Lytocaryum weddellianum

Famille : Arecaceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Claude Leray

 

 

JPEG - 80.2 ko
C’est un palmier pour l’intérieur qui peut atteindre 5 m de haut dans la nature © Giuseppe Mazza

Lytocaryum weddellianum (H. Wendl.) Toledo (1944) est originaire du sud-est du Brésil où il vit dans le sous bois des forêts humides à basse et moyenne altitude.

Le nom de genre est la combinaison des mots grecs « lyton » = partiel, divisé et « karyon » = semence, graine, en référence à la propriété de l’exocarpe et du mésocarpe de se diviser et de s’ouvrir à maturité ; le nom d’espèce a été donné en l’honneur du botaniste anglais Hugh Algernon Weddell (1819-1877).

Cette espèce est localement appelée "agué", "ica", "palmeirinha-de petropolis", ailleurs : "palmade Weddel", "wedding palm", "Victorian parlor palm" (anglais) ; "cocotier miniature" (français) ; "Miniatur Kokosnusspalme", "Zimmer-Kokosplame" (allemand) ; "palmerita de Petropolis" (espagnol).

C’est une plante à tronc (stipe) isolé, haut jusqu’à 5 mètres avec un diamètre de 8-10 cm, enveloppé dans la partie la plus récente par des fibres et par les restes des pétioles des feuilles tombées. Les feuilles sont pennées, légères, d’environ 1 mètre, avec des folioles régulièrement insérés sur le rachis dans un seul plan, de couleur vert foncé sur le côté supérieur, gris sur l’inférieur, long dans la partie médiane d’environ 15 cm et large jusqu’à 12 mm. Le pétiole et le rachis sont recouverts d’un duvet gris-brun.

Les inflorescences interfoliaires portent des fleurs des deux sexes ; les fruits sont ellipsoïdaux, de 2 cm de long, de couleur marron lorsqu’ils sont mûrs. C’est une plante très ornementale due à l’élégance et à la beauté délicate de son feuillage, elle est adaptée aux climats tropicaux et subtropicaux humides en situation ombragée ; sa culture peut être tentée dans des zones à climat tempéré chaud, en évitant les sols lourds et alcalins, en situation abritée, ombragée et humide, car elle résiste pendant très peu de temps à des températures autour de -2 à -3 °C. À partir de la fin du XIXe siècle, elle a été cultivée en pot pour la décoration des espaces intérieurs.

Synonymes : Cocos weddelliana H.Wendl. (1871) ; Syagrus weddelliana (H.Wendl.) Becc. (1916) ; Microcoelum weddellianum (H.Wendl.) H.E.Moore (1963) ; Glaziova elegantissima H.Wendl. (1871) ; Cocos insignis Mart. ex H.Wendl. in O.C.E.de Kerchove de Denterghem, (1878) ; Glaziova insignis Drude in C.F.P.von Martius & auct. suc. (eds.) (1881) ; Glaziova martiana Glaz. ex Drude in C.F.P.von Martius & auct. suc. (eds.) (1881) ; Calappa elegantina Kuntze (1891) ; Calappa insignis (Drude) Kuntze (1891) ; Cocos pynaertii auct. (1891) ; Cocos weddelliana var. pinaertii G.Nicholson & Mottet, (1899) ; Syagrus insignis (Drude) Becc. (1916) ; Syagrus weddelliana var. cinereus Becc. (1916) ; Syagrus weddelliana var. pinaertii Becc. (1916) ; Lytocaryum insigne (Drude) Toledo (1944) ; Lytocaryum weddellianum var. cinereum (Becc.) A.D.Hawkes (1952) ; Lytocaryum weddellianum var. pinaertii (G.Nicholson & Mottet) A.D.Hawkes (1952) ; Microcoelum insigne (Drude) Burret & Potztal (1956) ; Microcoelum martianum (Glaz. ex Drude) Burret & Potztal (1956).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des ARECACEAE et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_S-80-6_Lytocaryum_weddellianum
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Lytocaryum weddellianum

Family : Arecaceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 80.2 kb
A typical indoor palm which can be 5 m tall in the wild © Giuseppe Mazza

The Lytocaryum weddellianum (H. Wendl.) Toledo (1944) is native to south-eastern Brazil where lives in the underwood of the humid forests at low and medium altitudes.

The name of the genus is the combination of the Greek words “lyton” = parted, divided, and “karyon” = seed, with reference to the characteristic of exocarp and mesocarp to dissect and open when ripe; the name of the species is honoured to the English botanist Hugh Algernon Weddell (1819-1877).

It is locally called “agué”, “ica”, “palmeirinha-de petropolis”, elsewhere: “Weddel palm”, “wedding palm”, “Victorian parlor palm” (English); “cocotier miniature” (French); “Miniatur Kokosnusspalme”, “Zimmer-Kokosplame” (German); “palmerita de Petropolis” (Spanish).

Solitary trunked plant, tall up to 5 metres with a diameter of 8-10 cm, wrapped in the younger part by fibres and by the remains of the petioles of the fallen-off leaves. The leaves are pinnate, light, long about 1 metre, with leaflets regularly inserted on the rachis in a plane, of dark green colour on the upper side, grey on the inferior one, long in the median part about 15 cm and wide up to 12 mm. The petiole and the rachis are covered by a brown-grey hair.

The interfoliar inflorescences carry flowers of both sexes; the fruits are ellipsoidal, 2 cm long, of brown colour when ripe.

Very ornamental palm due to the elegance and the delicate beauty of its foliage, is suitable for humid tropical and subtropical climates in shady location; the cultivation in areas with warm temperate climate can be tried, avoiding heavy and alkaline soils, in sheltered position, shady and humid, as it resists, for a very short time, to temperatures around the -2, -3 °C. From the end of the nineteenth century it is cultivated in pot for the decoration of indoor spaces.

Synonyms : Cocos weddelliana H.Wendl. (1871); Syagrus weddelliana (H.Wendl.) Becc. (1916); Microcoelum weddellianum (H.Wendl.) H.E.Moore (1963); Glaziova elegantissima H.Wendl. (1871); Cocos insignis Mart. ex H.Wendl. in O.C.E.de Kerchove de Denterghem, (1878); Glaziova insignis Drude in C.F.P.von Martius & auct. suc. (eds.) (1881); Glaziova martiana Glaz. ex Drude in C.F.P.von Martius & auct. suc. (eds.) (1881); Calappa elegantina Kuntze (1891); Calappa insignis (Drude) Kuntze (1891); Cocos pynaertii auct. (1891); Cocos weddelliana var. pinaertii G.Nicholson & Mottet, (1899); Syagrus insignis (Drude) Becc. (1916); Syagrus weddelliana var. cinereus Becc. (1916); Syagrus weddelliana var. pinaertii Becc. (1916); Lytocaryum insigne (Drude) Toledo (1944); Lytocaryum weddellianum var. cinereum (Becc.) A.D.Hawkes (1952); Lytocaryum weddellianum var. pinaertii (G.Nicholson & Mottet) A.D.Hawkes (1952); Microcoelum insigne (Drude) Burret & Potztal (1956); Microcoelum martianum (Glaz. ex Drude) Burret & Potztal (1956).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family ARECACEAE and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_S-80-6_Lytocaryum_weddellianum
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants