Myrtus communis

Famille : Myrtaceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

GIF - 5.6 ko

 

Traduction en français du Dr Errol Véla - Université Montpellier-2

 

 

JPEG - 90 ko
Le Myrtus communis a des fleurs de 2-3 cm avec de longues étamines © G. Mazza

L’espèce est originaire de l’Afrique (Algérie, Erythrée, Etiopie, Iles des Açores, Iles Canaries, Ile de Madère, Libye, Maroc et Tunisie), Asie (Afghanistan, Chypre, Iran, Iraq, Israël, Jordanie, Liban, Pakistan, Syrie et Turquie) et Europe (Albania, Bosnia-Herzégovine, Croatie, Espagne, France, Grèce, Italie, Macédoine, Malte, Monténégro, Portugal, Serbie et Slovénie), où elle croît préférentiellement au bord des bois et dans les maquis le long des côtes.

Le nom du genre dérive du grec “myrtos” du myrte commun ; le nom spécifique est le terme latin “communis” = commun.

Noms communs : bridal myrtle, myrtle (anglais) ; myrte, myrte commun (français) ; myrtos (grec) ; mirto, mortella (italien) ; mirta, murta, murteira (portugais) ; arrayán, mirta, mirto, mortera, murta, murtera (espagnol) ; brautmyrte, myrte (allemand) ; rihan, mersin (arabe) ; tarihant, chilmoun (berbère) ; morta, mortula (corse) ; nertha, nerthe, nerto (occitan).

Le Myrtus communis L. (1753) est un arbuste ou petit arbre sempervirent très variable, ramifié, haut jusqu’environ 3 m, mais des exemplaires dans la nature peuvent atteindre 5 m, avec des rameaux ascendants écorce rougeâtre qui tend au gris avec le temps et feuillage épais.

Les feuilles sont simples, entières, opposées, généralement sessiles (privées de pétiole), ovale-lancéolées pointues à l’apex, longues de 2,6-5 cm, coriaces, de couleur vert intense luisant en dessus, vert clair opaque en dessous, ponctuées superficiellement de glandes huileuses, visibles par transparence, qui les rendent particulièrement aromatiques quand on les froisse.

Les fleurs, en été, sur un long pédoncule, sont axillaires, solitaires, hermaphrodites, de 2-3 cm, odorantes, avec 5 sépales triangulaires longs de 1-2 mm, 5 pétales obovales longs de 6-15 mm, blancs ou rosés, et de nombreuses étamines blanches un peu plus longues que les pétales.

Les fruits sont des baies charnues ellipsoïdes de 1,2-1,4 cm de longueur et environ 0,7 cm de diamètre, de couleur bleue-pourpre noirâtre à maturité, contenant des graines réniformes de couleur blanchâtre longues de 2,5-3 mm ; il existe aussi une variété à fruits blancs. Il se reproduit par graines, marcottage aérien et bouture semi-ligneuse en été.

Espèce a croissance plutôt lente, typique de la région méditerranéenne, est cultivable en plein soleil ou légère ombre sur des sols de nature variée, aussi de préférence ceux plutôt sableux, neutres ou alcalins, bien drainés ; supporte la salinité, les températures élevées et, bien enraciné, les périodes de sécheresse.

Il est relativement résistant aux basses températures, résistant jusqu’à environ -6 °C et, si bien protégé, jusqu’à-9 °C, mais avec dommages du feuillage.

JPEG - 153.8 ko
Les baies sont comestibles et les feuilles, aromatiques, sont utilisées en cuisine. Propriétés médicinales © G. Mazza

D’effet ornemental considérable, pour le feuillage luisant et la floraison, il est particulièrement adapté pour des bordures mixtes, des haies formelles et informelles, étant facilement façonné par la taille, sous diverses formes, et donc également adapté pour l’art topiaire ; les variétés à port nain et compact peuvent être utilisées comme couvre-sol et bordures basses à la place des buis ( Buxus sempervirens ), auquel il ressemble, mais avec l’avantage d’une croissance relativement plus rapide. Cultivable aussi en pot, pour la décoration des terrasses et des patios, dans un terrain sablonneux riche en matière organique, avec un arrosage régulier en été, surtout par temps chaud.

Les baies sont comestibles et en Sardaigne, où la plante est particulièrement diffuse à l’état spontané, sont employées pour préparer une liqueur célèbre, "Mirto" ; les feuilles, fraiches comme desséchées, sont utilisées comme épice dans la cuisine méditerranéenne et le bois pour aromatiser, par enfumage, beaucoup de spécialités locales, en particulier en Italie.

Le bois, de bonne qualité, dur, compact et à grain fin, est utilisé pour des ustensiles, bâtons et meubles, est aussi excellent bois de chauffe.

Feuilles et baies sont employées dans la médecine traditionnelle pour les propriétés antioxydantes, astringentes, antiseptiques et expecrtorantes, contenant des tanins (14%) et de l’huile essentielle (0,3-0,6%), constituée principalement de myrténol, cinéol, alpha-pinène, acétate de myrténil et géraniol. L’huile essentielle extraite des feuilles est aussi utilisée dans l’industrie alimentaire, pour aromatiser sauces et boissons, dans les produits pharmaceutiques et cosmétiques.

Le myrte a joué un rôle important dans la culture et les traditions des pays méditerranéens, en particulier la Grèce et l’Italie.

Deux sous-espèces sont reconnues : Myrtus communis subsp. communis, décrite ci-dessus, et Myrtus communis subsp. tarentina (L.) Nyman (1879), qui se différencie par la hauteur limitée, inférieure à 2 m, les feuilles des gros plans d’une longueur ne dépassant pas 2 cm et les fruits globuleux, particulièrement approprié pour les haies basses, comme couvre-sol et l’art topiaire.

Synonymes ( Myrtus communis subsp. communis ) : Myrtus major Garsault (1764) ; Myrtus minor Garsault (1764) ; Myrtus acuta Mill. (1768) ; Myrtus baetica (L.) Mill. (1768) ; Myrtus belgica (L.) Mill. (1768) ; Myrtus italica Mill. (1768) ; Myrtus minima Mill. (1768) ; Myrtus littoralis Salisb. (1796) ; Myrtus macrophylla J.St.-Hil. (1803) ; Myrtus microphylla J.St.-Hil. (1803) ; Myrtus romanifolia J.St.-Hil. (1803) ; Myrtus romana (L.) Hoffmanns. (1824) ; Myrtus buxifolia Raf. (1838) ; Myrtus lanceolata Raf. (1838) ; Myrtus latifolia Raf. (1838) ; Myrtus borbonis Sennen (1923) ; Myrtus media Hoffmanns. (1824) ; Myrtus angustifolia Raf. (1838) ; Myrtus oerstedeana O.Berg (1856) ; Myrtus sparsifolia O.Berg (1856) ; Myrtus veneris Bubani (1899) ; Myrtus acutifolia (L.) Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus augustinii Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus baui Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus briquetii (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus christinae (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus eusebii (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus gervasii (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus josephi Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus mirifolia Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus petri-ludovici (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus rodesi Sennen & Teodoro (1929) ; Myrtus theodori Sennen (1929) ; Myrtus vidalii (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929).

Synonymes ( Myrtus communis subsp. tarentina ) : Myrtus communis var. tarentina L. (1753) ; Myrtus tarentina (L.) Mill. (1768).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des MYRTACEAE cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_M-69-10_Myrtus_communis
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Myrtus communis

Family : Myrtaceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 90 kb
Myrtus communis has 2-3 cm perfumed flowers with long white stamina © G. Mazza

This species is native to Africa (Acores Islands, Algeria, Canary Islands, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Libya, Madeira, Morocco and Tunisia), Asia (Afghanistan, Cyprus, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Pakistan, Syria and Turkey) and Europe (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, France, Greece, Italy, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia and Spain), where it mainly grows at the edges of the woods and in the thickets along the coasts.

The name of the genus comes from the Greek one “myrtos” of the common myrtle; the name of the species is the Latin term “communis” = common.

Common names: bridal myrtle, myrtle (English); myrte, myrte commun (French); myrtos (Greek); mirto, mortella (Italian); mirta, murta, murteira (Portuguese); arrayán, mirta, mirto, mortera, murta, murtera (Spanish); Brautmyrte, Myrte (German); rihan, mersin (Arabic); tarihant, chilmoun (Berber); morta, mortula (Corsican); nertha, nerthe, nerto (Occitan).

The Myrtus communis L. (1753) is a shrub or a small evergreen tree quite variable, ramified, tall up to about 3 m, even if specimens in the wild may reach the 5 m, with ascending branches with a reddish bark, which, with the time, tends to the grey and the thick foliage.

The leaves are simple, entire, opposite, usually sessile (without petiole), ovate-lanceolate with sharp apex, 2,5-5 cm long, coriaceous, of intense glossy green colour on the upper page, opaque pale green below, superficially speckled by oleiferous glands, visible in transparency, which render them particularly aromatic when crumpled.

In summer, the flowers, on a short peduncle, are axillary, solitary, hermaphrodite, of 2-3 cm of diameter, fragrant, with 5 triangular sepals, 1-2 mm long, 5 obovate petals, 6-15 mm long, white or pinkish, and numerous white stamina little longer than the petals.

The fruits are fleshy, ellipsoid berries, 1,2-1,4 cm long and of about 0,7 cm of diameter, of blackish blue-purple when ripe, containing whitish reniform seeds, 2,5-3 mm long; there is also a variety with white fruits. It reproduces by seed, air layering and semi-woody cutting in summer.

Rather slow-growing species, typical of the Mediterranean area, it is cultivable in full sun or slight shade on soils of various nature, even if preferring those rather sandy, neutral or alkaline, well drained; it bears the saltiness, the high temperatures, and, well rooted, periods of drought.

It is fairly resistant to the low temperatures, as it may resist up to about -6 °C and, if well sheltered, to -9 °C, but with damage to the foliage.

JPEG - 153.8 kb
The berries are edible and the aromatic leaves are used in cooking. Medical properties © Giuseppe Mazza

Of remarkable ornamental effect, due to the glossy foliage and the flowering, it is particularly suitable for mixed borders, informal and formal fences, as it may be easily shaped in various forms by prunings, and for this reason suitable also for the topiary art: the dwarf and compact varieties can be used as soil cover and low edges in lieu of the Common Box ( Buxus sempervirens ), to which it resembles, but with the advantage of having a somewhat faster growth. It is cultivable also in pot, for the decoration of terraces and patios, n sandy soil, rich of organic substance, with regular waterings in summer, especially during the warmest periods.

The berries are edible and in Sardinia, where the plant is particularly common in the wild, they are employed for preparing the famous liqueur, the “Mirto”; the leaves, fresh as well as dried, are utilized in the Mediterranean cuisine and the wood for aromatizing, by means of smoking, many local specialities, in particular in Italy.

The wood, of good quality, hard, compact and fine-grained, is utilized for tools, sticks and furniture; it is also excellent as firewood.

Leaves and berries are employed in the traditional medicine for their antioxidant, astringent, antiseptic and expectorant properties; they contain tannins (14%) and essential oil (0,3-06%), formed mainly by myrtenol, cineol, alpha-Pinene, mirtenil acetate, and geraniol. The essential oil extracted from the leaves is also utilized in the food industry, for aromatizing sauces and drinks, and in the pharmaceutical and cosmetic ones too.

The myrtle has had an important role in the culture and traditions of the countries of the Mediterranean area, in particular, Greece and Italy.

Two subspecies are recognized: Myrtus communis subsp. communis, described before, and Myrtus communis subsp. tarentina (L.) Nyman (1879), which differs for the contained height, less than 2 m, the close leaves not longer than 2 cm and the globose fruits, particularly suitable for low borders, as soil cover and in the topiary art.

Synonyms ( Myrtus communis subsp. communis ): Myrtus major Garsault (1764); Myrtus minor Garsault (1764); Myrtus acuta Mill. (1768); Myrtus baetica (L.) Mill. (1768); Myrtus belgica (L.) Mill. (1768); Myrtus italica Mill. (1768); Myrtus minima Mill. (1768); Myrtus littoralis Salisb. (1796); Myrtus macrophylla J.St.-Hil. (1803); Myrtus microphylla J.St.-Hil. (1803); Myrtus romanifolia J.St.-Hil. (1803); Myrtus romana (L.) Hoffmanns. (1824); Myrtus buxifolia Raf. (1838); Myrtus lanceolata Raf. (1838); Myrtus latifolia Raf. (1838); Myrtus borbonis Sennen (1923); Myrtus media Hoffmanns. (1824); Myrtus angustifolia Raf. (1838); Myrtus oerstedeana O.Berg (1856); Myrtus sparsifolia O.Berg (1856); Myrtus veneris Bubani (1899); Myrtus acutifolia (L.) Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus augustinii Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus baui Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus briquetii (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus christinae (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus eusebii (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus gervasii (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus josephi Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus mirifolia Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus petri-ludovici (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus rodesi Sennen & Teodoro (1929); Myrtus theodori Sennen (1929); Myrtus vidalii (Sennen & Teodoro) Sennen & Teodoro (1929).

Synonyms ( Myrtus communis subsp. tarentina ): Myrtus communis var. tarentina L. (1753); Myrtus tarentina (L.) Mill. (1768).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within MYRTACEAE family please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_M-69-10_Myrtus_communis
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants