Picea abies

Famille : Pinaceae

 

GIF - 6.2 ko

 

Texte © Eugenio Zanotti

 

 

Traduction en français par Jean-Marc Reboul

 

 

JPEG - 265.1 ko
L’épicéa ou sapin rouge (Picea abies) peut vivre 500 ans et atteindre 50 m © G. Mazza

Le genre Picea comprend, selon divers auteurs, de 35 à 40 espèces d’arbres, toutes spécifiques à l’hémisphère nord.

Certaines d’entre elles occupent un large espace nordique, comme Picea abies en Europe (avec Picea omorika propre à la région balkanique) ou en Asie (avec Picea orientalis du Caucase et de l’Asie et Picea asperata en Chine) et comme Picea pungens, Picea mariana, Picea sitchensis, Picea breweriana, Picea glauca (ou Picea canadensis ) dans l’Amérique du Nord ; d’autres espèces ont une distribution plus méridionale, plus fragmentée et limitée aux reliefs élevés.

Les espèces du genre Picea sont de grands arbres monoïques aux fleurs mâles et femelles sur des cônes différents. Les cônes mâles, sont petits, rouges ou jaunes ; les cônes femelles, au port supérieur aux mâles, sont d’abord dressés puis pendent après la fécondation. Ces strobiles sessiles auront besoin de plus d’une année pour mûrir puis tomberont entiers après la dispersion des graines.

Ce genre à été divisé en trois sections : les deux premières réunissent les espèces aux feuilles aciculaires à section quadrangulaire avec des lignes stomatiques sur quatre faces : la section Abies (comprenant Picea abies, Picea orientalis et quelques autres) et la section Casicta avec des espèces variées, surtout américaines, comme Picea sitchensis. Les entités de la section Omorika se distinguent au contraire par des feuilles aciculaires plates (comme celles du sapin blanc), avec deux lignes stomatiques le long de la face inférieure.

Le nom du genre dérive du terme latin “pix”, poix ou résine ; pour d’autres, le mot ”picea” se réfère à un sapin mal identifié ; le nom spécifique “àbies, abietis”, est un mot latin classique (Virgile, ‘Églogue’), dérivé selon certains auteurs de la racine sanskrite “abh” jaillir (pour la résine), ou, pour d’autres, du grec “abios”, “depuis longtemps”, peut-être pour la longévité ou la présence de son bois sur le territoire.

Le sapin rouge ou épicéa ( Picea abies (L.) H. Karsten 1881) ainsi dénommé pour la couleur de son écorce, est aussi noté comme pesse ou épinette. C’est un conifère arborescent sempervirent de haute taille mesurant généralement 25 à 35 mètres mais qui, dans des conditions optimales, peut atteindre 50 à 60 mètres de haut avec une circonférence du tronc de 2 mètres (exceptionnellement jusqu’à 4,8 mètres, soit 1,50 m de diamètre). D’une grande longévité, il peut vivre jusqu’à 400-500 ans, mais on rencontre dans la littérature des exemplaires encore plus vieux !

Le fût est élancé et sur une longue portion quasi parfaitement cylindrique, avec un houppier vert foncé, allant du rigoureusement triangulaire vers une forme plus ou moins ogivale. Le port des branches peut être ascendant (partie supérieure du fût), droit (partie médiane), ou bien pendant (partie inférieure).

Le système racinaire est plutôt superficiel, cause de souffrance à cette espèce en cas de sécheresse ; ceci devrait inciter à ne pas employer cet arbre, d’autant moins isolé, dans les zones urbaines comme on le voit malheureusement souvent (avec d’autres conifères de milieu montagnard) dans les jardins de villes de plaine, où en outre il est souvent sujet à de drastiques interventions d’élagage (qu’il ne tolère pas du tout…).

L’écorce est rougeâtre chez les jeunes plants et par la suite devient gris brun, se desquamant par plaques irrégulières ou arrondies, de 5 mm d’épaisseur, très riche en résine ; elle est brun rougeâtre sur les branches de 1 cm de diamètre, avec des écailles longitudinales de 1 x 3 mm ; les rameaux de l’année sont presque glabres, vert clair puis roussâtres. Les feuilles aciculaires (aiguilles) sont persistantes 8 à 10 ans, à section plus ou moins imperceptiblement tétragonale-rhomboïdale, avec quatre lignes stomatiques peu visibles (une par face), faiblement piquantes, souvent incurvées, de 1 (2) x 8-12 (-25) mm, disposées tout autour des rameaux et insérées sur un petit “coussinet” en relief.

JPEG - 199.5 ko
Écorce rouge et bois léger utilisé dans la fabrication d’instruments de musique et l’industrie papetière © Giuseppe Mazza

Les strobiles (cônes) sont pendants à maturité, subcylindriques, pointus à l’extrémité et souvent un peu courbes, de 3-4 x 8-15 cm ; ils peuvent être de couleur vert jaunâtre ( variété chlorocarpa ) ou rougeâtre ( variété erythrocarpa ) ; ils sont portés dans le tiers supérieur du feuillage et à l’extrémité des rameaux de l’année précédente.

La fécondation s’effectue, selon l’altitude et le climat, d’avril à juin. Les graines (chaque écaille en abrite deux) sont brunes, longues de (2) 3-5 (4) mm, avec une face beaucoup plus convexe que l’autre, entourées d’une aile semi-transparente, de 16 mm de long au plus, brillante et légère.

Traditionnellement en beaucoup de pays, le sapin rouge est l’arbre classique de Noël, comme décoration pour la fête tant appréciée ; beaucoup de pépiniéristes en cultivent des exemplaires en vase ou en terre pour cet usage.

Le bois, appelé (en Italie) “bois de Moscovie”, blanchâtre ou jaunâtre avec une tendance à brunir vers le rougeâtre avec l’âge, sans duramen apparent, présente des cernes réguliers et des canaux résinifères bien visibles ; il a une faible odeur de résine ; avec une texture moyenne et des fibres droites, il est plutôt léger (masse vol. 450 kg/m3), tendre et légèrement brillant. Il est largement employé, en plus d’être un excellent combustible avec un haut pouvoir calorifique, pour les ouvrages courants de menuiserie, les bâtis de meubles, les lambrissages, les huisseries et les emballages. Après séchage, stabilisation et traitement, sa résistance aux attaques d’insectes et de champignons ainsi que sa bonne tenue sont fort estimées. On l’apprécie aussi dans l’industrie papetière de même que dans la fabrication d’instruments de musique, grâce à ses excellentes propriétés acoustiques, notamment pour les caisses de résonance des guitares, mandolines, violons, clavecins, pianos, etc. Renommés sont les “épicéas de résonance” du Val de Fiemme, de la forêt de Paneveggio, dans le Trentin et celui du Val Canale et du Tarvisiano dans la province d’Udine, des bois de Croatie, etc., prisés et utilisés depuis des siècles et toujours employés dans le même but par les fameux facteurs de pianos de concert comme Bechstein, Blüthner et Fazioli.

JPEG - 129.1 ko
Il se distingue facilement du sapin blanc (Abies alba) de par ses cônes pendants © Giuseppe Mazza

De par sa particulière facilité de fendage, il était très utilisé pour faire des caissettes (fromages), bardeaux et volets pour les fenêtres, etc. Une curiosité : le premier avion des frères Wright fut construit avec le bois de cet arbre. Moyennement héliophile et mésophile, le sapin rouge a une prédilection pour les climats continentaux, supportant les basses températures (jusqu’à -36 °C !) ; il est le composant principal de la forêt subalpine de résineux, agent très important de la sylviculture alpine, amplement cultivé et répandu par l’homme même parmi les aires naturellement favorables au hêtre, en Europe centrale et septentrionale, jusqu’aux hauts plateaux.

La pessière, ou le "Piceetum subalpinum" (Taïga) se forme sur un sol podzolique acide, de la plaine jusqu’à 2200 m d’altitude. Avec la sous-espèce obovata (récemment élevée au rang d’espèce nouvelle : Picea obovata Ledeb (2005), qui peuple les forêts sibériennes), c’est l’espèce ligneuse la plus importante au monde par l’étendue de son territoire et la densité de ses peuplements, en ce qui concerne l’utilisation du bois. Son aire comprend toute la Sibérie jusqu’au Pacifique, les plaines de la Pologne, de la Russie, les plaines et collines des pays scandinaves, les montagnes de l’Europe et celles des Alpes, sur lesquelles il s’installe entre 800 et 2200 mètres d’altitude. En Europe centrale il reboise fréquemment des millions d’hectares de collines et plaines originairement occupées par les chênaies. Jusqu’à il y a quelques décennies les exploitations forestières étaient cycliques, avec des tailles rases sur de vastes superficies qui, en se reconstituant, formaient des peuplements tous du même âge et uniformes ; actuellement on privilégie une exploitation étalée dans le temps, portant sur des individus d’âge différent, écologiquement plus équilibrée.

JPEG - 90.5 ko
Les feuilles sont aciculaires à section quadrangulaire avec des lignes stomatiques sur les quatre faces © Giuseppe Mazza

D’un point de vue phytosociologique les pessières sont généralement placées dans l’unité Vaccinio-Piceetea ; qui forme une large ceinture à l’étage subalpin.

En raison de l’acidification du sol et de la maigre présence de lumière, le sous-bois plutôt pauvre, est souvent dominé par des plantes d’humus acide comme la myrtille (Vaccinium myrtillus) et l’airelle rouge ( Vaccinium vitis-idaea ), accompagnées de Oxalis acetosella, Maian- themum bifolium, Solidago virgaurea, Homogyne alpina, Hieracium sylvaticum, Calamagrostis villosa, des fougères Athyrium filix-foemina, Dryopteris filix-mas, Cystopteris fragilis, de lycopodes et de mousses.

La pessière subalpine est marquée par la disparition de la plupart des feuillus. Subsistent cependant le sorbier des oiseleurs Sorbus aucuparia, les chèvrefeuilles comme Lonicera nigra, l’érable sycomore ( Acer pseudopla- tanus ), le bouleau pubescent ( Betula pubescens ).

Jusqu’à vers 1500 m d’altitude, l’épicéa est parfois mêlé avec le sapin blanc ( Abies alba ). Dans les lieux plus ouverts et lumineux, aux confins supérieurs, le mélèze ( Larix decidua ) et le pin cembro ou arole ( Pinus cembra ) prennent le relais, avec souvent les buissons de Rhododendron ferrugineux ( Rhododendron ferrugineum ), genévrier (Juniperus communis) et rosier des Alpes ( Rosa pendulina ).

Nombreuses sont les espèces de champignons de la pessière, les plus célèbres étant les bolets (Boletus edulis et Boletus pinophilus), qui vivent en symbiose avec l’épicéa, de même que le lactaire à fossettes ( Lactarius scrobiculatus ).

L’avifaune est également riche et spécialisée : retenons ici le bec-croisé des sapins( Loxia curvirostra ) avec ses mandibules se croisant à l’extrémité du bec, adaptation qui lui permet d’extraire facilement les graines des cônes. Le tarin des aulnes ( Carduelis spinus ) , pendant la saison de reproduction, se nourrit aussi de ses graines qu’il extrait, avec son bec pointu, des cônes demi ouverts.

JPEG - 121.6 ko
Jeunes cônes femelles, dans le tiers supérieur, à l’extrémité des rameaux de l’année précédente © G. Mazza

La mésange noire ( Parus ater ), la mésange huppée ( Parus cristatus ), la mésange boréale ( Parus montanus ) et la mésange nonnette ( Parus palu- stris ), le grimpereau des bois ( Certhia familiaris ), tous les pics, le roitelet huppé ( Regulus regulus ) sont de formidables chasseurs d’insectes.

Passons sur les petits et grands mammi- fères pour mentionner les précieuses fourmis rousses des bois ( Formica rufa ) qui édifient de grands nids en dômes avec les aiguilles ; cette espèce est protégée dans certains pays d’Europe en raison de leur rôle dans la lutte contre la prolifération des insectes nuisibles pour les conifères.

Outre la diffusion naturelle ou artificielle par les graines, l’épicéa peut se propager aussi par marcottage quand les branches les plus basses sont en contact prolongé avec le sol et qu’ils émettent des racines ; ceci se produit avec une certaine fréquence en haute montagne, où le poids de la neige contraint les branches à se courber jusqu’à terre, comme s’il fallait aider – en cas de pénurie de production de semences par les conditions limites – les exemplaires plus “hardis” à s’entourer d’une descendance vigoureuse.

Malheureusement, les épreuves qui affectent les pessières sont nombreuses, qu’elles soient causées par des insectes comme les scolytes ( Ips typographus, Cryphalus piceae ), les charançons du genre Pissodes , les hyménoptères ( Cephalcia arvensis ), les lépidoptères ( Epinotia tedella ), les pucerons, etc., ou par des champignons cariogènes comme l’ Heterobasidion annosum .

JPEG - 150.4 ko
Les cônes, subcylindriques, pointus à l’extrémité, peuvent atteindre 15 cm. Verdâtre ou roussâtres, ils deviennent bruns à maturité, avant de tomber au sol, les écailles soulevées pour libérer les graines © Giuseppe Mazza

À partir du miellat rejeté par les pucerons sur les rameaux de l’épicéa, les abeilles produisent un miel très foncé, presque noirâtre, considéré comme un excellent antiseptique des voies respira- toires, avec des vertus expectorantes et fébrifuges.

La résine qui s’écoule des incisions pratiquées dans l’écorce du tronc et des branches (gemmage) produit la dénommée poix de Bourgogne (Pix Burgundica F.I.). Par distillation, on obtient la térébenthine “de Strasbourg” (ou essence de térébenthine végétale). La pharmacopée italienne (1929) mentionne la poix blanche ou poix de Bourgogne (Pix burgundica) : substance solide, jaune, quasi opaque, avec une odeur et une saveur de térébenthine ; s’obtient du tronc et des grosses branches de l’épicéa. Servait, additionnée de cire et d’huile de noix de muscade, pour la préparation d’un emplâtre collant rubéfiant et stimulant prescrit dans le passé contre les fortes migraines et les douleurs rhumatismales. En phyto- thérapie on utilise les extraits d’aiguilles (Extractum pini) à partir des jeunes rameaux frais, l’huile essentielle d’aiguilles de sapin (Oleum Piceae foliorum) et les jeunes bourgeons.

L’huile essentielle contient des terpènes, pinènes, camphènes, phellandrènes, et acétate de bornyle, le glucoside picéine, pinipicrine, flofabènes, résines, tanin et une huile éthérée qui lui confère des propriétés antiseptiques, balsamiques, expectorantes, sédatives, antiphlogistiques, etc. Elle est utilisée en frictions dans les maladies de l’appareil respiratoire, dans les rhumatismes et dans les douleurs musculaires et entre dans la composition des déodorants pour les habitations. Les extraits des aiguilles et le bois sert pour préparer des bains bienfaisants, stimulants et toniques (avec extrait intégral, bain tannique et bain de bois).

JPEG - 239.8 ko
L’épicéa forme des forêts obscures, froides, humides, riches d’odeurs de résine et champignons © Giuseppe Mazza

Les bourgeons se récoltent à la main, dès février, avant qu’ils ne commencent à s’ouvrir, alors que les jeunes rameaux avec les feuilles peuvent se ramasser toute l’année, de préférence sur des exemplaires d’au moins 60-80 ans (plus riches en huile essentielle). Qui fréquente les montagnes ou connaît quelque parc ou jardin loin des routes à grands passages ou des environnements pollués, peut prélever chaque année des petits morceaux d’écorce d’épicéa avant l’hiver en vue de bienfaisantes fomentations dans les maladies de l’appareil respiratoire ou pour en mettre un peu dans chaque bac à eau des radiateurs afin de parfumer avantageusement la maison.

Préparations :

Bain stimulant et dépuratif de la peau

Dans une poêle (non ferreuse) mettre trois poignées d’aiguilles avec trois litres d’eau froide, porter à ébullition ; éteindre le feu et attendre que la préparation tiédisse ; filtrer pour éliminer les aiguilles infusées et ajouter à l’eau chaude dans la baignoire ; s’y baigner une demi-heure.

Décoction de bourgeons pour les bronchites et les refroidissements grippaux

Une cuillère à café de bourgeons secs, ou bien deux de bourgeons frais, les faire bouillir 3-4 minutes dans une tasse d’eau. En boire la moitié le matin et l’autre moitié le soir sucré avec du miel.

Synonymes : Pinus abies L. (1753) ; Abies picea Mill. (1768) ; Pinus viminalis Alstr. (1777) ; Pinus sativa Lam. (1779) ; Pinus excelsa Lam. (1779) ; Abies cinerea Borkh. (1800) ; Abies excelsa (Lam.) Poir. (1804) ; Abies minuta Poir. (1804) ; Picea rubra A. Dietr. (1824) ; Abies viminalis Wahlenb. (1826) ; Picea vulgaris Link (1827) ; Abies clanbrassiliana P. Lawson (1836) ; Abies commutata var. mucronata (1841) ; Picea excelsa (Lam.) Link (1842) ; Pinus picea var. carpatica (Loudon) Endl. (1847) ; Abies elegans Sm. ex J. Knight (1850) ; Abies parvula Knight (1850) ; Abies vulgaris var. nana Wender. (1851) ; Picea montana Schur (1851) ; Picea subarctica Schur (1853) ; Abies lemoniana Booth ex Gordon (1858) ; Abies finedonensis Gordon (1862) ; Abies gregoryana H. Low. ex Gordon (1862) ; Abies inverta R. Sm. ex Gordon (1862) ; Abies montana Nyman (1865) ; Abies extrema Th.Fr. (1867) ; Abies gigantea Sm. ex Carrière (1867) ; Abies carpatica (Loudon) Ravenscr. (1868) ; Abies medioxima C. Lawson (1868) ; Abies coerulescens K. Koch (1873) ; Abies eremita K. Koch (1873) ; Abies clambrasiliana Lavallée (1877) ; Abies conica Lavallée (1877) ; Abies erythrocarpa (Purk.) Nyman (1881) ; Abies subarctica (Schur) Nyman (1881) ; Picea abies (L.) H. Karst. (1881) ; Abies alpestris Brügger (1886) ; Picea alpestris (Brügger) Stein (1887) ; Picea cranstonii Beissn. (1891) ; Picea excelsa var. alpestris (Brügger) Beissn. (1891) ; Picea finedonensis Beissn. (1891) ; Picea gregoryana Beissn. (1891) ; Picea maxwellii Beissn. (1891) ; Picea obovata var. alpestris (Brügger) A. Henry (1891) ; Picea viminalis (Alstr.) Beissn. (1891) ; Picea velebitica Simonk. ex Kümmerle (1916) ; Picea abies (L.) H.Karst. f. argentea Rehder (1923) ; Picea abies f. columnaris (Jacques) Rehder (1923) ; Picea abies f. cupressina ( F. Thomas) Rehder (1923) ; Picea abies f. erythrocarpa (Purk.) Rehder (1923) ; Picea abies (L.) H.Karst. f. mucronata (Loudon) Rehder (1923) ; Picea abies f. parsonsii (Hornibr.) Rehder (1923) ; Picea abies f. veitchii (Hornibr.) Rehder (1923) ; Picea integrisquamis (Carrière) Chiov. (1935) ; Picea abies var. arctica Lindq. (1948) ; Picea abies subsp. europaea (Tepl.) Hyl. (1953) ; Picea abies subsp. obovata (Ledebour) A.E.Murray (1982) ; Picea abies var. alpestris (Brügger) ; P.A.Schmidt (1988) ; Picea abies f. alpestris (Breugg.) Krussmann. (1971) ; Picea abies subsp. acuminata (Beck) Parfenov (1971) ; Picea abies subsp. alpestris (Stein) Parfenov (1971) ; Picea abies f. deflexa (Tvszkiewicz) Krussmann. (1971) ; Picea abies subsp. fennica (Regel) Parfenov (1971) ; Picea abies (L.) H.Karst. f. integrisquamis (Carrière) P.A.Schmidt (1987) ; Picea abies (L.) H.Karst. subsp. acuminata (Beck) Silba (2008).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des PINACEAE cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

/p-65-40_picea_abies-2
/p-65-37_picea_abies
/p-65-10_picea_abies
/p-65-39_picea_abies
/p-65-38_picea_abies
/p-65-41picea_abies
/p-65-28_picea_abies
/p-65-40_picea_abies
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Picea abies

Family : Pinaceae

 

GIF - 6.2 kb

 

Text © Eugenio Zanotti

 

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

   

JPEG - 265.1 kb
The Norway spruce (Picea abies) lives even 500 years reaching 60 m of height © Mazza

The genus Pìcea includes, after various authors, 35 to 40 species of trees, all belonging to the Boreal hemisphere.

Some of them occupy a vast northern range, such as Picea abies in Europe (with Picea omorika of the Balkan region) and in Asia ( Picea orientalis of Caucasus and of Asia and Picea asperata of China), such as Picea pungens, Picea mariana, Picea sitchensis, Picaea breweriana, Picea glauca (or rather, Picea canadensis ) in North America; other species have southernmost distribution, more fragmented and limited to the major mountains.

The species of the genus Picea are large monoecious trees with small red or yellow male cones, female cones carried higher than the male ones, initially erect, and then pendulous after the fecundation. Sessile strobili ripening in one year and falling entire after the dispersion of the seed.

This genus has been divided into three sections: the first two include the species with needle-like leaves with quadrangular section and with stomatal lines on the four faces: sectn. Abies (including Picea abies and Picea orientalis and some others) and sectn. Casicta with various species, mostly American, like the Picea sitchensis. The entities of the section Omorika are on the contrary identified by flat needle-like leaves (like those of the silver fir), with only two stomatal lines along the lower page.

The name of the genus comes from the Latin term “pix” = pitch, or resin, for others, the term “picea” is to be referred to a not better identified fir; the name of the species “àbies, abietis” is a classical Latin term (Virgil, ‘Eclogues’), derived, after some authors, for the Sanskrit root “abh” = to gush out (of the resin), or, after others, from the Greek “abios” = since long time, perhaps due to the longevity or the presence of its woods in the territory.

The Norway spruce ( Picea abies (L.) H. Karsten 1881) so called because of the colour of the bark, is also known simply as spruce. It is an evergreen arboreal conifer of first magnitude 25-35 m tall as an average but which, in optimal conditions, can reach the 50-60 m of height and trunk circumferences of 2 metres (in exceptional instances, up to 4,8 m ). Very long-lived tree, it can live up to 400-500 years, but in the literature there are reports of even much more old specimens!

The stem is slender and for a long trait almost perfectly cylindrical, with dark green top, variable from strictly triangular to more or less strictly ogival. The posture of the branches can be ascending (upper part of the stem), patent (median trait), or pendulous (lower trait).

The radical system is rather superficial and this causes suffering to this species in case of drought; this should lead not to employ this tree, even less if isolated, in the urbanized areas as often is unluckily seen to be done (like with other mountain habitat conifers) in the gardens of the cities of the plain, where, furthermore, is often subjected to drastic pruning interventions (thing it does not tolerate at all..).

The bark is reddish in the young plants and later on becomes grey-brown, desquamating in irregular or roundish plates, 5 mm thick, very rich of resin, in the branches of 1 cm of diameter is brown-reddish, with 1 x 3 mm longitudinal scales ; sub-glabrous year branches, of pale green colour and then reddish. Persistent needle-like leaves up to 8-10 years, with more or less obscurely tetragon-rhomboid section, with four stomatal belts little visible (one per face) slightly prickly, often curved, of 1 (2) x 8-12 (-25) mm, arranged all around the small branches and placed on small relieved “pads”.

JPEG - 199.5 kb
Red bark and light wood used in making musical instruments and in paper industry © Giuseppe Mazza

Strobili (cones) are pendulous when ripe, sub-cylindrical, and pointed at the apex and often somewhat curved, of 3-4 x 8-15 cm, and can be green-yellowish (variety chlorocarpa ) or reddish (variety erythrocarpa ); are carried in upper third of the top and at the apex of the small branches of the previous year.

The fecundation takes place, depending on the altitudes and the climate, from April to June. The seeds (each scale protects two of them) are brown, (2) 3-5 (4) mm long, with a face much more convex than the other, surrounded by a semi-transparent wing, up to 16 mm long, glossy and thin.

Traditionally, in many countries the Norway spruce is the classical Christmas tree, to adorn for the most loved festivity; many nurserymen cultivate specimens in pot or in the ground for such use.

The wood, called also “wood of Moscovia” is whitish or yellowish tending to turn darker towards the reddish with the age, without apparent duramen, presents well visible rings, regular and evident resiniferous vessels; has slight resinous smell, of medium texture and straight grain, rather light (mass vol. 450 kg/mc), tender and slightly glossy. It is vastly employed, in addition to being an excellent fuel with high calorific power, for current works of joinery, furniture cases, matchboards, for fixtures and packaging, and is appreciated because, once dried, stabilized and treated, is very little attacked by the insects and fungi and maintains the shape; appreciated also in the paper industry as well as in the making of musical instruments, seen the excellent properties of amplification, especially for the soundboards of guitars, mandolins, violins, harpsichords, pianos, etc. Famous are the “resonance firs” of the Fiemme Valley and also of the Paneveggio forest, in Trentino and that of the Canal Valley and of the Tarvisano, in the province of Udine, of Croatian woods, etc., appreciated and utilized since centuries and still now used for the same purpose by famous firms building concert pianos such as Bechstein, Blüthner and Fazioli.

JPEG - 129.1 kb
It easily distinguishes from the silver fir (Abies alba) because the cones look down © Giuseppe Mazza

Due to the particular facility in slitting, it was much utilized for making boxes (for cheeses), clapboards and shutters for windows, etc. A curiosity: the first plane of the Wright brothers was made with the wood of this tree. The Norway spruce loves the continental climates, is a micro-thermal species (bears lowest temperatures up to -36 °C!), heliophilous and mesophilic, is the main member of the sub-Alpine forest of coniferous, of major importance for the Alpine forestry and therefore amply cultivated and diffused by the man also in the areas naturally favourable to the beech, in central-northern Europe up to the plainland altitudes.

The spruce forest, or the “Piceetum subalpinum” (Taiga) forms of acidic podzolic soil, therefore usually on crystalline rock, rarely calcareous, from the plain up to 2200 m of altitude. Along with the subspecies obovata (recently raised to the rank of new species: Picea obovata Ledeb (2005), which populates the Siberian forests) is the most important woody species in the world, thanks to the vastness of its range and the density of the populations, for the use of the timber. Its range includes the whole Siberia up to the Pacific, the plains of Poland, of Russia and the plains and hills of the Scandinavian countries, the mountains of Europe up to the Alps, on which it stands between the 800 and the 2200 metres of altitude. In Middle Europe is diffused for wood zones of various millions of hectares done on hills and plains lands originally occupied by the oak forests. Until a few decades ago, the forestall utilizations were cyclical, with clearcuttings on vast surfaces that, when recovering, formed coetaneous and uniform woods; presently are preferred utilizations distributed in the time leading to non-coetaneous woods, ecologically more balanced.

JPEG - 90.5 kb
The leaves are needle-like, with quadrangular section, and stomatal lines on the four faces © Mazza

So, the Norway spruce can be considered, amongst the trees, as the king of the Alps; the forests of spruce, humid and full of resinous and fungal odours in the valleys looking north.

The great Valerio Gacomini did write:

“The temperate solemnity of the Alpine forests enters landscapes of unequalled majesty, created by the magnificence of the granitic and dolomitic mountains, by the splendour of the permanent snows and of the glaciers, by the emerald basins of lakes, by the morbid stretches of grasslands. Extraordinary and contrasting harmonies settle between the sky, the land and the waters mainly where they advance towards the highest rocks, towards the vast altitude plains, the last troops of this highly productive vegetation, that challenges frosts and lightning”.

From the phytosociological point of view, the spruce woods are usually classifiable in the class Vaccinio-Piceetea; the woods of the mountain belt on the siliciferous substrata, where due to the acidification of the soil and the scarce presence of light the under-wood is rather poor, has also some small shrub like the Bilberry (Vaccinium myrtillus) and the Lingonberry ( Vaccinium vitis-idaea ), not to forget other well known herbaceous species such as the Oxalis acetosella, the Maianthemum bifolium, Solidago virgaurea, Homogyne alpina, Hieracium sylvaticum, Calamagrostis villosa and the ferns Athyrium filix-foemina, Dryopteris filix-mas, Cystopteris fragilis.

The sub-Alpine spruce wood, with same substratum, hosts also Sorbus aucuparia, Lonicera nigra, Lycopodium annotinum, etc., and a rich layer of mosses.

Up to about the 1500 m of altitude, the Norway spruce is at times in competition with the Silver fir ( Abies alba ). In the most open and luminous locations, at the upper limits of the wood, it may meet the European larch ( Larix decidua ) and the Swiss pine ( Pinus cembra ), known also as Arolla pine, and is often mixed with the bushes of Rusty-leaved alpenrose ( Rhododendron ferrugineum ), Common juniper (Juniperus communis) and the Alpine rose ( Rosa pendulina ). Numerous are the species of fungi living in the spruce wood, the most celebrated among them are the Ceps (Boletus edulis and Boletus pinophilus), living symbiotic with the Norway spruce, as well as the Spotted milkcap mushroom ( Lactarius scrobiculatus ).

JPEG - 121.6 kb
Young cones carried in the upper third of the top, at the apex of previous year small branches © Giuseppe Mazza

Also the avifauna is rich and very specialized: we recall here the Common crossbill ( Loxia curvirostra ) with its crossed beak, adaptation allowing him to easily extract the seeds of the cones. The Siskin Carduelis spinus ) during the breeding season, also eats the seeds it extracts with its sharp beak, from half open cones. The Coal tit ( Parus ater ), the Crested tit ( Parus cristatus ), the Willow tit ( Parus montanus ) and the Marsh tit ( Parus palustris ), the Common treecreeper ( Cerchia familiaris ) and other woodpeckers, the Goldcrest ( Regulus regulus ) are formidable hunters of insects and consequently friends of the trees of the wood.

Then there are small and big mammals, as well as the precious Red wood ants ( Formica rufa ) who build with the needles huge pyramidal nests, species rightly protected in several European countries due to its utility in contrasting the proliferation of the insects dangerous for the conifers.

Besides the natural or artificial diffusion by seed, the Norway spruce can propagate also by offshoots when the lowest branches are constantly in contact with the soil and when they emit roots; this happens with a certain frequency in high mountain, where the weight of the snow obliges the branches to bend down to the ground, almost to help – in scarcity of production of seeds due to the limit conditions – the specimens most “daring” to produce vigorous progeny. Unfortunately many are the adversities hitting the spruce woods caused by insects like the scolytids ( Ips typhographus, Cryphalis piceae ), curculionids of the genus Pissodes , hymenopterans ( Cephalcia arvensis ), lepidopterans ( Epinotia tedella ), aphids, etc., besides white rot fungi such as the Heterobasidion annosum .

JPEG - 150.4 kb
The subcylindrical cones, pointed at the apex, can reach 15 cm. Greenish or reddish, turn brown when ripe, before falling on the ground, with the scales raised, to disperse the seeds © Giuseppe Mazza

From the honeydew produced by the aphids on the small branches of the Norway spruce, the bees get a very dark honey, almost blackish, considered as an excellent antiseptic of the respiratory tract, with expectorant and vermifuge power.

The resin getting down from the incisions done on the bark of the trunk and the branches (resin extraction) forms the so-called Burgundy pitch (Pix Burgundica F.I.). From its distillation they get the “Strasbourg” turpentine (or vegetal turpentine). The Italian pharmacopoeia (1929) registers the white pitch or Burgundy pitch (Pix burgundica): a solid substance, almost opaque, with smell and taste of turpentine; it is gotten from the trunk and the big branches of the Norway spruce… It was used, along with wax and nutmeg oil, for the preparation of rubefacient and stimulating adhesive poultice used in the past against the severe migraines and the rheumatic pains. In phytotherapy, they employ the extracts of needles (Extractum pini) taken from the young fresh branches; the essential oil of needles (Oleum Piceae foliorum) and the young buds.

The essential oil contains terpinene, pinene, camphene, phellandrene, and bornile acetate, the glucoside picein, pinepicrin, flofaben, resins, tannin and one ethereal oil that confer antiseptic, balsamic, expectorant, sedative, antiseptic, antphlogisitc, etc. properties. It is used for frictions in the diseases of the respiratory system, in the rheumatisms and in the muscular pains and enters the composition of the inner spaces deodorants. The needles, their extracts and the wood of the Norway spruce are used for preparing beneficial baths (with natural extract, tannic bath and bath of wood); stimulant and reinvigorating.

JPEG - 239.8 kb
The Norway spruce creates dark, cold, humid forests, full of resinous and fungal odours in the looking north forests © Giuseppe Mazza

The buds must be hand picked, from February, before they begin opening, whilst the young small branches with the leaves can be collected during the whole year, preferably from at least 60-80 years old specimens (richer of essential oil). He who frequents the mountains or knows some park or garden far away from the trafficked roads or polluted environments, can gather every year small pieces of bark of Norway spruce before winter to utilize for beneficial fumigations in the respiratory apparatus ailments or put one in every water container of the radiators for perfuming beneficially the house.

Preparations:

Skin stimulating and depurative bath

Put in a non-iron skillet three handfuls of needles in three litres of cold water, bring to a boil, turn off the heat and wait until the preparation is lukewarm, strain for eliminating the exhausted needles and add to the warm water already ready of the bath tub, staying there for half an hour.

Decoction of buds for the bronchitis and the flu colds

One teaspoon of dried buds, or two of fresh buds, to be boiled 3-4 minutes in a cup of water. To drink half in the morning and half in the evening sweetening with honey.

Synonyms: Pinus abies L. (1753); Abies picea Mill. (1768); Pinus viminalis Alstr. (1777); Pinus sativa Lam. (1779); Pinus excelsa Lam. (1779); Abies cinerea Borkh. (1800); Abies excelsa (Lam.) Poir. (1804); Abies minuta Poir. (1804); Picea rubra A. Dietr. (1824); Abies viminalis Wahlenb. (1826); Picea vulgaris Link (1827); Abies clanbrassiliana P. Lawson (1836); Abies commutata var. mucronata (1841); Picea excelsa (Lam.) Link (1842); Pinus picea var. carpatica (Loudon) Endl. (1847); Abies elegans Sm. ex J. Knight (1850); Abies parvula Knight (1850); Abies vulgaris var. nana Wender. (1851); Picea montana Schur (1851); Picea subarctica Schur (1853); Abies lemoniana Booth ex Gordon (1858); Abies finedonensis Gordon (1862); Abies gregoryana H. Low. ex Gordon (1862); Abies inverta R. Sm. ex Gordon (1862); Abies montana Nyman (1865); Abies extrema Th.Fr. (1867); Abies gigantea Sm. ex Carrière (1867); Abies carpatica (Loudon) Ravenscr. (1868); Abies medioxima C. Lawson (1868); Abies coerulescens K. Koch (1873); Abies eremita K. Koch (1873); Abies clambrasiliana Lavallée (1877); Abies conica Lavallée (1877); Abies erythrocarpa (Purk.) Nyman (1881) ; Abies subarctica (Schur) Nyman (1881); Picea abies (L.) H. Karst. (1881); Abies alpestris Brügger (1886); Picea alpestris (Brügger) Stein (1887); Picea cranstonii Beissn. (1891); Picea excelsa var. alpestris (Brügger) Beissn. (1891); Picea finedonensis Beissn. (1891); Picea gregoryana Beissn. (1891); Picea maxwellii Beissn. (1891); Picea obovata var. alpestris (Brügger) A. Henry (1891); Picea viminalis (Alstr.) Beissn. (1891); Picea velebitica Simonk. ex Kümmerle (1916); Picea abies (L.) H.Karst. f. argentea Rehder (1923); Picea abies f. columnaris (Jacques) Rehder (1923); Picea abies f. cupressina ( F. Thomas) Rehder (1923); Picea abies f. erythrocarpa (Purk.) Rehder (1923); Picea abies (L.) H.Karst. f. mucronata (Loudon) Rehder (1923); Picea abies f. parsonsii (Hornibr.) Rehder (1923); Picea abies f. veitchii (Hornibr.) Rehder (1923); Picea integrisquamis (Carrière) Chiov. (1935); Picea abies var. arctica Lindq. (1948); Picea abies subsp. europaea (Tepl.) Hyl. (1953); Picea abies subsp. obovata (Ledebour) A.E.Murray (1982); Picea abies var. alpestris (Brügger); P.A.Schmidt (1988); Picea abies f. alpestris (Breugg.) Krussmann. (1971); Picea abies subsp. acuminata (Beck) Parfenov (1971); Picea abies subsp. alpestris (Stein) Parfenov (1971); Picea abies f. deflexa (Tvszkiewicz) Krussmann. (1971); Picea abies subsp. fennica (Regel) Parfenov (1971); Picea abies (L.) H.Karst. f. integrisquamis (Carrière) P.A.Schmidt (1987); Picea abies (L.) H.Karst. subsp. acuminata (Beck) Silba (2008).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the PINACEAE family please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

/p-65-40_picea_abies-2
/p-65-37_picea_abies
/p-65-10_picea_abies
/p-65-39_picea_abies
/p-65-38_picea_abies
/p-65-41picea_abies
/p-65-28_picea_abies
/p-65-40_picea_abies
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants