Justicia brandegeeana

Famille : Acanthaceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Fabienne Dauphin

 

 

JPEG - 81.1 ko
Plante d’intérieur ou d’extérieur sous climat doux © Mazza

Justicia brandegeeana Wassh. & L. B. Sm. 1969, comme Justicia brandegeana, est originaire du Mexique, du Guatemala et du Honduras.

Le genre est dédié au botaniste et horticulteur écossais James Justice (1698-1763), l’espèce au botaniste américain Townshend Stith Brandegee (1843-1925).

Noms communs : "beloperone" (italien) ; "false hop", "Mexican shrimp-plant", "shrimp-plant", "shrimpbush" (anglais) ; "plante aux crevettes" (français) ; "Zimmerhopfen" (allemand) ; "planta camaron", "lupulo de interior" (espagnol) ; "camarao-vermelho", "flor-de-camarao " (portugais).

Arbrisseau herbacé ou semi-ligneux, sempervirent, très ramifié, ne dépassant généralement pas un mètre de hauteur. Il présente des feuilles ovoïdes, légèrement pubescentes, d’environ 7 cm de long. Les fleurs sont petites, 2 à 3 cm de longueur, blanches, de longue durée. Elles émergent d’un épi terminal pendant composé de bractées imbriquées, qui, avec le temps, passent du vert au rouge foncé ; la floraison est continue du printemps à l’automne. Les fruits sont des capsules oblongues d’environ 1,2 cm de longueur, contenant des graines ovoïdes d’environ 3 mm de long.

Peu exigeant sur la nature du sol, il pousse aussi bien à la mi-ombre qu’en plein soleil, sous des climats allant du tropical au tempéré où il se comporte comme une plante caduque. Il tolère les courtes gelées jusqu’à -10 °C et perd sa partie aérienne, qui réapparaîtra rapidement au printemps. Il se cultive aussi en pot, comme plante d’intérieur, à exposition lumineuse. Il se reproduit par semis mais surtout par bouturage.

Synonymes : Beloperone guttata Brandegee (1912) ; Calliaspidia guttata (Brandegee) Bremekamp (1948) ; Drejerella guttata (Brandegee) Bremekamp (1951).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des ACANTHACEAE et trouver d’autres espèces cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_B-29-10_Beloperone_guttata
_B-29-4_Beloperone_guttata
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Justicia brandegeeana

Family : Acanthaceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 81.1 kb
Indoor plant also for gardens in mild climates © Mazza

The Justicia brandegeeana Wassh. & L. B. Sm. 1969, as Justicia brandegeana ) is native to Mexico, Guatemala and Honduras.

The genus is dedicated to the Scottish botanist and horticulturist James Justice (1698-1763), the species to the American botanist Townshend Stith Brandegee (1843-1925).

Common names: “beloperone” (Italian); “false hop”, “Mexican shrimp-plant”, “shrimp-plant”, “shrimpbush” (English); “plante aux crevettes (French); “Zimmerhopfen” (German); “planta camaron”, “lupulo de interior” (Spanish); “camarao-vermelho”, “flor-de-camarao” (Portuguese).

Herbaceous or semi-woody shrub, evergreen, very ramified, which does not surpass, usually, the metre of height, it shows ovate leaves, slightly pubescent, long up to about 7 cm. The flowers are small, 2-3 cm long and of white colour, which come out inside a pendulous terminal spike, long lasting, formed by imbricate bracts, which, with the time, turn from green to dark red; the blooming goes on, continuously, from spring to autumn. The fruits are oblong capsules, of about 1,2 cm of length, containing ovoid seeds long about 3 mm.

Little exigent plant as for soil, it can be cultivated both in partial shade and in full sun, from tropical to temperate climates, where it acts as deciduous, as it can resist, for short time, to low temperatures up to -10 °C, with loss of the aerial part, but with fast recovery in spring. It is also cultivated in pot, in luminous position, for indoor decoration. It reproduces by seed, but, more frequently, by cutting.

Synonyms : Beloperone guttata Brandegee (1912); Calliaspidia guttata (Brandegee) Bremekamp (1948); Drejerella guttata (Brandegee) Bremekamp (1951).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family ACANTHACEAE and find other species please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_B-29-10_Beloperone_guttata
_B-29-4_Beloperone_guttata
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants