Bothus podas

Famille : Bothidae

 

GIF - 5.6 ko

 

Texte © Giuseppe Mazza

 

 

Traduction en français par Serge Forestier

 

 

JPEG - 182.1 ko
Une femelle de Rombou (Bothus podas). Les yeux sont proches et la forme arrondie © Giuseppe Mazza

Le Rombou ( Bothus podas - Delaroche, 1809 ), appartient à la classe des Actinopterygii, les poissons à nageoires rayonnées, à l’ordre des Pleuronectiformes et à la famille des Bothidae.

Le nom de genre "bothus", selon le contemporain Rafinesque (1810) qui l’a créé, est celui que, selon lui, Aristote donnait à ce groupe de poissons. Mais "bothus" ne semble pas être un nom grec, et il n’existe pas de lien clair avec Aristote. Par contre, dans plusieurs langues européennes, à partir de 1200, on trouve les racines "bot, both, bott" pour désigner des poissons plats, et, ensuite, probablement en toute bonne foi, Rafinesque les a attribuées à Aristote.

Le nom de l’espèce vient du grec "podas" = pied, sans doute en référence à la forme de l’animal.

Zoogéographie

Le rombou est présent dans toute la Méditerranée, à l’exclusion de la mer Noire. Les effectifs sont cependant rares sur les côtes orientales, de la Libye à la Grèce. Passé le Détroit de Gibraltar, on le trouve seulement vers le sud, le long des côtes d’Afrique jusqu’en Angola, après avoir colonisé les Açores, Madère, les Canaries et le Cap-Vert.

Écologie-Habitat

C’est un poisson qui vit habituellement a quelques mètres de profondeur près des côtes, mais qui, surtout en hiver, quand il fait froid, peut descendre à 400 m. Il aime les fonds sableux ou graveleux, sur lesquels il se pose, les imitant à la perfection. Un exemple classique d’homochromie.

Morphophysiologie

Le rombou peut atteindre 45 cm de longueur, mais en Méditerranée il dépasse rarement 20 cm.

Le corps est ovale, avec les deux yeux sur le côté gauche. Ceux des femelles sont côte à côte, tandis que chez les mâles la distance est de 2 à 2,5 fois le diamètre maximal de l’œil, avec celui de gauche en position avancée, précédé par une petite épine. Vu du dessus, le profil de la femelle est plus arrondi, en raison des énormes ovaires.

JPEG - 133.5 ko
Un jeune vu de côté. Il observe alentour puis il reconstruit couleurs et dessins environnants © Giuseppe Mazza

La nageoire pectorale, située sur le côté aveugle, qui touche le sol, est plus petite que celle sur le côté supérieur. Il est en tout cas évident que le mouvement d’ondulation des adultes est principalement confié à la queue et aux nageoires dorsales et ventrales. Les rombous, en nageant, se fatiguent rapidement, mais étape après étape, avec des pauses de repos suffisantes, ils peuvent même accomplir de petites migrations, par exemple vers les endroits les plus appropriés à la ponte.

La bouche est petite, avec des dents minuscules, fines mais pointues, disposées en 2 ou 3 rangées sur les mâchoires, mais pas sur le vomer.

La couleur de la face visible, qui ne touche pas le sol, change incroyablement selon la nature des fonds marins et les efforts des chromatophores, qui en plus de dilater ou de contracter les pigments, contiennent des cristaux de guanine, qui décomposent la lumière avec des effets différents selon l’inclinaison. Les yeux, dressés comme des périscopes, observent bien ce qui est alentour, et le cerveau donne les ordres nécessaires pour reconstruire le paysage. Ainsi, si l’ensemble est généralement gris sépia avec des taches claires et sombres, celles-ci peuvent changer de forme et de couleur, parfois elles sont bleuâtres, parfois verdâtres et jusqu’à rougeâtres. Il existe aussi des individus plus ou moins albinos, et d’autres pigmentés sur les deux faces.

Éthologie-Biologie reproductive

Le rombou se nourrit principalement d’invertébrés, généralement de petits mollusques et de crustacés, mais aussi de petits poissons qu’il chasse en embuscade. Il se reproduit entre mai et août. Les œufs, déposés par milliers dans les zones les plus favorables à la nourriture des larves, sont planctoniques. Ils vont à la dérive et éclosent au bout d’une paire de semaines. Quand les jeunes atteignent environ 5 cm commence la métamorphose. La tête se tord tandis que l’œil droit migre sur le côté gauche (chez d’autres espèces, comme la sole ou la plie, c’est le contraire qui se produit), et la vessie natatoire, présente chez les larves, encombrante et inutile pour la vie sur le fond, disparaît.

Malgré sa petite taille, le rombou est pêché par hasard, et l’espèce est relativement vulnérable puisqu’il faut de 4,5 à 14 ans pour doubler une population. Son indice de vulnérabilité est actuellement de 55 sur une échelle de 100.

Synonymes

Bothus africanus - Nielsen, 1961 ; Bothus diaphanus - Rafinesque, 1814 ; Bothus podas africanus - Nielsen, 1961 ; Bothus podas maderiensis - Lowe, 1834 ; Bothus podas podas - Delaroche, 1809 ; Peloria heckelii - Cocco, 1844 ; Platophrys podas - Delaroche, 1809 ; Pleuronectes podas - Delaroche, 1809 ; Rhomboidichthys podas - Delaroche, 1809 ; Rhombus gesneri - Risso, 1827 ; Rhombus heterophthalmus - Bennett, 1831 ; Rhombus maderensis - Lowe, 1834 ; Rhombus serratus - Valenciennes, 1839 ; Solea rhomboide - Rafinesque, 1810.

 

→ Pour des notions générales sur les poissons cliquer ici

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité des Osteichthyes, les POISSONS OSSEUX, et trouver d’autres espèces cliquer ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_R-16-4_Bothus_podas
_R-16-5_Bothus_podas
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Bothus podas

Family : Bothidae

 

GIF - 5.6 kb

 

Text © Giuseppe Mazza

 

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 182.1 kb
Wide-eyed flounder (Bothus podas) female. Eyes are close and the shape is roundish © Giuseppe Mazza

The Wide-eyed flounder ( Bothus podas - Delaroche, 1809 ), belongs to the class of the Actinopterygii, the ray-finned fishes, to the order of Pleuronectiformes and to the family of Bothidae.

The name of the genus “bothus”, after the contemporary Rafinesque (1810) who has created it, is the one which after him, Aristotle was giving to this group of fishes. But “bothus” does not appear to be a Greek name and there is not a clear connection with Aristotle. On the other way, in several European languages, starting from 1200, we find the roots “bot, both, bott” for indicating some flat fishes, and therefore, probably, in good faith, Rafinesque has attributed them to Aristotle.

The name of the species comes from the Greek “podas” = foot, with possible reference to the shape of the animal.

Zoogeography

The wide-eyed flounder is present in all the Mediterranean, apart the Black Sea. It is however scarce on the eastern coasts from Libya to Greece. After Gibraltar Strait, we find it only southwards. It goes along the African coasts up to Angola, after having colonized the Azores, Madeira, Canary and Cape Verde Islands.

Ecology-Habitat

It is a fish living usually at few metres of depth close to the coasts, but which, especially in winter, when it gets cold, may go down to 400 m. It loves the sandy or pebbly bottoms, on which it rests, imitating them perfectly. This is a classical example of homochromy.

Morpho-physiology

The wide-eyed flounder can reach the 45 cm of length, but, in the Mediterranean, it seldom exceeds the 20 cm.

The body is oval, with both eyes on the left side. Those of the females are one close to the other, whilst in the males the are 2-2,5 time the maximum ocular diameter parted, with the left one in and advanced position, preceded by a small spine. Seen from top, the profile of the female is more roundish, also due to the enormous ovaries.

JPEG - 133.5 kb
Young seen from above. It looks around then rebuilds surrounding colours and patterns © Giuseppe Mazza

The pectoral fin placed on the blind side, which touches the soil, is smaller than that on the upper side. It is in any case clear the wavy movement of the adults is entrusted mainly to the tail and to the dorsal and ventral fins. The wide-eyed flounders, when swimming, get quickly tired, but, step by step, with suitable resting breaks, they are able even to perform small migrations, for instance towards the locations more suitable for the spawning. The mouth is small, with tiny teeth, thin but pointed, placed in 2-3 rows on the jaws, but not on the vomer.

The colour of the visible side, which does not touch the soil, changes unbelievably depending on the nature of the bottom and the efforts of the chromatophores which, besides expanding or contracting the pigments, contain some guanine crystals which discompose the light with different effects depending on the inclination. The eyes, raised as periscopes, observe well what stands around, and the brain gives the necessary orders for rebuilding the landscape. So, if the whole is usually sepia-grey with pale and dark spots, these ones may change in shape and colour, at times they are bluish, at time greenish and even reddish. There are also more or less albino individuals, and others pigmented on both sides.

Ethology-Reproductive Biology

The wide-eyed flounder nourishes mainly of invertebrates, usually small molluscs and crustaceans, but also of small fishes it hunts in ambush. It reproduces from May to August. The eggs, spawned in thousands in the zones more favourable for the nourishment of the larvae, are planktonic. They drift away and will hatch in a couple of weeks. When the young reach about the 5 cm, the metamorphosis begins. The head turns whilst the right eye migrates on the left side (in other species, like the soles and the plaices it’s the contrary) and disappears the swimbladder, present in the larvae, which is cumbersome and of no use for the life on the bottom.

Even if due to the modest dimensions of the wide-eyed flounder this is fished by chance, the species is relatively vulnerable because for doubling its population 4,5 to 14 years are necessary. Its vulnerability index is of 55 over 100.

Synonyms

Bothus africanus - Nielsen, 1961; Bothus diaphanus - Rafinesque, 1814; Bothus podas africanus - Nielsen, 1961; Bothus podas maderiensis - Lowe, 1834; Bothus podas podas - Delaroche, 1809; Peloria heckelii - Cocco, 1844; Platophrys podas - Delaroche, 1809; Pleuronectes podas - Delaroche, 1809; Rhomboidichthys podas - Delaroche, 1809; Rhombus gesneri - Risso, 1827; Rhombus heterophthalmus - Bennett, 1831; Rhombus maderensis - Lowe, 1834; Rhombus serratus - Valenciennes, 1839; Solea rhomboide - Rafinesque, 1810.

 

→ For general information about fishes please click here.

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the Osteichthyes, the BONY FISH, and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_R-16-4_Bothus_podas
_R-16-5_Bothus_podas
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants