Ficus benghalensis

Famille : Moraceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Michel Anciaux

 

 

JPEG - 207.2 ko
Ficus benghalensis arbre toujours vert, 20 m de haut, à nombreuses racines aériennes © Giuseppe Mazza

L’espèce est native de l’Inde et du Pakistan, où elle pousse dans les forêts jusqu’à 600 m d’altitude, dans les zones caractérisées par un climat de moussons.

Le nom du genre provient du latin, utilisé pour la figue commune ( Ficus carica ) ; le nom latin de l’espèce “benghalensis” = du Bengale, en référence à ces zones d’origine.

Noms communs : banyan, banyan fig, banyan tree, Bengal banyan, Bengal fig, east Indian figtree, horn fig, Indian banyan, Krishna bor, Krishna’s cup (Anglais) ; bar (Bengali) ; baniano (Italien) ; arbre banian, banian, figuier des pagodes (Français) ; bad, baniya, bargad, bat (Hindi) ; bargá, figueira-bargá, figuera banyan (Portugais) ; baniano, higuera de Bengala (Espagnol) ; Banyan-feige, Banyanbaum, Bengalischer Feigenbaum (Allemand).

Le Ficus benghalensis L. (1753) est un arbre toujours vert, pouvant atteindre 20 m de haut, à l’écorce grise et lisse, avec une grande couronne qui peut se déployer sur plus de 100 m, supportée par les nombreuses racines aériennes qui atteignent le sol, et qui en grandissant et en fusionnant, forment une sorte de tronc adventice.

Les feuilles, sur un pétiole robuste et pubescent, longs 2 à 6 cm, sont alternes, de forme ovale à elliptique, de 8 à 26 cm de long sur 7 à 20 cm de large, à bord entier et apex obtus, coriaces, d’une couleur verte intense et brillante sur la face supérieure, pubescentes sur la face inférieure, à nervure centrale et 4 à 7 paires de nervures latérales, vert pâle ; les nouvelles feuilles sont de couleur bronze.

Les inflorescences sont des sycones, en forme d’urnes qui englobent complètement les fleurs, accessibles uniquement par une ouverture apicale, entourée de 3 minuscules écailles ( dont l’exemple typique est le figuier commun, Ficus carica ).

Les sycones sont axillaires, sessiles(sans pétiole), produites par paire, en forme de globes déprimés, d’environ 2 cm de diamètre, de couleur orange à rouge à maturité, avec fleurs mâles et femelles présentes en même temps dans le syconium.

La fructification exige la présence d’insectes pollinisateurs. Il est bien connu qu’à chaque espèce de Ficus est associé un insecte spécifique, appartenant à la famille des Agaonidae (dans le cas présent, le Eupristina masoni Saunders, 1882 ), qui à son tour ne peut se reproduire que si l’espèce de Ficus est présente ; les fruits sont de fines akènes, ne contenant qu’une seule graine.

JPEG - 88.4 ko
Feuilles longues de 8 à 26 cm et sycones rouge-orange, 2 cm. Propriétés médicinales © Giuseppe Mazza

Il se propage par graines, placées superficiellement sur un substrat organique sablonneux, gardé humide en permanence, bien illuminé, à une température entre 22 et 24 °C ; la germination peut alors être lente ; dans la nature, il peut croître initialement comme épiphyte sur d’autre arbres, entourant progressivement leur tronc avec ses racines, qui atteignent le sol et éventuellement finir comme "étrangleur" après un certain nombre d’années.

Au printemps, il se reproduit aussi par bouturage et par marcottage aérien.

C’est une des espèces les plus ornementales du genre Ficus, elle requière un climat tropical ou subtropical et, éventuellement un climat tempéré et chaud, où elle peut résister pendant un bref moment à des températures voisines de -2 °C, avec éventuellement des dégâts au feuillage.

Elle est peu exigeante concernant la qualité des sols et est plutôt résistante à la sécheresse et à la salinité.

Utilisé comme arbre d’ombrage dans les parcs ou jardins, l’espèce a acquis une signification religieuse profonde pour les populations de sa zone d’origine ; au moment de la plantation, le système racinaire envahissant et superficiel est pris en considération : une position suffisamment éloignée des buildings, routes et trottoirs doit donc être choisie.

Les feuilles, particulièrement appréciées des éléphants, sont utilisées comme fourrage pour le bétail et de l’écorce, ils obtiennent des fibres pour la fabrication de cordes ; le fruit est comestible, mais sans gout particulièrement agréable, il était consommé seulement en période de famine.

Cultivé en pots pour la décoration intérieure, il requiert une exposition suffisamment lumineuse et un substrat bien drainé maintenu modérément humide, avec des températures, en hiver, supérieures à 14 °C ; une chute prématurée des feuilles est un des problèmes qui peut se rencontrer : celle-ci est souvent provoquée par un arrosage inadapté, aussi bien par excès, que par défaut.

Enfin, toutes les parties de la plante sont utilisées en médecine traditionnelle pour le traitement de diverses pathologies.

Synonymes : Ficus lancifolia Moench (1794) ; Ficus procera Salisb. (1796) ; Ficus umbrosa Salisb. (1796) ; Ficus cotoneifolia Vahl (1805) ; Ficus pubescens B.Heyne ex Roth (1821) ; Ficus lasiophylla Link (1822) ; Ficus banyana Oken (1841) ; Urostigma benghalense (L.) Gasp. (1844) ; Ficus crassinervia Kunth & C.D.Bouché (1846) ; Ficus karet Baill. (1875) ; Ficus chauvieri G.Nicholson (1886) ; Ficus krishnae C.DC. (1906).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des MORACEAE et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_F-87-1_Ficus_benghalensis
_F-87-2_Ficus_benghalensis
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Ficus benghalensis

Family : Moraceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 207.2 kb
Ficus benghalensis is a 20 m Indian evergreen with many columnar aerial roots © Giuseppe Mazza

The species is native to India and Pakistan, where it grows in the forests up to about 600 m of altitude in areas characterized by monsoon climate.

The name of the genus is the Latin one utilized for the common fig ( Ficus carica ); the Latin name of the species “benghalensis” = of Bengal, refers to one of its zones of origin.

Common names: banyan, banyan fig, banyan tree, Bengal banyan, Bengal fig, east Indian figtree, horn fig, Indian banyan, Krishna bor, Krishna’s cup (English); bar (Bengalese); baniano (Italian); arbre banian, banian, figuier des pagodes (French); bad, baniya, bargad, bat (Hindi); bargá, figueira-bargá, figuera banyan (Portuguese); baniano, higuera de Bengala (Spanish); Banyan-feige, Banyanbaum, Bengalischer Feigenbaum (German).

The Ficus benghalensis L. (1753) is an evergreen, up to about 20 m tall, tree with grey and smooth bark and with an ample crown which can expand for more than 100 m, supported by the numerous aerial roots which reach the soil and which, getting bigger and melting, form a sort of adventitious trunks.

The leaves, on a robust pubescent and 2-6 cm long petiole, are alternate, of ovate to elliptic shape, of 8-26 cm of length and 7-20 cm of breadth, with entire edge and obtuse apex, coriaceous, of a glossy intense green colour on the upper page, pubescent below, with central vein and 4 to 7 pairs of lateral pale green nervations; the new leaves are bronze coloured.

The inflorescences are syconia, that is hollows of the fleshy walls which surround completely the flowers, accessible only through an apical opening, enclosed by three tiny scales (typical example, those of the common fig, Ficus carica ).

The syconia are axilalr, sessile (without petiole), produced in pair, of globose-depressed shape, of about 2 cm of diameter, of a colour from orange to red when ripe, with female and male flowers present at the same time in the syconium.

For the fructification is indispensable the presence of the pollinating insect, as it is known, to each species of Ficus corresponds a specific insect of the family of the Agaonidae (in our case, the Eupristina masoni Saunders, 1882), which, in turn, may reproduce only if it is present the species of Ficus to which it is associated; the small fruits (achenes) contain one seed only.

JPEG - 88.4 kb
The leaves are 8-26 cm long, the red-orange syconia, 2 cm. Medicinal properties © Giuseppe Mazza

It propagates by seed, placed superficially on organic, sandy substratum, kept constantly humid, in luminous position at a temperature of 22-24 °C, the germination may be slow; in the wild it may grow up initially as epiphytic on other trees, surrounding their trunk with its roots which reach the soil, and eventually ends up in “strangling” them after a certain number of years.

In spring it reproduces also by cutting and by air layering in summer.

One of the most ornamental species of the genus Ficus, it requires a tropical, subtropical climate and, marginally, a warm temperate one, where it can resist for a short time to temperatures around the -2 °C, possibly with damage to the foliage, in full sun or partial shade.

It is not particularly demanding about the soil and is fairly resistant to the drought and the saltiness.

Utilized as shade tree in parks, vast gardens and along the streets, it acquires also deep religious significances for the origin area populations; at the moment of the planting, the superficial and invading rooting apparatus is to be well kept in consideration, a position sufficiently far away from buildings, roads and pavements is therefore to be chosen.

The leaves, particularly appreciated by the elephants, are utilized as fodder for the cattle and from the bark they get fibres for fabricating ropes; the fruit is edible, but with a not particularly pleasant taste, in fact, this was consumed only in famine periods.

Cultivated in pot for inner spaces decoration, it requires a sufficiently luminous position and a well drained substratum maintained moderately humid, with winter temperatures over the 14 °C; one of the problems that can be encountered is the premature leaves fall, which is often caused by incorrect waterings, both in excess and in defect.

Finally, all parts of the plant are used in the traditional medicine for various pathologies.

Synonyms: Ficus lancifolia Moench (1794); Ficus procera Salisb. (1796); Ficus umbrosa Salisb. (1796); Ficus cotoneifolia Vahl (1805); Ficus pubescens B.Heyne ex Roth (1821); Ficus lasiophylla Link (1822); Ficus banyana Oken (1841); Urostigma benghalense (L.) Gasp. (1844); Ficus crassinervia Kunth & C.D.Bouché (1846); Ficus karet Baill. (1875); Ficus chauvieri G.Nicholson (1886); Ficus krishnae C.DC. (1906).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family MORACEAE and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_F-87-1_Ficus_benghalensis
_F-87-2_Ficus_benghalensis
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants