Eranthemum pulchellum

Famille : Acanthaceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Fabienne Dauphin

 

 

JPEG - 83.9 ko
Eranthemum pulchellum : inflorescences terminales en épis compacts © Giuseppe Mazza

L’espèce est originaire du Bhoutan, d’Inde, de Birmanie et du Népal, où elle pousse du niveau de la mer jusqu’à 900 m d’altitude.

Le nom du genre vient probablement de la combinaison des termes grecs “ero” = hameçon et “anthemon” = fleur ; le nom de l’espèce est le diminutif de l’adjectif latin “pulcher” ; “pulchellus, a, um” = joli, mignon.

Noms communs : blue-sage, Indian blue sage (anglais) ; gulsham (hindi) ; camarão-azul, salva-azul (portugais) ; azulejo (espagnol) ; neelamulli (tamoul) ; Blaue Frühlingsblume (allemand) ; tinh hoa đẹp, tinh hoa xinh (vietnamien).

Eranthemum pulchellum Andrews (1800) est un arbrisseau vivace, sempervirent, semi-ligneux et très ramifié, pouvant atteindre 1,5 m. Les feuilles, au pétiole long de 0,5 à 2 cm, sont opposées, ovées-lancéolées, pointues à l’apex, à marge entière ou légèrement dentée (crenelée), longues de 5 à 10 cm, vert foncé et profondément veinées.

Les inflorescences terminales en épis compacts, longs de 3 à 10 cm, sont composées de bractées imbriquées lancéolées ou ovées-elliptiques avec apex pointu, de couleur blanche, bordées et veinées de vert, d’où émergent des fleurs bleu gentiane à corolle en entonnoir, au tube étroit long d’environ 2 cm, s’étalant en cinq lobes obovés, presque semblables, plats, d’environ 1 cm de long et deux étamines.

Les fruits sont des capsules biloculaires, comprimées, déhiscentes (s’ouvrant spontanément à maturité), longues de 1,2 à 1,6 cm , contenant des graines en forme de lentilles. Il se reproduit au printemps par semis et par bouturage herbacé dans un sol sableux maintenu humide, à une température de 24 à 26 °C ; il se propage facilement tout seul et s’est même naturalisé dans plusieurs régions tropicales.

Espèce très appréciée pour son feuillage ornemental et la couleur particulière de ses fleurs, ainsi que pour sa longue période de floraison de l’hiver au printemps. Elle se cultive en plein air sous climat tropical, subtropical, rarement sous climat chaud à tempéré, où elle tolère occasionnellement et pendant de très courtes périodes, des températures légèrement inférieures à 0 °C , malgré quelques dégâts sur le feuillage.

De culture facile, elle a besoin d’une exposition partiellement ombragée et d’une terre drainée maintenue humide, riche en matière organique, de préférence acide ou neutre. Elle peut être utilisée en buisson isolé, en groupe ou pour créer des bordures et des haies basses. Elle s’adapte bien à la culture en pot pour décorer les vérandas, les serres et les jardins d’hiver, avec une terre riche en humus et ajout de sable grossier siliceux ou de perlite afin d’améliorer le drainage. L’exposition doit être la plus lumineuse possible, mais en évitant le soleil direct et les températures inférieures à 12 °C. Les arrosages doivent être réguliers en été, plus espacés l’hiver, mais en veillant à ce que le substrat ne se dessèche pas trop ; après la floraison, au printemps, effectuer une taille radicale à quelques centimètres de la base pour garder un port compact.

Synonymes : Justicia nervosa Vahl (1804) ; Eranthemum bicolor Schrank (1817) ; Eranthemum nervosum (Vahl) R.Br. ex Roem. & Schult. (1817) ; Eranthemum varians Billb. (1833) ; Upudalia pulchella (Andrews) Raf. (1838) ; Eranthemum grandiflorum Zipp. ex Span. (1841) ; Eranthemum edgeworthianum Nees (1847) ; Daedalacanthus nervosus (Vahl) T.Anderson (1867) ; Daedalacanthus scaber T.Anderson (1867) ; Eranthemum scabrum Wall. ex T.Anderson (1867) ; Daedalacanthus varians (Vent.) Voss (1895) ; Pseuderanthemum pulchellum (Andrews) Merr. (1912).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des ACANTHACEAE et trouver d’autres espèces cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_E-237-1_Eranthemum_pulchellum
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Eranthemum pulchellum

Family : Acanthaceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 83.9 kb
Eranthemum pulchellum terminal inflorescences in compact spikes © Giuseppe Mazza

The species is native to Bhutan, India, Myanmar and Nepal, where it grows from the sea level up to about 900 m of altitude.

The name of the genus probably comes from the combination of the Greek epithets “ero” = hook, and “anthemon” = flower; the name of the species is the diminutive of the Latin adjective “pulcher”; “pulchellus, a, um” = pretty, cute.

Common names: blue-sage, Indian blue sage (English); gulsham (Hindi); camarão-azul, salva-azul (Portuguese); azulejo (Spanish); neelamulli (Tamil); Blaue Frühlingsblume (German); tinh hoa đẹp, tinh hoa xinh (Vietnamese).

The Eranthemum pulchellum Andrews (1800) is a perennial, evergreen, semi-woody and much ramified shrub, tall up to about 1,5 m, with leaves, with a 0,5-2 cm long petiole, opposite, ovate-lanceolate with pointed apex and entire or slightly toothed (crenulated) margin, 5-10 cm long, of dark green colour and deeply veined.

Terminal inflorescences in compact, from 3 to 10 cm long, spikes with imbricate lanceolate or ovate-elliptic bracts with pointed apex, of white colour with green venations and edges, from which arise blue gentian flowers with funnel-shaped corolla, with thin tube about 2 cm long expanding in five obovate lobes, almost identical, flat, about 1 cm long, and two stamina.

The fruits are compressed bilocular capsules, dehiscent (they open spontaneously when ripe), 1,2-1,6 cm long, containing lentil-shaped seeds. It reproduces by seed and by herbaceous cutting in spring in sandy soil kept humid at a temperature of 24-26 °C; it easily self-disseminates, so much as to have naturalized in many tropical areas.

Very appreciated species due to its ornamental foliage and the particular colour of the flowers, besides the long flowering period in winter-spring, cultivable in open air in the tropical, subtropical and marginally warm temperate climate zones, where it can bear occasional, and very short lasting, temperatures just under the 0 °C, even if with damage to the foliage.

Of easy cultivation, it requires a partially shaded position and draining soils rich of organic substance, preferably acidic or neutral, kept humid. It can be utilized as isolated shrub, in mass or for creating borders and low fences. It well adapts to the cultivation in pot for the decoration of verandas, greenhouses and winter gardens utilizing a soil rich of humus with addition of coarse siliceous sand or perlite for improving the drainage, in an as much as possible very luminous position, but avoiding the direct sun, with temperatures not less than 12 °C. Waterings must be regular in summer, more spaced in winter, but without allowing the substratum to dry up too much; after the flowering, in spring, it is to be drastically pruned up to a few centimetres from the base in order to keep a compact habit.

Synonyms: Justicia nervosa Vahl (1804); Eranthemum bicolor Schrank (1817); Eranthemum nervosum (Vahl) R.Br. ex Roem. & Schult. (1817); Eranthemum varians Billb. (1833); Upudalia pulchella (Andrews) Raf. (1838); Eranthemum grandiflorum Zipp. ex Span. (1841); Eranthemum edgeworthianum Nees (1847); Daedalacanthus nervosus (Vahl) T.Anderson (1867); Daedalacanthus scaber T.Anderson (1867); Eranthemum scabrum Wall. ex T.Anderson (1867); Daedalacanthus varians (Vent.) Voss (1895); Pseuderanthemum pulchellum (Andrews) Merr. (1912).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family ACANTHACEAE and find other species please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_E-237-1_Eranthemum_pulchellum
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants