaceae et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_A-250-6_Alpinia_purpurata
_A-250-7_Alpinia_purpurata
_A-250-8_Alpinia_purpurata
_A-250-9_Alpinia_purpurata
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Alpinia purpurata

Family : Zingiberaceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 126.4 kb
The Alpinia purpurata is very cultivated in tropical gardens due to its lush vegetation and the showy red, pink or white 30-40 cm long inflorescences, lasting for about three weeks © Giuseppe Mazza

The Alpinia purpurata (Vieill.) K. Schum. (1904) is native to the humid forests of Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, New Caledonia and Vanuatu.

The genus is honoured to the Italian physician and botanist Prospero Alpini (1553-1617) ; the Latin name of the species “purpurata” = dressed in purple, refers to the colour of the inflorescences.

The most utilized common names are : “red ginger”, “red cone ginger”, “pink cone ginger” (English); “gingembre rouge”, “gingembre d’orne- ment” (French); “Scharlachroter Ingwer”, “Purpurfarbener Ingwer”, “Scharlachrote Alpinie” (German); “ginger rojo” (Spanish); “gengibre vermelho” (Portuguese).

Perennial herbaceous plant, rhizomatous, shows thin stems, tall up to more than 2 metres, similar to canes; the leaves, long up to 70 cm and wide up to 20 cm, are of a glossy pale green colour.

The terminal inflorescences, long lasting (about 3 weeks), are 30-40 cm long spikes, with bright red coloured bracts (pink and white varieties do exist), of waxy aspect, in which interior form small white flowers.

The fruits, seldom produced, are globose capsules with a diameter of about 3 cm, containing small black, oily seeds, often with a red aril (exterior covering which in some species coats the whole seed or part of it); on the inflorescence, upon the withering of the flowers, come out several plantlets, which, while growing, with their weight, cause the bending of the stem up to the ground, where they root, thus forming a new tuft.

It reproduces easily and usually by division and through the plantlets produced on the inflorescence.

Cultivated in all tropical areas both for the long lasting inflorescence, widely utilized in the floral decorations, as garden plant, besides the inflorescences produced all over the year, for the luxuriant vegetation.

It requires a constant humid warm climate during the whole year, in full sun or partial shade, and rich soils, preferably acid or neutral; outside from the tropical or humid subtropical zones, it must be cultivated in warm greenhouse, in fact, even if resisting for short periods to temperatures close to zero, it seldom blossoms.

Synonyms : Guillainia purpurata Vieill. (1866); Languas purpurata (Vieill.) Kaneh. (1933); Guillainia novo-ebudica F.Muell. (1873); Alpinia grandis K.Schum. (1898); Alpinia purpurata var. albobracteata K.Schum. in H.G.A.Engler (1904); Alpinia purpurata var. grandis (K.Schum.) K.Schum. in H.G.A.Engler (1904); Alpinia purpurata var. anomala Gagnep. (1935).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family Zingiberaceae and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_A-250-6_Alpinia_purpurata
_A-250-7_Alpinia_purpurata
_A-250-8_Alpinia_purpurata
_A-250-9_Alpinia_purpurata
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants