Bactris major

Famille : Arecaceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Serge Forestier

 

 

JPEG - 283.3 ko
Originaire d’Amérique centrale, Bactris major forme des touffes denses atteignant les 10 m de haut © Giuseppe Mazza

L’espèce est originaire du Belize, de Bolivie, du nord et du centre-ouest du Brésil, de Colombie, du Costa Rica, d’Equateur, du Salvador, du Guatemala, du Guyana, de Guyane française, du Honduras, du sud du Mexique, du Nicaragua, du Panama, du Pérou, du Suriname, de Trinidad-et-Tobago et du Venezuela où elle vit principalement le long des zones côtières de l’Atlantique et du Pacifique, aussi bien dans les forêts qu’en zones ouvertes, humides ou saisonnièrement sèches, souvent sur le bord des cours d’eau, à basse altitude.

Le nom de genre dérive du substantif grec “βάκτρον” (bactron) = bâton, soutien, en référence à l’utilisation des tiges de certaines espèces appartenant au genre comme canne ; le nom spécifique est l’adjectif comparatif latin de “magnus” = grand.

Noms communs : beach palm, lata palm, prickly palm (anglais) ; beach spiny clubpalm, biscoyol, black roseau, cocano boy, hones, palma de espina (Belize) ; marayáu (Bolivie) ; marajá-açù, mumbaca, tucum-mirim (Brésil) ; corozo de gallina, lata (Colombie) ; huiscoyol, viscoyol (Costa Rica) ; guyscoyol (Salvador) ; zagrinette (Guyane française) ; bordón, jahuacté (Mexique) ; coyolito (Nicaragua) ; caña brava, palma negra, uvito, uvito de parra (Panama) ; yarina (Pérou) ; kaw-maka, samoera (Suriname) ; corozo de marea, cubarro, cucurito (Venezuela).

Bactris major Jacq. (1781) est une espèce monoïque formant des touffes denses aux tiges dressées ou légèrement arquées, de 2 à 10 m de haut et de 2 à 6 cm de diamètre, recouvertes par les bases foliaires pourvues de robustes épines noirâtres, mesurant jusqu’à 10 cm de long, sauf dans les parties les plus vieilles, lisses, de couleur vert foncé et avec les anneaux proéminents et blanchâtres des cicatrices foliaires distants de 12 à 25 cm.

Les feuilles, sur un pétiole long de 0,3 à 1 m, sont pennées, longues de 0,8 à 2,2 m, avec de 24 à 46 paires de pinnules oblongues-linéaires disposées régulièrement le long du rachis et sur le même plan, longues de 25 à 60 cm et larges de 1 à 3 cm aux marges pourvues de minuscules épines ou soies ; pétiole et rachis sont couverts de courtes épines entrecoupées de quelques épines brunes ou noires, longues de 1 à 6 cm, sauf à la base du pétiole où elles peuvent dépasser les 10 cm.

Inflorescences ramifiées entre les feuilles (interfoliaires) protégées initialement dans un spathe épineux, semi ligneux et persistant en fruits, longues de 35 à 60 cm, aux fleurs unisexuelles jaune verdâtre disposées généralement en triades (une fleur femelle entre deux mâles) ; les fleurs femelles mûrissent avant les fleurs mâles favorisant la pollinisation croisée.

JPEG - 296.1 ko
Epines à profusion mais fruits comestibles. Utilisation décorative et comme clôtures impénétrables © Giuseppe Mazza

Fruits d’obovoïdes à ellipsoïdes, de 2,5 à 4,5 cm de long et de 1,5 à 3 cm de diamètre, comestibles, de couleur pourpre foncé à maturité, contenant généralement une seule graine.

La reproduction se fait par semis, dans un terreau drainant riche en substances organiques maintenu constamment humide à 26-28 °C, avec un temps de germination relativement long, jusqu’à plus d’une année, et par division.

Largement diffusé dans la nature, mais peu cultivé, il présente, malgré ses robustes épines, un potentiel décoratif remarquable comme groupe isolé ou pour former des barrières impénétrables dans les parcs et les grands jardins exclusivement dans les régions à climat tropical et subtropical, ne supportant pas les températures proches de 0 °C, en prenant soin de le placer loin des lieux de passage et de stationnement.

Il nécessite le plein soleil ou une ombre légère et des sols bien drainés, de préférence sablonneux, avec une large disponibilité de l’eau. Les fruits, à la pulpe jaunâtre, juteuse et à la saveur légèrement acidulée, sont largement consommés par les populations locales tels quels ou utilisés pour en tirer des boissons rafraîchissantes et fermentées. Les tiges sont utilisées comme poteaux pour les clôtures, pour la couverture, avec les feuilles, d’abris permanents ou de fortune et pour fabriquer des paniers ; pour leur résistance mécanique, leur flexibilité et leur aspect elles peuvent être avantageusement utilisées, débarrassées de leurs épines et polies, également pour réaliser des meubles et des objets artisanaux.

Synonymes : Palma zagueneti Aubl. (1775) ; Bactris ovata Stokes (1812) ; Bactris chaetorhachis Mart. (1844) ; Bactris demerarana L.H.Bailey (1949) ; Bactris minax Miq. (1851) ; Augustinea major (Jacq.) H.Karst. (1857) ; Augustinea balanoidea Oerst. (1859) ; Augustinea ovata Oerst. (1859) ; Bactris cruegeriana Griseb. (1864) ; Pyrenoglyphis balanoidea (Oerst.) H.Karst. (1869) ; Pyrenoglyphis major (Jacq.) H.Karst. (1869) ; Pyrenoglyphis ovata (Oerst.) H.Karst. (1869) ; Bactris balanoidea (Oerst.) H.Wendl. (1878) ; Bactris ovata (Oerst.) H.Wendl. (1878) ; Bactris megalocarpa Trail ex Thurn (1882) ; Bactris ottostaffeana Barb. Rodr. (1907) ; Bactris ottostapfiana Barb.Rodr. (1907) ; Bactris augustinea L.H.Bailey (1933) ; Bactris superior L.H.Bailey (1933) ; Pyrenoglyphis chaetorhachis (Mart.) Burret (1934) ; Pyrenoglyphis ottostapfiana (Barb.Rodr.) Burret (1934) ; Pyrenoglyphis superior (L.H.Bailey) Burret (1934) ; Bactris albonotata L.H.Bailey (1947) ; Bactris beata L.H.Bailey (1947) ; Bactris broadwayi L.H.Bailey (1947) ; Bactris cateri L.H.Bailey (1947) ; Bactris ellipsoidalis L.H.Bailey (1947) ; Bactris obovoidea L.H.Bailey (1947) ; Bactris planifolia L.H.Bailey (1947) ; Bactris swabeyi L.H.Bailey (1947) ; Pyrenoglyphis cruegeriana (Griseb.) H.Karst. (1969) ; Bactris major var. megalocarpa (Trail ex Thurn) A.J.Hend. (1995).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des ARECACEAE et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

/b-200-2_bactris_maior
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Bactris major

Family : Arecaceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

   

JPEG - 283.3 kb
Native to tropical America, Bactris major forms dense tufts reaching the 10 m of height © Giuseppe Mazza

The species is native to Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guyana, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Northern and Central-western Brazil, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Southern Mexico, Surinam, Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela where it mainly lives along the Atlantic and Pacific coastal areas, humid or seasonally dry, often at the margins of water streams, at low altitudes.

The generic name comes from the Greek substantive “βάκτρον” (bactron) = stick, support, with reference to the use of the stems of some species belonging to the genus as sticks; the specific name is the Latin comparative adjective of “magnus” = big.

Common names: beach palm, lata palm, prickly palm (English); beach spiny clubpalm, biscoyol, black roseau, cocano boy, hones, palma de espina (Belize); marayáu (Bolivia); marajá-açù, mumbaca, tucum-mirim (Brazil); corozo de gallina, lata (Colombia); huiscoyol, viscoyol (Costa Rica); guyscoyol (El Salvador); zagrinette (French Guyana); bordón, jahuacté (Mexico); coyolito (Nicaragua); caña brava, palma negra, uvito, uvito de parra (Panama); yarina (Peru); kaw-maka, samoera (Surinam); corozo de marea, cubarro, cucurito (Venezuela).

The Bactris major Jacq. (1781) is a monoecious species forming thick tufts with erect or slightly bent stems, 2-10 m tall and of 2-6 cm of diameter, covered by the foliare bases provided of robust blackish spines, up to 10 cm long, except in the oldest parts, smooth, of dark green colour and with the prominent and whitish rings of the foliar scares spaced of 12-25 cm.

The leaves, on a 0,3-1 m long petiole, are pinnate, 0,8-2,2 m long, with 24-46 pairs of oblong-linear pinnules regularly arranged along the rachis and on the same level, 25-60 cm long and 1-3 cm broad, with margin provided of tiny spines or bristles; petiole and rachis are covered by short spines interspersed by some brown or black spines, 1-6 cm long, except at the base of the petiole where they may exceed the 10 cm.

Ramified inflorescences among the leaves (interfoliar) initially enclosed in a spiny spathe, semi-woody and persistent in fruit, 35-60 cm long, with greenish yellow unisexual flowers usually arranged in triad (one female flower amid two males); the female flowers ripe before the male ones thus favouring the crossed pollination.

JPEG - 296.1 kb
Galore spines but edible fruits. Ornamental employments and for impenetrable enclosures © G. Mazza

Obovoid to ellipsoid fruits, 2,5-4,5 cm long and of 1,5-3 cm of diameter, edible, of dark purple colour when ripe, usually containing only one seed.

It reproduces by seed, in draining loam rich of organic substance maintained constantly humid at 26-28 °C, with quite long germination times, even more than one year, and by division.

Amply diffused in nature, but little cultivated, presents, despite the robust spines, a considerable ornamental potentiality as isolated group or for forming impenetrable barriers in parks and large gardens exclusively in tropical and subtropical climate zones, not bearing temperatures close to 0 °C, taking care to place it far away from passageways and resting places.

It requires full sun or slight shade and well drained soils, preferably sandy, with ample availability of water. The fruits, with yellowish pulp, juicy and having a slightly sourish taste, are amply consumed by the local populations as they are or utilized for getting refreshing and fermented beverages. The stems are used as poles for fences, in coverages, along with the leaves, of permanent or makeshift shelters and for fabricating baskets; due to their mechanical strength, flexibility and look they might be advantageously employed, deprived of spines and polished, even for realizing furniture and handicrafts.

Synonyms: Palma zagueneti Aubl. (1775); Bactris ovata Stokes (1812); Bactris chaetorhachis Mart. (1844); Bactris demerarana L.H.Bailey (1949); Bactris minax Miq. (1851); Augustinea major (Jacq.) H.Karst. (1857); Augustinea balanoidea Oerst. (1859); Augustinea ovata Oerst. (1859); Bactris cruegeriana Griseb. (1864); Pyrenoglyphis balanoidea (Oerst.) H.Karst. (1869); Pyrenoglyphis major (Jacq.) H.Karst. (1869); Pyrenoglyphis ovata (Oerst.) H.Karst. (1869); Bactris balanoidea (Oerst.) H.Wendl. (1878); Bactris ovata (Oerst.) H.Wendl. (1878); Bactris megalocarpa Trail ex Thurn (1882); Bactris ottostaffeana Barb. Rodr. (1907); Bactris ottostapfiana Barb.Rodr. (1907); Bactris augustinea L.H.Bailey (1933); Bactris superior L.H.Bailey (1933); Pyrenoglyphis chaetorhachis (Mart.) Burret (1934); Pyrenoglyphis ottostapfiana (Barb.Rodr.) Burret (1934); Pyrenoglyphis superior (L.H.Bailey) Burret (1934); Bactris albonotata L.H.Bailey (1947); Bactris beata L.H.Bailey (1947); Bactris broadwayi L.H.Bailey (1947); Bactris cateri L.H.Bailey (1947); Bactris ellipsoidalis L.H.Bailey (1947); Bactris obovoidea L.H.Bailey (1947); Bactris planifolia L.H.Bailey (1947); Bactris swabeyi L.H.Bailey (1947); Pyrenoglyphis cruegeriana (Griseb.) H.Karst. (1969); Bactris major var. megalocarpa (Trail ex Thurn) A.J.Hend. (1995).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family ARECACEAE and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

/b-200-2_bactris_maior
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants