Ficus microcarpa

Famille : Moraceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Michel Anciaux

 

 

JPEG - 157.7 ko
Un Ficus microcarpa majestueux, Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Parc Garcia Sanabria © Giuseppe Mazza

La plante est native d’Australie (Queensland), Bhoutan, Cambod- ge, Chine (Fujian, Guangdong, Guangxi, Guizhou, Hainan, Yunnan et Zhejiang), Iles Cocos , Inde, Indonésie, Japon (Iles Ryükyü ), Malaisie, Micronésie, Myanmar, Népal, Nouvelle Calé- donie, Palau, Papua Nouvelle Guinée, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Taïwan, Thaïlande et Viet Nam, où elle pousse dans les forêts humides, les espaces ouverts et sur les rochers jusqu’à une altitude de 1800 m.

Le nom du genre provient du latin et il est utilisé pour désigner le figuier commun ( Ficus carica ) ; le nom de l’espèce est une combinaison des termes grecs “mikrόs” = petit et “karpόs” = fruit, en référence évidente.

Noms vernaculaires : Chinese banyan, curtain fig, hill’s weeping fig, Indian laurel fig, Indian laurel, Malay banyan, small-fruit fig (Anglais) ; rong shu, rongxu (Chinois) ; chilkan, kamarup (Hindi) ; figueira-lacerdinha, laurel da India (Portuguais) ; laurel de la India, laurel de Indias (Espagnol) ; Chinesische Feige, Indischer Lorbeer, Lorbeerfeige, Vorhang-feige (Allemand).

Le Ficus microcarpa L.f. (1782) est une plante sempervirente d’environ 25 m de haut, avec une couronne ample et arrondie, un tronc de 60 cm de diamètre, à écorce grisâtre ; sur les branches des plantes adultes, des racines aériennes peuvent se former, en particulier sous les climats humides, et celles ci peuvent parfois atteindre le sol.

Les feuilles sont alternes, presqu’elliptiques, de 4 à 10 cm de long et de 3 à 5 cm de large, coriaces, de couleur vert foncé, à bord entier et sommet obtus. Les inflorescences sont des sycones, sorte d’outres qui entourent complètement les fleurs, accessibles par une ouverture apicale, entourant 3 fines écailles (exemple typique le figuier commun, Ficus carica ). Les sycones, produites aussi bien sur les jeunes branches, que sur les plus vieilles, déjà dépourvues de feuilles, sont axillaires, sessiles, par paires, de forme globulaire ou pyriforme, de 6 à 9 mm de diamètre, de couleur jaune à rouge noirâtre, à maturité, avec fleurs mâles et femelles présentes en même temps dans le sycone.

La présence d’insecte pollinisateur est nécessaire pour la fructification ; il est bien connu que chaque espèce de Ficus est associée à un insecte spécifique de la famille des Agaonidae (dans ce cas ci, l’ Eupristina verticillata Waterston, 1921), qui à son tour ne peut se reproduire que si l’espèce de Ficus à laquelle, il est associé, est présente ; les fruits (akènes), ovoïdes, contiennent une seule graine. L’arbre se reproduit par graines, placées superficiellement sur une substrat organique et sablonneux, gardé humide en permanence, à un emplacement lumineux et à une température entre 22 et 24 °c ; il peut pousser comme épiphyte sur d’autres arbres, sur des murs ou des toits. Il se reproduit aussi par bouturage au printemps et marcotte aérienne au début de l’été.

Espèce très répandue et appréciée pour sa croissance rapide et sa couronne élégante, étendue et épaisse, dans les zones de climat tropical, subtropical et de manière marginale, dans les zones chaudes de climat tempéré, où elle peut résister, à l’âge adulte, à des chutes exceptionnelles de température, jusqu’à environ -3 °C, pendant une très courte période de temps, même s’il en résulte des dégâts au feuillage. Est utilisé comme arbre d’ombrage, lorsqu’il est isolé dans les parcs et les jardins, ou comme arbre le long des routes. Peu exigeant au niveau du sol, et peut résister à l’âge adulte à des périodes de sécheresse, présente une bonne résistance au vent, à la salinité, résiste bien à l’élagage ; inconvénients : les productions abondantes de fruits qui peuvent tombent sur des zones de passage, et l’appareil racinaire, superficiel et invasif, dont il faut particulièrement tenir compte lorsqu’on le plante, en choisissant une position suffisamment éloignée des buildings, routes et trottoirs.

En pot pour la décoration en espace externe ou interne, doit être mis en position très lumineuse, avec un sol riche en humus, additionné de 30 % de sable grossier ou d’agro-perlite, avec des températures hivernales supérieures à 12°c ; l’arrosage doit être abondant en été, tout en évitant toute stagnation d’eau qui peut se révéler dangereuse et il faut permettre au sol de sécher presque complètement avant l’arrosage suivant ; modéré en hiver. C’est un bon sujet pour le bonsaï.

Des parties de la plante, en particulier l’écorce, les racines et les feuilles, sont utilisées en médecine traditionnelle pour traiter diverses pathologies.

Synonymes : Ficus aggregata Vahl (1805) ; Ficus rubra Roth (1821) ; Ficus littoralis Blume (1825) ; Ficus condaravia Buch.-Ham. (1827) ; Urostigma amblyphyllum Miq. (1847) ; Urostigma microcarpum (L. f.) Miq. (1847) ; Ficus amblyphylla (Miq.) Miq. (1867) ; Ficus dilatata Miq. (1867) ; Ficus dyctiophleba F.Muell. ex Miq. (1867) ; Ficus dictyophleba F.Muell. ex Benth. (1873) ; Ficus naumannii Engl. (1886) ; Ficus thynneana F.M.Bailey (1897) ; Ficus dahlii K.Schum. (1898) ; Ficus cairnsii Warb. (1905) ; Ficus retusiformis H.Lév. (1910) ; Ficus nitida auct. non Thunb. ; Ficus retusa auct. non L..

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des MORACEAE et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_F-84-1_Ficus_nitida
_F-84-2_Ficus_nitida
_F-84-3_Ficus_nitida
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Ficus microcarpa

Family : Moraceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 157.7 kb
A majestic Ficus microcarpa in the Santa Cruz de Tenerife Parque Garcia Sanabria © Giuseppe Mazza

The plant is native to Australia (Queensland), Bhutan, Cambodia, China (Fujian, Guangdong, Guan- gxi, Guizhou, Hainan, Yunnan and Zhejiang), Cocos Islands, India, Indonesia, Japan (Ryukyu Islands ), Malaysia, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Caledonia, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thaiiland and Viet Nam, where it grows in the humid forests, in open areas and on rocks up to about 1800 m of altitude.

The name of the genus is the Latin one utilized for the common fig ( Ficus carica ); the name of the species is the combination of the Greek terms “mikrόs” = small and “karpόs” = fruit, with obvious reference.

Common names: Chinese banyan, curtain fig, hill’s weeping fig, Indian laurel fig, Indian laurel, Malay banyan, small-fruit fig (English); rong shu, rongxu (Chinese); chilkan, kamarup (Hindi); figueira-lacerdinha, laurel da India (Portuguese); laurel de la India, laurel de Indias (Spanish); Chinesische Feige, Indischer Lorbeer, Lorbeerfeige, Vorhang-feige (German).

The Ficus microcarpa L.f. (1782) is an evergreen, up to about 25 m tall tree with ample and expanded roundish crown and trunk of 6o cm of diameter with greyish bark; on the branches of the adult plants may form aerial roots, in particular in the humid climates, which, at times, reach the soil.

The leaves are alternate, almost elliptic, 4-10 cm long and 3-5 cm broad, leathery, of glossy dark green colour, with entire edge and obtuse apex. The inflorescences are syconia, that is, hollows with fleshy walls which entirely enclose the flowers, accessible from an apical opening surrounded by three tiny scales (typical example, those of the common fig, Ficus carica ). The syconia, produced on the young branches as well as on the oldest ones already without leaves, are axillar, sessile (without petiole), in pair, of globose-depressed to piriform shape, 6-9 mm of diameter, of colour from yellow to blackish red when ripe, with female and male flowers present at the same time on the syconium.

For the fructification, the presence of the pollinating insect is necessary, as it is well known, to each species of Ficus is associated a specific insect of the family of the Agaonidae (in our case, the Eupristina verticillata Waterston, 1921), which, in turn, may reproduce only if the species of Ficus to which is associated is present; the fruits (achenes), ovoid, contain one seed only. It propagates by seed, placed superficially on organic, sandy, substratum, kept constantly humid, in luminous location at a temperature of 22-24 °C; it may grow as epiphyte on other trees or on walls and roofs. It reproduces also by cutting in spring and air layering in early summer.

Very spread and appreciated species due to the fast growth and the elegant top, expanded and thick, in the tropical, subtropical and marginally warm temperate climate, where it can resist, when adult, to exceptional drops in temperature to about -3 °C for a very short time, even if with damage to the foliage. It is utilized as shade tree as isolated specimen, in parks and vast gardens, as well as road tree. It is not particular about the soil; even if poor and can resist, when adult, to drought periods, has also a fairly good resistance to the wind and the saltiness and stands quite well the pruning; downsides are the abundant production of fruits, annoying when they fall in areas of passage, and the rooting apparatus, superficial and invasive, of which we have to carefully take into account when planting it, choosing a position sufficiently distant from buildings, roads and pavements.

It is very diffused a pot plant for the decoration of external and internal spaces, in much luminous position, in soil rich of humus with addition of coarse sand or agri-perlite around the 30% and winter temperatures over the 12 °C; the watering must be abundant in summer, avoiding in any case the stagnations which may reveal dangerous and allowing the soil to dry up almost completely before watering again, moderate in winter. It is a subject particularly suitable for bonsai.

Parts of the plant, in particular the bark, roots and leaves, are utilized in the traditional medicine for various pathologies.

Synonyms: Ficus aggregata Vahl (1805); Ficus rubra Roth (1821); Ficus littoralis Blume (1825); Ficus condaravia Buch.-Ham. (1827); Urostigma amblyphyllum Miq. (1847); Urostigma microcarpum (L. f.) Miq. (1847); Ficus amblyphylla (Miq.) Miq. (1867); Ficus dilatata Miq. (1867); Ficus dyctiophleba F.Muell. ex Miq. (1867); Ficus dictyophleba F.Muell. ex Benth. (1873); Ficus naumannii Engl. (1886); Ficus thynneana F.M.Bailey (1897); Ficus dahlii K.Schum. (1898); Ficus cairnsii Warb. (1905); Ficus retusiformis H.Lév. (1910); Ficus nitida auct. non Thunb.; Ficus retusa auct. non L..

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family MORACEAE and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_F-84-1_Ficus_nitida
_F-84-2_Ficus_nitida
_F-84-3_Ficus_nitida
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants