Calyptorhynchus lathami

Famille : Cacatuidae

 

GIF - 5.4 ko

 

Texte © D. Sc. Giuliano Russini - Biologiste Zoologiste

 

 

GIF - 5.7 ko

 

Traduction en français par le Prof. Renata Rasia

 

 

JPEG - 65.5 ko
Les couples de Calyptorhynchus lathami durent toute la vie © Giuseppe Mazza

Le Cacatoès de Latham Calyptorhynchus lathami, - Temminck, 1807, est un oiseau appartenant à l’ordre des Psittaciformes, famille Cacatuidae et sous-famille Calyptorhynchinae.

Malgré le nom de cette espèce, en réalité il fut découvert et étudié par le biologiste zoologiste hollandais DrSc Coenraad Jacob Temminck qui en emporta de ses voyages en Australie quelques couples.

Il décrit cela dans son œuvre “ Obervations sur la classification méthodique des oiseaux et remarques sur l’analyse d’une nouvelle ornithologie élémentaire “ Dufour, Amsterdam, Paris 1817, publié pendant qu’il était directeur scientifique du Musée d’histoire naturelle de Leiden, en Hollande, en dédiant l’espèce à son ami John Latham, biologiste naturaliste anglais, employé de la Compagnie Hollandaise des Indes Orientales et qu’il avait connu pendant ses campagnes d’exploration des Indes.

C’était là un moyen pour remercier la Compagnie qui lui avait donné de différents oiseaux exotiques qu’il avait catalogués et exposés au Musée.

Le nom italien est Cacatua nero-lucido, en anglais Glossy-Black Cockatoo ou Casuarina Black Cockatoo pour l’intérêt que cette espèce montre aux savoureuses graines de Casuarina, de grands arbres de la famille des Casuarinaceae, qui compte 17 espèces endémiques de l’Australie, de l’Asie du sud-est et des îles du Pacifique occidental.

Parmi les Cacatoès relativement proches au Calyptorhynchus lathami, on compte le Cacatoès funèbre Calyptorhynchus funereus, de taille plus grande, dénommé en italien Cacatua dalla coda gialla et Yellow-tailed Black-Cockatoo en anglais, le Cacatoès banksien ou Cacatoès de Banks Calyptorhynchus banksii, dit Cacatua dalla coda rossa de Lethami et Red-Tailed Black Cockatoo, certainement l’espèce la plus proche pour la taille, le dimorphisme sexuel, les petits et le milieu.

Le Calyptorhynchus lathami compte au moins trois races ou sous-espèces, nées pour l’isolement géographique en Australie. Comme l’espèce principale qui est endémique de différentes régions de l’est de l’Australie, celles-ci aussi se trouvent dans la partie est de l’Australie et dans les îles proches de ce continent. On distingue :

- Le Calyptorhynchus lathami lathami, la sous-espèce plus orientale, assez rare, installée dans le sud est du Queensland, de la Mallacoota à Vittoria, même si on a trouvé des groupes isolés dans le centre du Queensland, dans l’Eungelia National Park, dans des zones agricoles de Riverina, dans le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Galles- du sud de l’Australie, dans la forêt de la Pillinga, dénommée aussi Pillinga Scrub, milieu semi-aride dans la région tempérée de la Nouvelle Galles-du sud . Dans tous ces écotypes, la vie arboricole de ces oiseaux est toujours associée à quelques espèces d’arbres qui appartiennent principalement au genre Casuarina et qui se trouvent groupés dans de petits bois ou dans des maquis.

- Le Calyptorhynchus lathami erebus, la sous-espèce la plus commune qui a un population à densité plus grande que la précédente. Endémique du centre du Queensland où elle colonise les petits maquis des bois de la Casuarina .

- Le Calyptorhynchus lathami halmaturinus, la sous-espèce à plus grand risque d’extinction, placée par la JUCN dans la red list of Threatened Endangered Species. Endémique du Kangaroo Island, la troisième île de l’Australie pour dimensions après la Tasmanie et l’ île de Melville où on trouve dans la partie nord-est 100 unités, d’après les derniers censément de la IUCN et des WWF.

Le cycle biologique du Calyptorhynchus lathami halmaturinus est étroitement lié à trois arbres endémiques, appartenant à la famille des Casuarinaceae et des Myrtaceae.

En particulier pour les Casuarinaceae, l’ Allocasuarina verticillata, un arbre haut de presque 10 m, dénommé en Australie Drooping Sheoak et fréquent au centre de l’ile, et l’ Allocasuarina littoralis, , il Black Sheoak qui atteint 8-15 m et qui vit le long des côtes mais aussi à l’intérieur, l’Inland.

Les femelles nichent dans les tanières creusées dans ces arbres par les mammifères qui se trouvent donc souvent en compétition. Soit les mâles que les femelles se nourrissent de leurs cônes reproductifs.

Ils les saisissent avec leurs pieds zygodactyles, les partagent en séparant avec leur langue charnue les graines dont ils se nourrissent.

Pendant cette opération beaucoup de graines tombent sur le sol, ainsi commencent de nouveaux cycles de vie pour l’arbre. La propagation, surtout quand l’oiseau est dérangé, peut arriver même à une certaine distance de l’arbre, et ces cacatoès, avec leur propagation zoomofile, jouent donc un rôle écologique essential pour les régions orientales de l’Australie.

La troisième espèce d’arbres utilisée, celle qui appartient à la famille des Myrtaceae, c’est l’ Eucalyptus cladocalyx, dénommé en Australie Sugar Gum. En effet les Calyptorhynchus lathami halmaturinus se nourrissent des baies qu’il produit.

Le changement dans la densité de population de ces trois espèces végétales, causé par la déforestation, les feux et l’exploitation agricole des terrains proches qui produit des déséquilibres dans la fertilité du sol en terme de sels minéraux, azote et eau disponible, ainsi que la compétition des espèces cultivées, se reflète négativement sur le cycle de vie de ces oiseaux qui voient altérée leur écologie avec des effets catastrophiques sur la densité de leur population.

Manque de ressources trophiques, manque de perchoirs naturels et d’arbre pour nidifier, tout cela retarde et limite leur reproduction.

Zoogéografie

Jusqu’à la première moitié du siècle dernier, le Calyptorhynchus lathami vivait le long des côtes nord-est de l’Australie. Actuellement il vit dans une region limitée, de la côte de l’Eungella National Park à l’est du Queensland, jusqu’ à la Mallacoota dans la région de Vittoria. Dans les autres régions de l’ Australie où il était autochtone, il a disparu à cause de la déforestation et de l’agriculture.

En nature il subit aussi la compétition de quelques guêpes qui tuent les petits par leurs piqûres empoisonnées ; cependant elles ne représentent pas la cause déterminante de leur disparition.

La IUCN l’a inscrite dans la liste rouge des espèces à risque d’extinction, la CITES en interdit le commerce.

Habitat-Ecologie

Les habitat de ces oiseaux sont très variés car ils fréquentent les forêts qui longent la côte est de l’Australie, les forêts sèches d’eucalyptus, et ils s’installent également dans les maquis à l’intérieur de la région (inland ) et /ou dans les forêts le long des fleuves et des ruisseaux.

Ils sont attirés par des arbres appartenant aux genres Casuarina et Allocasuarina, soit pour la construction des nids que pour les graines sur lesquelles est basé leur régime alimentaire.

Le Calyptorhynchus lathami vit généralement dans des groupes formés de 2-10 membres unispecifiques mais ils peuvent vivre aussi avec des espèces proches comme par exemple le Calyptorhynchus funereus ou le Calyptorhynchus banksii, vu qu’ils ne sont pas très agressifs même s’ils défendent leur nid et la zone où ils trouvent la nourriture.

Comme nous avons déjà dit, ils utilisent les grands troncs d’arbre, même morts ou tombés au sol pour la construction des nids.

Morphophysiologie

Le Calyptorhynchus lathami est le plus petit parmi tous les Cacatoès noirs.

Les mâles mesurent 46-50 de long et les femelles sont un peu plus petites. L’ouverture des ailes atteint 90 cm, le poids varie entre 400-600 g.

Il présente un bec robuste et recurbé , noir et une crête érectile, typique des Cacatuidae à mobilité volontaire mais de taille plus petite par rapport aux autres membres de la famille. La couleur noire domine sur tout le corps dans tous les deux sexes même si le mâle affiche une tête marron-chocolat et une queue avec des taches écarlates brillantes sur les rectrices.

Les femelles ont une tête marron plus foncé, les rectrices rayées de jaune-orange et un collier jaune, absent chez les mâles, ce qui marque sans aucun doute le dimorphisme sexuel.

Le pied est zygodactyle, apte à une vie arboricole.

Ethologie, Biologie Reproductive

Le Calyptorhynchus lathami est une espèce monogame. Ils forment des couples qui durent toute la vie.

La femelle niche dans la cavité des arbres morts ou à tronc large. On ne sait pas le nombre exact des œufs mais il semble que la ponte soit composée de 3-4 œufs et que la femelle couve seule. Une semaine après avoir déposé les œufs, elle sort du nid pour se nourrir mais généralement c’est le mâle qui ravitaille la femelle, aidant aussi au nourrissage des petits qui naissent après 20-24 jours d’incubation.

La mère, une fois renforcée, aide le père à nourrir les oisillons pendant 4 semaines environ jusqu’à ce qu’ ils soient autonomes dans le vol et dans la recherche de la nourriture.

Les petits quittent leur nid en septembre-octobre, quand la nouvelle saison de reproduction arrive

 

→ Pour des informations générales sur les Psittaciformes voir ici.

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein des PSITTACIFORMES cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_C-331-1_Calyptorhynchus_lathami
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Calyptorhynchus lathami

Family : Cacatuidae

 

GIF - 5.4 kb

 

Text © DrSc Giuliano Russini - Biologist Zoologist

 

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 65.5 kb
The couples of Calyptorhynchus lathami are stable for the life © Giuseppe Mazza

The Calyptorhynchus lathami - Temminck, 1807, is a bird belonging to the order of the Psittaciformes, family Cacatuidae and sub-family Calyptorhynchinae.

In contrast with the name of the species, it was actually discovered and studied by the Dutch biologist and zoologist Dr. Sc. Coenraad Jacob Temminck, who brought home some couples from his voyages to Australia.

He describes it in his opus “Observations sur la classification méthodique des oiseaux et remarques sur l’analyse d’une nouvelle ornithologie élémentaire” Dufour, Amsterdam, Paris 1817, published while he was the scientific director of the Natural History Museum of Leyden, in Holland, honouring the species to his friend John Latham, English biologist and naturalist, employee of the Dutch East India Company, whom he had met during his exploration campaigns in the Indies.

That was also a way to thank the Company which had furnished him various exotic birds which he had catalogued and exposed in the Museum.

The Italian name is Cacatua nero-lucido, in English Glossy-Black Cockatoo or Casuarina Black Cockatoo, due to the interest the species has for the tasty seeds of Casuarina, great trees of the family of the Casuarinaceae, which has 17 species endemic to Australia, the south-eastern Asia and the western Pacific Islands.

Among cockatoos somewhat similar to the Calyptorhynchus lathami, we have the Calyptorhynchus funereus, of bigger size, called Cacatua dalla coda gialla in Italian and Yellow-tailed Black-Cockatoo in English, and the Calyptorhynchus banksii, called Cacatua dalla coda-rossa di Lethami in Italian and Red-Tailed Black Cockatoo in English, for sure the species more similar for size, sexual dimorphism, issue and habitat.

The Calyptorhynchus lathami has at least three races or subspecies, originated in Australia due to the geographic isolation. Like the main species, endemic to various regions of eastern Australia, also these ones are located, with different density, in the eastern part of Australia and nearby islands. We can distinguish:

- the Calyptorhynchus lathami lathami, the most eastern subspecies, rather rare, loving in the south-eastern Queensland from Mallacoota to Victoria, even if isolated groups have been found in New South Wales and in the States Forests of the Pilliga, called also Pilliga Scrub, semi-arid area of the temperate zone of New South Wales. In all these ecotypes, the arboreal life of these birds is always associated with few species of trees, mostly belonging to the genus Casuarina , grouped in small woods or bushes.

- the Calyptorhynchus lathami erebus, the most common subspecies, with a greater density than the previous one, autochthonous to the central Queensland, where it colonizes small bushy woods of Casuarina .

- and the Calyptorhynchus lathami halmaturinus, the subspecies under major risk of extinction, placed by the IUCN into the red list of Threatened Endangered Species. It is endemic to the Kangaroo Island, the third Australian island as for size after Tasman and Melville Islands, where it is confined in the north-western part with 100 units only, as it results from the counts done by the IUCN and the WWF.

The biological cycle of the Calyptorhynchus lathami halmaturinus is strictly related with three autochthonous plants belonging to the families of the Casuarinaceae and the Myrtaceae.

In particular, for the Casuarinaceae, the Allocasuarina verticillata, a tree which can reach even the 10 m of height, called in Australia Drooping Sheoak and present mostly in the interior of the island, and the Allocasuarina littoralis, the Black Sheoak, reaching the 8-15 m and growing both along the coasts and also in the inner part, the so-called Inland.

The females nidify in the lairs dug by the mammals in these trees, thus entering often in competition with them, and both males and females do consume their reproductive cones.

They snatch them with their zygodactyl feet and crush them, separating, with their fleshy tongue, the seeds they eat.

It goes without saying that during this complicated operation many seeds fall on the ground, thus beginning new vital cycles for the plant. The dissemination, especially if the animal is disturbed, can happen even at some distance from the tree, and the cockatoos, with their zoomophilous propagation, bear an essential ecologic function for the eastern regions of Australia.

The third species of plants being utilized, that belonging to the family of the Myrtaceae, is the Eucalyptus cladocalyx, called Sugar Gum in Australia. The Calyptorhynchus lathami halmaturinus, in fact, do nourish of the berries it products.

The variation in the population density of these three vegetal species, caused by man with the deforestation, fires and the agricultural exploitation of the nearby lands, which causes losses of balance in the fertility of the soil, about mineral salts, nitrogen and available water, no to forget the competitiveness of the cultivated species, reflects negatively on the vital cycle of these birds which get altered their ecology, with catastrophic consequences on the density of their population.

Lack of trophic resources, and lack of natural roosts and trees where to settle the nest, which delay and limit their reproduction.

Zoogeography

Till the first half of the last century, the Calyptorhynchus lathami lived along the whole north-eastern Australia. Nowadays, it is confined in few areas, from the coast of the Eungella National Park, to the eastern side of Queensland, up to the Mallacoota in the Victoria region.

In the other Australian regions, where it was autochthonous, it has extinguished due to the deforestation and the agriculture.

In the wild they get also the competition of some wasps, which kill the chicks with their poisonous stings, but this is not itself a sufficient cause to determine their extinction.

The IUCN has inserted it into the red list of the threatened endangered species, the CITES prohibits its trade.

Habitat-Ecology

The habitats of these birds are very various. They vary from the forests along the coasts of the eastern Australia, to the dry forests of eucalypti, to the bushy forests of the inland, or to those present along rivers and brooks.

They are attracted by plants belonging to the genera Casuarina and Allocasuarina, both for the construction of the nests and for the seeds, which are the main source of their alimentary diet.

The Calyptorhynchus lathami lives usually in groups of 2 to 10 individuals of the same species, which can live together with similar species, such as the Calyptorhynchus funereus or the Calyptorhynchus banksii, seen that they are not too aggressive, even if they protect their nests and the areas where the food is localized.

As we have said, they utilize the great tree trunks, even if dead and fallen on the ground, for building their nests.

Morpho-physiology

The Calyptorhynchus lathami is the smallest of all the black Cockatoos.

The males reach a length of 46-50 cm and the females are somewhat smaller. The wingspan reaches the 90 cm, and the weight varies between 400 and 600 g.

They have the classical black robust and bent beak, an erectile crest typical of the Cockatoos with voluntary mobility, but of lesser dimensions in respect to the other members of the family.

The black colour is the prevailing on all the body, both in the males and in the females, even if in the male the head is chocolate-brown and the tail has brilliant flame-red dots on the rectrices.

The females have a darker brown head, rectrices with orange-yellow stripes, and, above all, a sort of a yellow collar, absent in the males, which is without any doubt, a marking character of the sexual dimorphism.

The foot is zygodactyl, suitable for the arboreal life.

Ethology-Reproductive Biology

The Calyptorhynchus lathami is a monogynous (monogamous) species. The couples are stable, and keep united for the life.

The female prepares the next in the hollows of the dead trees or on trees with big trunk.

The precise number of eggs laid is not known, but it looks like they are 3 or 4, bred solely by the female.

After a week from the deposition, this can get out for feeding for short periods, but usually it is the male which cares its subsistence, as well as for the pullets, which come to life after 20-24 days of incubation.

Also the mother, once recovered its strengths, helps then the partner in nourishing the young, for about four weeks, till when they are autonomous for the flight and the research of the food.

The progeny leaves the nest in September-October, when the parents mate for the forthcoming heat season.

 

→ For general information about Psittaciformes please click here.

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within PSITTACIFORMES please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_C-331-1_Calyptorhynchus_lathami
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants