Lactarius volemus

GIF - 5.4 ko

 

Texte © Pierluigi Angeli

 

 

Traduction en français par Jean-Marie Epitalon

 

 

JPEG - 123.6 ko
Le Lactarius volemus est comestible, malgré son odeur de hareng, qui disparaît à la cuisson © Giuseppe Mazza

Famille : Russulaceae Lotsy 1907

Genre : Lactarius Pers., 1797

Sous-genre : Lactifluus (Burlingham) Hesler & A.H. Smith, 1979

Section : Lactifluus (Burlingham) Hesler & A.H. Smith, 1979

Lactarius volemus (Fries : Fries) Fries, 1838

L’étymologie du nom : le mot latin "volemus" signifie "qui remplit la paume de la main" à cause de son lait abondant.

La terminologie dialectale pour cette espèce est très pauvre, probablement parce que c’est un champignon peu récolté pour la consommation. Toutefois, il est connu sous le nom de : “lattario volemo”, “later panas”, “vacchetta” en Italie ; “vachotte”, “vache” en France ; “lleterola roja”, “esnato”, “lactario anaranjado” en Espagne ; “Brätling”, “Milchbrätling” en Allemagne ; “weeping milk cap”, “voluminous-latex milky” en Angleterre.

Pour la description du Genre, se reporter au texte Lactarius deliciosus.

Description du sous-genre et de la section

Au sous-genre Lactifluus sont attribuées des espèces de moyenne-grande à grande taille, avec cuticule sèche, veloutée, matte, avec des couleurs allant du blanc au rouge orangé ; latex blanc immuable ou au plus tournant au brun.

A la section Lactifluus appartiennent des espèces qui ont une taille moyennement grande, avec des couleurs orange rougeâtre (une seule espèce blanchâtre), le latex très abondant et brunissant, des lamelles pas très épaisses. Spores réticulées ou verruqueuses avec ornementations bien visibles.

Description de l’espèce

Chapeau  : 4-15 cm, charnu et ferme, d’abord convexe puis plan-convexe, finalement déprimé au centre, en forme de coupe, parfois en forme d’entonnoir, la marge initialement incurvée, puis infléchie, enfin parfois révolutée ; cuticule pas séparable, veloutée, irrégulièrement rugueuse, sèche, terne, craquelée sur la marge par temps sec ; de couleur fauve orange, jaune-brun, avec un centre plus sombre.

Hyménium  : lamelles adnées, décurrentes chez le champignon adulte, assez denses, alternant avec de nombreuses lamellules de longueur variable, bombées, parfois fourchues vers le pied ; de couleur jaune-ocre, se tachant de brun au toucher.

JPEG - 60.2 ko
Lactarius volemus : basides, cystides, cuticule et spores © Pierluigi Angeli

Pied  : 4-8 × 1,5-3 cm, habituellement cylindroïde, mais peut aussi être gonflé ou atténué à la base, ferme, dur, plein puis moelleux, pruineux, sec, ridé dans la partie supérieure comme si les rides étaient une extension des lamelles, de la même couleur que le chapeau, mais plus clair, se tache de brun sombre à la manipulation.

Chair  : ferme, compacte, dure même, épaisse au milieu du chapeau, plus mince au bord, blanc crème, brunissante dans le chapeau, et dans l’écorce du pied ; forte odeur de crustacés ou de hareng, saveur douce.

Latex  : très abondant, visqueux, blanc puis crème-sale, saveur douce et un peu astringente, odeur de crustacés.

Habitat  : pousse du début de l’été à l’automne, à la fois sous les feuillus, surtout châtaigniers et chênes, et sous les conifères, très commun.

Comestibilité  : mangeable mais rejeté en raison de l’odeur, qui est cependant beaucoup atténuée par la cuisson.

Réactions chimiques  : la chair avec le sulfate ferreux devient verdâtre, vert olive au début.

Microscopie  : spores globuleuses ou subglobuleuses, ornées de verrues amyloïdes, unies par des arêtes et formant un réseau alvéolé à connexions fines, 9-10 × 8-9 µm. Basides cylindriques à claviformes, à 2-4 stérigmates, 56-75 x 9-12 µm. Macrocystides nombreuses, fusiformes, en forme de poil, à paroi épaisse, 77,5-90 × 7,5-10 µm. Cuticule de type "palissade", formée de filaments fins, longs et tortueux, renflés à la base, qui émergent d’une sous-couche pseudoparenchimateuse ayant des éléments subcylindriques ou subglobuleux de différentes tailles.

Remarques  : c’est un champignon très facile à reconnaître à cause de ses caractéristiques essentielles : chapeau sec et velouté, la tige de la même couleur, mais plus pâle, le latex abondant, qui vire au brun foncé lorsqu’il est isolé, et une odeur caractéristique de hareng, et enfin la réaction de la chair verdâtre au contact du sulfate ferreux. Vous pourriez le confondre avec Lactarius rugatus Kühner & Romagnesi, qui à première vue pourrait être un sosie, mais il se distingue par la couleur du chapeau qui est fauve-orange vif, les lames qui sont plus espacées, sa croissance dans la région méditerranéenne sous Quercus, le manque de macrocystides, des spores allongées et la réaction rose de la chair avec le sulfate de fer.

Basionyme  : Agaricus volemus Fries 1821.

Synonymes  : Agaricus ichoratus Batsch 1783 ; Agaricus oedematopus Scopoli 1772 ; Agaricus lactifluus Schaeffer 1774 ; Agaricus volemus var. oedematopus (Scopoli) Fries 1838 ; Lactarius lactifluus (Schaeffer) Quélet 1886 ; Lactaria volema Schröter 1889 ; Lactarius volemus var. euvolemus Maire 1937.

 

→ Pour des informations générales sur les champignons voir ici.

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité des CHAMPIGNONS et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_L-187-10_Lactarius_volemus
_L-187-9_Lactarius_volemus
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Lactarius volemus

GIF - 5.4 kb

 

Text © Pierluigi Angeli

 

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 123.6 kb
Lactarius volemus is edible, in spite of herring odor lessening while cooking © Giuseppe Mazza

Family: Russulaceae Lotsy 1907

Genus: Lactarius Pers., 1797

Subgenus: Lactifluus (Burlingham) Hesler & A.H. Smith, 1979

Section : Lactifluus (Burlingham) Hesler & A.H. Smith, 1979

Lactarius volemus (Fries : Fries) Fries, 1838

The etymology of the name: the Latin term “volemus” means “pear filling the palm of the hand”.

For this species, the dialectal terminology is quite poor, probably because it is a fungus little picked up for the consumption. However, it is known with the following names: “lattario volemo”, “later panas”, “vacchetta” in Italy; “vachotte”, “vache” in France; “lleterola roja”, “esnato”, “lactario anaranjado” in Spain; “Brätling”, “Milch- brätling”, “Brot- or also Birnenmilchling” in Germany; “weeping milk cap”, “voluminous-latex milky” in England.

For the description of the Genus, please refer to Lactarius deliciosus.

Description of the Subgenus, Section and Subsection

To the Subgenus Lactifluus are ascribed medium-large or large sized species, with dry cuticle, velvety, opaque, with colours varying from the white to the reddish orange; immutable white latex or which, at the most, turning to the brown.

To the Section Lactifluus belong species having medium-large size, with reddish orange colours (only one whitish species), very abundant and imbrowning latex, not much thick gills. The spores are reticulate or warty with quite evident ornamentations.

Description of the species

Cap : 4-15 cm, fleshy and firm, initially convex, then flat-convex, finally depressed at the centre, cyathiform, at times even funnel-shaped, margin initially inrolled, then rolled, finally at times also revolute; cuticle not detachable, velvety, irregularly wrinkled, dry, opaque, cracked with dry weather towards the margin; colour yellow-fawn, yellow-reddish, with darker centre.

Hymenium : adnate gills, decurrent in the adult fungus, rather thick, intercalated by several lamellulae of various lengths, ventricose, at times forking towards the stem; of ocherous-yellow colour, discolour brown when touched.

JPEG - 60.2 kb
Lactarius volemus: basidia, cistydia, cuticle and spores © Pierluigi Angeli

Stem : 4-8 x 1,5-3 cm, normally cylindroid, but which may be also swollen or tapered at the base, firm, solid, full then stuffed, pruinose, dry, wrinkled in the upper part as if it were an extension of the gills, concolour to the cap, but paler, discolouring dark-brown when touched.

Flesh : firm, compact, even hard, thick at the centre of the cap, thinner by the margin, cream-white, staining slowly brown in the cap and in the bark of the stem; strong odour of crustaceans or herring, mild taste.

Latex : quite abundant, viscous, white then dirty-cream, mild taste and also little astringent, odour of crustaceans.

Habitat : grows from early summer to autumn, under latifoliate, especially chestnut and oak, as well as under conifers; much common.

Edibility : edible even if discarded due to the odour, which anyway lessens much by cooking.

Chemical reactions : ferrous sulphate greenish on flesh, immediate olive green.

Microscopy : globose or subglobose spores, ornated by amyloid warts, united by crests and forming an alveolate reticulum with thin connexions, 9 - 10 × 8 - 9 µm. Basidia from cylindrical to subclavate, with 2-4 sterigmata, 56-75 × 9-12 µm. Abundant macrocystidia, fusiform, bristle-shaped, with thick wall, 77,5-90 × 7,5-10 µm. Fence-like pileipellis formed of fine hairs, long and winding, enlarged at the base, which emerge from a subpellis of pseudoparenchymatic type with subcylindric or subglobose elements of various sizes.

Remarks : this is a fungus quite easy to recognize due to its determining characteristics: the dry and velvety cap, the stem of the same colour, but paler; the abundant milk, tending to dark brown even if isolated and with a typical odour of herring; and, finally, the reaction of the flesh to the greenish when in contact with the ferrous sulphate. It might be mistaken with Lactarius rugatus Kühner & Romagnesi, which, at first sight, could be a double, and differs for the colour of the cap which is fawn-bright orange, the more spaced gills, the growth in Mediterranean zone under Quercus, the absence of macrocystidia, the oblong spores and the reaction of the flesh to the pink with the ferrous sulphate.

Basionym : Agaricus volemus Fries 1821.

Synonyms : Agaricus ichoratus Batsch 1783; Agaricus oedematopus Scopoli 1772; Agaricus lactifluus Schaeffer 1774; Agaricus volemus var. oedematopus (Scopoli) Fries 1838; Lactarius lactifluus (Schaeffer) Quélet 1886; Lactaria volema Schröter 1889; Lactarius volemus var. euvolemus Maire 1937.

 

→ For general information about fungi please click here.

→ To appreciate the biodiversity of MUSHROOMS and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_L-187-10_Lactarius_volemus
_L-187-9_Lactarius_volemus
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants