Aphelandra aurantiaca

Famille : Acanthaceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Fabienne Dauphin

 

 

JPEG - 116.9 ko
Originaire d’Amérique tropicale, Aphelandra aurantiaca peut atteindre 120 cm de hauteur. Les inflorescences flamboyantes de 20 cm, aux fleurs rouge-orangé de 5 cm, durent jusqu’à 50 jours © Giuseppe Mazza

Aphelandra aurantiaca Lindl. (1845) est originaire du Mexique, de Belize, du Costa Rica, du Guatemala, du Honduras, de Panama, de Guyane, du Suriname, de Bolivie, de Colombie, d’Équateur, du Pérou et du Brésil. Elle pousse en bordure de forêt et de sentier ou le long des cours d’eau.

Le nom du genre vient de la combinaison des mots grecs aphelés = simple et andros = homme, en référence aux anthères à un seul sac pollinique ; le nom latin de l’espèce aurantiaca = de couleur orange, fait référence à la couleur de son inflorescence.

Noms communs : "afelandra" (italien) ;"fiery spike", "orange scarlet aphelandra" (anglais) ; "aphélandre", "épi ardent" (français) ; "Glanzkölbchen" (allemand) ; "espiga ardiente", "lirio de campo" (espagnol).

Plante suffrutescente (autrement dit plante herbacée partiellement lignifiée) ou arbustive, sempervirente, pouvant même atteindre 1 à 1,2 m, présentant des feuilles ovoïdes ou elliptiques de 10 à 22 cm de long et de 5 à 10 cm de large, d’un vert intense avec des nervures argentées. Les inflorescences sont des épis terminaux de 20 cm de long, composés de fleurs rouge orangé vif de 5 cm de long, à pétale inférieur trilobé, de longue durée (40 à 50 jours). Les fruits sont des capsules d’environ 15 cm de long, contenant au plus quatre graines pubescentes. Elle se reproduit par graines et par bouturage.

Plantes pouvant être cultivées sous des climats tropicaux et subtropicaux, dans des sols bien drainés mais gardant l’humidité, riches en matières organiques, légèrement acides ou neutres, en plein soleil ou mi-ombre. Ailleurs, on les cultive en pot pour pouvoir les mettre à l’abri pendant les périodes de froid ou on les utilise pour la décoration intérieure.

Synonymes : Hemisandra aurantiaca Scheidw. (1842) ; Aphelandra aurantiaca var. roezlii Van Houtte (1868) ; Aphelandra acutifolia Tafalla ex Nees (1847) ; Aphelandra repanda Nees (1847) ; Aphelandra nitens Hook. (1868) ; Aphelandra roezlei Carrière (1872) ; Aphelandra paraensis Lindau ; Aphelandra aurantiaca var. stenophylla Standl. (1929) ; Aphelandra lonchochlamys Leonard (1953).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des ACANTHACEAE et trouver d’autres espèces cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

/a-135-2_aphelandra_aurantiaca
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Aphelandra aurantiaca

Family : Acanthaceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 116.9 kb
Native to tropical America, suffruticose or shrubby, Aphelandra aurantiaca can be 120 cm tall. The flaming 20 cm inflorescences, with orange red 5 cm flowers, last even 50 days © Giuseppe Mazza

The Aphelandra aurantiaca Lindl. (1845) is native to Mexico, Belize, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Guyana, Surinam, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Brazil, where it grows at the margins of the forests, of the footpaths or along the water streams.

The name of the genus is the combination of the Greek words “aphelés” = simple and “andros” = man, with reference to the anthers made by only one sac; the Latin name of the species, “aurantiaca” = of orange colour, refers to the colour of the inflorescence.

Common names: “afelandra” (Italian); “fiery spike”, “orange scarlet aphelandra” (English); “aphélandre”, “épi ardent” (French); “Glanzkölbchen” (German); “espiga ardiente”, “lirio de campo” (Spanish).

Suffruticose plant (that is, herbaceous plant partially lignified) or shrubby, evergreen, tall even 1-1,2 metres, it shows ovate or elliptic leaves of an intense green colour with silvery veins, long 10-22 cm and 5-10 broad. The inflorescences are terminal, long lasting (40-50 days) spikes, long about 20 cm, with showy orange red flowers, 5 cm long, with tri-lobed lower petal. The fruit is an about 15 cm long capsule, containing a maximum of four pubescent seeds. It reproduces by seed and by cutting.

Plants which can be cultivated in the tropical and subtropical climates, in well drained, but kept humid, soils, rich in organic substance, sub-acid or neutral, in full sun or partial shade. Elsewhere, they can be cultivated in pot, in order to be kept sheltered during the cold periods or to be utilized for indoor decoration.

Synonyms: Hemisandra aurantiaca Scheidw. (1842); Aphelandra aurantiaca var. roezlii Van Houtte (1868); Aphelandra acutifolia Tafalla ex Nees (1847); Aphelandra repanda Nees (1847); Aphelandra nitens Hook. (1868); Aphelandra roezlei Carrière (1872); Aphelandra paraensis Lindau; Aphelandra aurantiaca var. stenophylla Standl. (1929); Aphelandra lonchochlamys Leonard (1953).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family ACANTHACEAE and find other species please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

/a-135-2_aphelandra_aurantiaca
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants