Rosa ‘Marlena’

Famille : Rosaceae

Classe : Hybride de Thé

 

GIF - 5.6 ko

 

Texte et photos © Giuseppe Mazza

 

 

Traduction en français par Serge Forestier

 

 

 

’Marlena’, dont la dénomination variétale est KORtocrea, est un hybride de Thé à l’histoire insolite.

Elle est née en Allemagne en 1999 sous le nom de ‘Red Queen Freelander‘ par les soins de Kordes pour l’industrie de la fleur coupée. Elle rencontre le succès dans les serres mais ensuite elle passe de mode et aujourd’hui elle n’est plus cultivée en Allemagne.

Un ancien représentant de Kordes en France, Edirose, imagine alors de la proposer pour les jardins méditerranéens chauds et cette variété est ainsi revenue sur le marché sous le nom de ’Marlena’. Une trouvaille commerciale qui crée cependant la confusion, car il existe déjà un Floribunda avec le même nom créé par Kordes en 1964 sous la dénomination variétale KORto.

Toujours est-il que, cultivé au jardin, l’arbuste atteint 1 m de haut avec un feuillage vert foncé brillant. Les fleurs de 11 à 12 cm, isolées sur leurs tiges comme il sied aux roses de fleuriste, ont de 35 à 40 splendides pétales rouges veloutés, presque sans parfum.

Une belle plante, et bien sûr, eu égard à ce qui précède, également une excellente fleur coupée pour décorer la maison.

Dénomination variétale  : KORtocrea

 

→ Histoire de la rose : des Roses Botaniques vers une rose parfaite.

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité des roses, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_R-8-2763_Rosa_Marlena
_R-8-2764_Rosa_Marlena
_R-8-2765_Rosa_Marlena
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Rosa ‘Marlena’

Family : Rosaceae

Class : Hybrid Tea

 

GIF - 5.6 kb

 

Text and pictures © Giuseppe Mazza

 

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

 

‘Marlena’, whose variety denomination is KORtocrea, is a Hybrid Tea with an unusual story.

It was created in Germany in 1999 under the name of ‘Red Queen Freelander’ by Kordes for the cut flower industry. It gained high success in the greenhouses but went out of fashion and is no longer cultivated in Germany.

A former representative for Kordes in France, Edirose, then came to the idea of proposing it for the warm Mediterranean gardens and so this variety went again into trade under the name of ‘Marlena’. A commercial trick which caused a bit of a confusion because there already existed a Floribunda with the same name created by Kordes in 1964 with variety denomination of KORto.

However, when cultivated in the garden, this shrub can reach 1 m in height with dark-green, shiny leaves. The flowers, 11-12 cm in diameter, isolated on their own stems as usually occurs in flower shop’s roses, have 35-40 splendid red, velvety petals, with almost no fragrance.

A beautiful plant that obviously, as can be presupposed, is an optimal cut flower when wanting to decorate the house.

Variety denomination : KORtocrea

 

→ History of the rose : from the Wild Roses towards a perfect rose.

→ To appreciate the biodiversity of roses, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_R-8-2763_Rosa_Marlena
_R-8-2764_Rosa_Marlena
_R-8-2765_Rosa_Marlena
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants