Liparis caespitosa

Famille : Orchidaceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Serge Forestier

 

 

JPEG - 110.3 ko
Elle n’est pas très belle, mais Liparis caespitosa a colonisé une grande partie du monde tropical de l’Afrique orientale jusqu’à la l’Océanie, du niveau de la mer jusqu’à 1500 m d’altitude © G. Mazza

L’espèce est originaire d‘une vaste zone allant de l’Afrique orientale à l’Océanie : Tanzanie, Ouganda, Malawi, Mozambique, Madagascar, Réunion, Maurice, Inde, Sri Lanka, Himalaya, Birmanie, Thaïlande, Cambodge, Laos, Malaisie, Vietnam, Chine (Yunnan), Taiwan, Sumatra, Java, Bornéo, Sulawesi, Moluques, Philippines, Nouvelle-Guinée, Japon, Îles Salomon, Nouvelle-Calédonie, Vanuatu, Fidji et Samoa où elle pousse généralement sur les branches les plus basses des arbres des forêts humides sempervirentes, du niveau de la mer jusqu’à environ 1500 m d’altitude.

Le nom de genre dérive de l’adjectif grec “λιπαρός” (liparόs) = brillant, huileux, en référence aux feuilles brillantes de nombreuses espèces ; le nom spécifique est l’adjectif latin “caespitosus, a, um “ = touffe, en référence évidente.

Noms communs : clumping liparis (anglais) ; tai dê (vietnamien).

Liparis caespitosa (Thouars) Lindl. (1825) est une espèce épiphyte aux pseudobulbes ovales-piriformes rapprochés sur un rhizome rampant, longs de 1 à 2 cm, avec à l’apex une unique feuille oblongue-spatulée à l’apex pointu, de 4 à 15 cm de longueur et 0,6 à 1,8 cm de largeur, de couleur vert clair, brillante et coriace.

Inflorescence terminale racémeuse, dressée, longue de 10 à 22 cm, portant de 10 à 40 fleurs de couleur vert jaunâtre, d’environ 8 mm de diamètre, s’ouvrant en succession. Bractées florales linéaires à l’apex pointu, longues d’environ 8 mm, sépales oblongs-lancéolés, de 2 à 3 mm de longueur et 1 mm de largeur, pétales linéaires longs de 2 à 3 mm et larges de 0,5 mm, labelle oblong-rectangulaire recourbé, long de 2 à 3 mm et large de 1 à 2 mm, et colonne arquée longue de 1 à 2 mm.

On a constaté que les plantes vivant à des altitudes élevées et dans des zones particulièrement humides et pluvieuses présentaient généralement le phénomène de cléistogamie, avec des fleurs s’autopollinisant qui s’ouvrent pour peu de jours ou ne s’ouvrant pas du tout, tandis que celle poussant à basse altitude et sous des climats plus secs sont, au contraire, autoincompatibles et s’épanouissent normalement. Les fruits sont des capsules sub globuleuses longues de 6 à 8 mm.

La reproduction se fait par semis, in vitro, et par division, à partir de chaque section pourvue d’au moins 3 ou 4 pseudobulbes.

Espèce vigoureuse formant des touffes denses, elle nécessite une exposition ombragée et tolère de grands intervalles de température, de 5 °C à 36 °C, bien qu’elle préfère les températures moyennes, une humidité élevée, comprise entre 65 et 80 %, et une ventilation constante.

JPEG - 93.5 ko
Epiphyte vigoureuse. Inflorescence de 10-22 cm et fleurs microscopiques jaunâtres qui, dans un environnement hostile, peuvent même s’autoféconder © Giuseppe Mazza

Arrosages réguliers et abondants pendant la croissance, tout en laissant sécher légèrement le substrat avant d’arroser à nouveau, plus rares en hiver, mais sans laisser sécher complétement, en utilisant de l’eau de pluie, de l’eau déminéralisée ou osmosée. Elle est habituellement montée sur troncs, morceaux d’écorce ou radeaux de liège ou de racines de fougères arborescentes ; les éventuelles transplantations seront effectuées à la reprise végétative.

L’espèce est inscrite à l’annexe II de la CITES (espèces dont le commerce est réglementé au niveau international).

Synonymes : Epidendrum cespitosum Lam. (1783) ; Malaxis angustifolia Blume (1825) ; Liparis angustifolia (Blume) Lindl. (1830) ; Liparis auriculata Rchb. f. (1872) ; Liparis pusilla Ridl (1886) ; Leptorchis caespitosa (Thouars) Kuntze (1891) ; Liparis comosa Ridl. (1896) ; Cestichis caespitosa (Thouars) Ames (1908).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des ORCHIDACEAE et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

/l-257-1_liparis_caespitosa
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Liparis caespitosa

Family : Orchidaceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 110.3 kb
We canot certainly say that Liparia caespitosa is a beautiful plant, but she has colonized most of the tropical world from eastern Africa to Oceania, from the sea level up to around 1500 m of altitude © Giuseppe Mazza

The species is native to a vast area that goes from eastern Africa to Oceania: Tanzania, Uganda, Malawi, Mozambique, Madagascar, Réunion, Mauritius, India, Sri Lanka, Himalaya, Myanmar, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Vietnam, China (Yunnan), Taiwan, Sumatra, Java, Borneo, Sulawesi, Moluccas, Philippines, New Guinea, Japan, Solomon Islands, New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Fiji and Samoa where it grows usually on the lowest branches of the trees of the humid evergreen forests, from the sea level up to about 1500 m of altitude.

The name of the genus comes from the Greek adjective “λιπαρός” (liparόs) = glossy, oily, with reference to the glossy leaves of many species; the specific name is the Latin adjective “caespitosus, a, um “ = cespitose, with obvious reference.

Common names: clumping liparis (English); tai dê (Vietnamese).

The Liparis caespitosa (Thouars) Lindl. (1825) is an epiphytic species with close ovate-piriform pseudobulbs on a creeping rhizome, 1-2 cm long, with at the apex only one leaf oblong-spatulate with pointed apex, 4-15 cm long and 0,6-1,8 cm broad, of pale green colour and glossy, coriaceous.

Racemose terminal inflorescences, erect, 10-22 cm long, bearing 10-40 yellowish green flowers, of about 8 mm of diameter, that gradually open. Linear floral bracts with pointed apex, about 8 mm long, oblong-lanceolate sepals, 2-3 mm long and 1 mm broad, linear petals 2-3 mm long and 0,5 mm broad, oblong-rectangular curved labellum, 2-3 mm long and 1-2 mm broad, and arcuate 1-2 mm long column.

It has been noted that the plants living at high altitudes and in particularly humid and rainy areas usually present the phenomenon of the cleistogamy, with self-pollinating flowers that open for few days or do not open at all, those at low altitudes and in drier climates are, on the contrary, self-incompatible and open regularly. The fruits are subglobose 6-8 mm long capsules.

It reproduces by seed, in vitro, and by division, with each section provided of at least 3-4 pseudobulbs.

Vigourous species forming dense tufts, requires a shady position and tolerates an ample range of temperatures, from 5 °C to 36 °C, even if are to be preferred intermediate temperatures, high humidity, 65-80%, and constant ventilation.

JPEG - 93.5 kb
Vigourous epiphyte, bears relatively low temperatures with 10-22 cm inflorescences and microscopic flowers that in harsh environments can also self-fecundate © Giuseppe Mazza

Regular and abundant waterings during the growth, but allowing the substratum to slightly dry up before giving water again, more spaced in winter, but without ever letting it completely dry, utilizing rain water, demineralized or by reverse osmosis. It is usually mounted on trunks, pieces of bark or rafts of cork or of roots of arborescent ferns; eventual transplants are to be done at the vegetative restart.

The species is reported in the appendix II of CITES (species whose trade is internationally ruled).

Synonhyms: Epidendrum cespitosum Lam. (1783); Malaxis angustifolia Blume (1825); Liparis angustifolia (Blume) Lindl. (1830); Liparis auriculata Rchb. f. (1872); Liparis pusilla Ridl (1886); Leptorchis caespitosa (Thouars) Kuntze (1891); Liparis comosa Ridl. (1896); Cestichis caespitosa (Thouars) Ames (1908).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family ORCHIDACEAE and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

/l-257-1_liparis_caespitosa
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants