Cercopithecus aethiops

Famille : Cercopithecidae

 

GIF - 5.4 ko

 

Texte © D. Sc. Giuliano Russini - Biologiste Zoologiste

 

 

Traduction en français par Françoise Junod

 

 

JPEG - 109.7 ko
Le Cercopithecus aethiops a un tempérament doux, parfois sujet à des crises de colère © Giuseppe Mazza

Les nombreux membres de la tribu des (Cercopithecini) ont un groupe important de l’ordre des Primates ( Primates ), appartenant au micro-ordre des Catarrhinés ( Catarrhini ), famille des Cercopithécidés ( Cercopithecidae ), sous-famille Cercopithecinae et tribu Cercopithecini.

C’est un groupe de singes complexe, qui inclut plusieurs espèces de forme très élégante afférents au genre Cercopithecus.

Dans ce groupe, la taxonomie est en perpétuelle évolution, par laquelle beaucoup d’espèces ont changé de nom, ou gardé l’ancienne dénomination même si elles en avaient acquis une autre.

Ce groupe consiste en plusieurs colonies, autochtones en Afrique, qui occupent des biotopes variés, pouvant avoir une vie arboricole aussi bien que terrestre.

Ces singes comportent des espèces comme le Cercopithèque diane ( Cercopithecus diana ), dans laquelle se rencontrent les races Cercopithecus diana roloway et Cercopithecus diana dryas, l’étrange Cercopithèque de Brazza ( Cercopithecus neglectus ), les différentes races de Cercopithèques diadème ( Cercopithecus mitis ), et le plus connu, le Grivet ( Cercopithecus aethiops - Linnaeus 1758 ).

Actuellement les biologistes reconnaissent environ quinze espèces subdivisées en une centaine de races sur le continent africain.

Pour ce texte, nous allons traiter spécifiquement du Grivet, appelé aussi, par d’autres, le Singe vert ( Cercopithecus aethiops ).

Comme nous l’avons déjà dit brièvement, cette espèce, qui est la plus connue du genre Cercopithecus, est encore appelée Cercopithecus aethiops, par de nombreux biologistes, mais le remaniement taxonomique continu fait que ce groupe est aussi appelé Chlorocebus aethiops.

Zoogéographie

Ces singes sont présents dans presque toutes les régions africaines, sauf dans la ceinture méditerranéenne et les zones désertiques. Ils abondent partout dans l’Afrique subsaharienne, et leur plus grande densité se trouve en Érythrée, au Soudan, en Éthiopie et en Ouganda. Dans ce dernier pays, en particulier, ces singes ne sont absents que dans deux parcs nationaux : celui de Murchison Falls et celui du lac Mburo, mais ils sont présents dans tous les autres parcs et dans chaque forêt.

JPEG - 93.5 ko
Un Cercopithecus aethiops pygerythrus dans son habitat © Giuseppe Mazza

Écologie-Habitat

Le Grivet est une espèce arboricole, mais se distingue de la plupart des autres espèces du genre, car au lieu de vivre dans les forêts et bushs, ils aiment la vie dans la savane. Ces singes ont un régime omnivore : fruits, racines, fleurs, insectes, arthropodes, petits reptiles et rongeurs.

Morfofisiologia

L’espèce Cercopithecus aethiops est polytypique, car elle est subdivisée en différentes races ; parmi les plus connues il y a le Callithriche ( Cercopithecus aethiops sabaeus ), le Vervet bleu ( Cercopithecus aethiops pygerythrus ), et le Vervet ou Singe gris-vert ( Cercopithecus aethiops griseoviridis ) ; Ce dernier est le plus fréquent dans les parcs zoologiques.

Dans le passé, les taxonomistes considéraient ces races comme des espèces propres. Maintenant la Commission Internationale de Nomenclature Zoologique (ICZN) les considère comme des races ou sous-espèces.

Le Grivet a une coloration uniforme jaune-verdâtre de la fourrure qui le camoufle bien dans la savane, mais les parties inférieures sont blanches. Chez les mâles, le scrotum est bleu et le pénis rouge brillant.

Les lignes anatomiques générales, pour le genre Cercopithecus, donc pour le Cercopithecus aethiops, montrent une structure corporelle fine et longiligne. Sur la face, en outre, ils présentent quelques poches de joue internes (abajoues), où ils accumulent des réserves de nourriture.

Les mâles pèsent 4-5 kg, les femelles 2,5-3 kg. Ils atteignent une longueur d’environ 80 cm, dont 60 pour la queue. Le nom cercopithecus signifie, en fait, et non par hasard, « singe à queue ».

Cet animal et les membres des autres espèces, comme nous l’avons déjà dit, ont une structure corporelle harmonieuse, une tête arrondie avec un petit museau proéminent. Ils ont quatre membres robustes qu’ils utilisent ensemble pour grimper rapidement aux arbres. Ils manquent, cependant, de membres brachiateurs, comme en ont les gibbons et autres singes-araignées.

JPEG - 88.9 ko
Les soins uniquement maternels très marqués durent deux ans © Giuseppe Mazza

Ce sont aussi des animaux très agiles au sol, où ils peuvent courir, en se déplaçant dans les fourrés, les broussailles ou les buissons épais.

Dans certains cas, s’ils sont pourchassés par un guépard, un babouin ou un chimpanzé, ils peuvent s’improviser comme des nageurs discrets.

Ce sont des animaux à grande longévité, ils peuvent atteindre plus de 20 ans en liberté et même 30 en captivité.

Éthologie-Biologie de la reproduction

Ils peuvent vivre en groupes de 4 à 12 individus, menés par un leader dominant.

Le Grivet a un tempérament plutôt calme, même s’il est imprévisible, comme tous les membre du genre, avec des crises de colère soudaines. Quand il est captif, il est tout à fait doux, mais difficile à apprivoiser.

Ils n’ont pas de période particulière dans l’année pour la reproduction et les bébés viennent au monde à tout moment. Il suffit qu’un mâle rencontre une femelle réceptive pour qu’un accouplement ait lieu.

La gestation dure, en moyenne, 5 mois avec un seul petit mis bas.

Les soins maternels sont très marqués et durent jusqu’à la deuxième année du petit. La maturité sexuelle pour les deux sexes est atteinte entre la deuxième et troisième année de vie post-natale.

L’UICN les classe comme courant un risque minime d’extinction.

 

→ Pour des informations générales sur les PRIMATES voir ici

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de l’ordre des PRIMATES et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_C-12-1_Cercopithecus_aethiops
_C-12-2_Cercopithecus_aethiops
_C-4-1_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-10_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-2_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-3_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-7_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-8_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-9_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Cercopithecus aethiops

Family : Cercopithecidae

 

GIF - 5.4 kb

 

Text © DrSc Giuliano Russini - Biologist Zoologist

 

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 109.7 kb
The Cercopithecus aethiops is mild-tempered, but with possible tantrums © Giuseppe Mazza

The numerous members of the tribe of the Cercopithecini are an important group of the order of the Primates ( Primates ), belonging to the parvorder of the Catarrhines ( Catarrhini ), family of the Cercopithecids ( Cercopithecidae ), subfamily Cercopithecinae, and tribe Cercopithecini.

They are a complex group of monkeys which include several species, with a very elegant shape, afferent to the order Cercopithecus.

In this group, the taxonomy is in continuous revolution, whereby many species have changed name, or keep the old denomination even if they have acquired another one.

This group consists of several colonies, autochthonous of Africa, where they have colonized various biotopes, as they may carry on an arboreal life as well as a terrestrial one.

Monkeys like the Diana monkey ( Cercopithecus diana ), of which exist the races Cercopithecus diana roloway and the Cercopithecus diana dryas, the odd De Brazza’s monkey ( Cercopithecus neglectus ), the various races of the Diademed monkey ( Cercopithecus mitis ), and the most known, the Grivet ( Cercopithecus aethiops - Linnaeus, 1758 ).

The biologists, to date, recognize in the African continent about fifteen species subdivided in about a hundred of races.

In the specific of this text, we shall treat the Grivet, called also, by others, Blue monkey ( Cercopithecus aethiops ).

As we have already briefly said, which is the most known of the genus Cercopithecus, is by various zoological biologists still called Cercopithecus aethiops, but the continuous rehashing of this group calls it also Chlorocebus aethiops.

Zoogeography

They are present in almost all the African regions, but in the Mediterranean belt and the desert zones. They abound everywhere, in the sub-Saharan Africa, even if the greatest density is found in Eritrea, Sudan, Ethiopia and Uganda. In Uganda, in particular, these monkeys are absent only in two national parks: the Murchison Falls and the Mburo Lake, but are, on the contrary, present in all other parks and in every forest.

JPEG - 93.5 kb
A Cercopithecus aethiops pygerythrus in its habitat © Giuseppe Mazza

Habitat-Ecology

The grivet is an arboreal species but distinguishes from almost other species of the genus because, instead of living in the forests and in the bush, it love the savannah life.

These monkeys have an omnivorous diet: fruits, roots, plants, flowers, insects, arthropods, small reptilians and rodents.

Morpho-physiology

The species Cercopithecus aethiops is polytypical, as it is subdivided into a score of races; among the most known we find: the Saba cercopithecus ( Cercopithecus aethiops sabaeus ), the White throat cercopithecus ( Cercopithecus aethiops pygerythrus ), and the Vervet or Grey-green cercopithecus ( Cercopithecus aethiops griseoviridis ); this last one is the most frequent race of cercopithecus in the zoological gardens.

In the past, the taxonomical biologists did consider these races as proper species; nowadays the International Commission of Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN) considers them as races or subspecies.

The green cercopithecus has a uniform greenish-yellow colouring of the coat which camouflages it well in the savannah, but the lower parts which are white; in the males, the scrotum is blue and the penis bright red.

The general anatomical lines, for the genus Cercopithecus, and therefore also for the Cercopithecus aethiops, show a slim and slender body structure. On the face, furthermore, they present some internal cheek pouches, where they accumulate food as reserve.

The males weigh 4-5 kg, the females 2,5-3 kg. They reach a length of about 80 cm, 60 of which belong to the long tail. The name cercopithecus means, in fact, and not by chance, “monkey with the tail”.

This animal and the members of the other species, as already said, have a harmonious structure of the body, a roundish head with a little prominent muzzle. They have four robust limbs which they utilize at the same time for climbing quickly the trees. They lack, however, of a brachiated limb, like the gibbons and the spider monkeys.

JPEG - 88.9 kb
The omoparental maternal cares are much marked and last two years © Giuseppe Mazza

They are very agile animals also on the ground, where they may run, moving also in the thick brushwood, the thicket and the bush.

In soma cases, for instance while fleeing from a leopard, a baboon or a chimpanzee, they also improvise discreet swimmers.

They are long-living animals, as they may live up to 20 years in the wild and maybe even 30 when captive.

Ethology-Reproductive Biology

They may live in groups from 4 to 12 individuals, where there is a dominant leader.

The green cercopithecus has a rather calm temper, even if it is unpredictable, as all members of the genus, with sudden tantrums. When in captivity, they are quite meek, but difficult to tame.

They do not have a particular period of the year for reproducing and the babies may come to life at any time. Essentially, it is sufficient that a male meets a receptive female and that the mating takes place.

The gestation lasts, as an average, 5 months and only one offspring is delivered. The same mother’s cares are much marked, and last till the second year of life of the baby. The sexual maturity for both sexes is reached by around the second-third year of postnatal life.

The IUCN classifies them at a minimum risk of extinction.

 

→ For general information about PRIMATES please click here

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the order of PRIMATES and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_C-12-1_Cercopithecus_aethiops
_C-12-2_Cercopithecus_aethiops
_C-4-1_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-10_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-2_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-3_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-7_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-8_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
_C-4-9_Cercopithecus_aethiops_pygerythrus
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants