Xyrichtys novacula

Famille : Labridae

 

GIF - 5.6 ko

 

Texte © Giuseppe Mazza

 

 

Traduction en français par Serge Forestier

 

 

JPEG - 119.5 ko
Le Rason (Xyrichtys novacula) est frileux et il change sexe © Giuseppe Mazza

Le Rason ( Xyrichtys novacula - Linnaeus, 1758 ), appartient à la classe des Actinopterygii, les poissons à nageoires rayonnées, à l’ordre des Perciformes et la famille des Labridae.

Le nom de genre vient du grec "xyreoé" = raser, couper et "ichthys" = poisson.

Le nom de l’espèce vient du latin "novacula" qui signifie rasoir.

En somme, comme le disent les Génois dans leur dialecte, c’est aussi un "Pescio razu", un poisson rasoir.

Ceci, bien sûr, en raison de sa structure plate qui lui permet de disparaître en un éclair dans le sable pour échapper aux prédateurs, pour dormir ou pour hiberner.

Zoogéographie

Présent dans toute la Méditerranée, à l’exclusion de la Mer Noire, on le trouve des deux côtés de l’Atlantique et aussi en Afrique du Sud, avec une prédilection pour les eaux des Caraïbes et plus généralement les eaux chaudes.

Écologie-Habitat

Barrière corallienne mise à part, plutôt que les rochers, il aime les fonds sableux propres, et les prairies sous-marines. On le trouve généralement entre 5 et 10 m de profondeur, même si, pour se protéger du froid de l’hiver, il peut descendre jusqu’à 90 m.

Morphophysiologie

Il mesure 15 à 20 cm, mais les mâles, plus grands, peuvent exceptionnellement atteindre 30 cm.

L’épaisseur mise à part, il est immédiatement reconnaissable à sa livrée voyante et au profil de la tête, presque verticale.

L’œil est petit, placé très haut par rapport à la bouche, horizontale et minuscule mais bien armée de dents. Les centrales, plus grandes, sont proéminentes et acérées comme des canines, mais il y a, plus profondément, des molaires et, pour finir, des dents plates sur le pharynx.

Il y a une seule longue nageoire dorsale, qui commence immédiatement après la tête, et une anale semblable, plus courte. Les nageoires pectorales sont relativement larges et les ventrales sont petites. Comme Coris julis et de nombreux labridés, c’est une espèce protérogyne hermaphrodite. Les femelles en vieillissant deviennent des mâles.

La couleur de fond est rose ou rouge, avec des bandes et des arabesques bleues, plus ou moins intenses.

Éthologie-Biologie reproductive

Il se nourrit principalement de mollusques et de crustacés, mais aussi d’échinodermes, de cnidaires, de bryozoaires et de foraminifères.

En Méditerranée, la reproduction a lieu en été, avec des œufs flottants, au développement très rapide. Les stades post-larvaires ne sont pas bien connus, mais il semble que les jeunes passent tout l’hiver dans le sable.

L’indice de vulnérabilité de l’espèce est actuellement de 36 sur une échelle de 100.

Synonymes

Amorphocephalus granulatus - Bowdich, 1825 ; Coryphaena lineata - Gmelin, 1789, Coryphaena lineolata - Rafinesque, 1810 ; Coryphaena novacula - Linnaeus, 1758 ; Coryphaena psittacus - Linnaeus, 1766 ; Hemipteronotus copei - Fowler, 1900 ; Hemipteronotus novacula - Linnaeus, 1758 ; Hemipteronotus psittacus - Linnaeus, 1766 ; Novacula coryphaena - Risso, 1827 ; Novacula coryphaenoides - Schinz, 1822 ; Novacula coryphena - Risso, 1827 ; Novacula cultrata - Valenciennes, 1840 ; Novacula lineata - Gmelin, 1789 ; Novacula lineolata - Rafinesque, 1810 ; Novacula novacula - Linnaeus, 1758 ; Xyrichthys argentimaculata - Steindachner, 1861 ; Xyrichthys binghami - Mowbray, 1925 ; Xyrichthys cultratus - Valenciennes, 1840 ; Xyrichthys jessiae - Jordan, 1888 ; Xyrichthys psittacus - Linnaeus, 1766 ; Xyrichthys rosipes - Jordan & Gilbert, 1884 ; Xyrichthys uniocellatus - Agassiz, 1931 ; Xyrichthys vermiculatus - Poey, 1860 ; Xyrichthys vitta - Valenciennes, 1840.

 

→ Pour des notions générales sur les poissons cliquer ici

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité des Osteichthyes, les POISSONS OSSEUX, et trouver d’autres espèces cliquer ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_X-1-5_Xyrichthys_novacula
_X-1-6_Xyrichthys_novacula
_X-1-7_Xyrichthys_novacula
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Xyrichtys novacula

Family : Labridae

 

GIF - 5.6 kb

 

Text © Giuseppe Mazza

 

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 119.5 kb
Cleaver wrasse or Pearly razorfish (Xyrichtys novacula) feels the cold and changes sex © Giuseppe Mazza

The Pearly razorfish ( Xyrichtys novacula - Linnaeus, 1758 ) belongs to the class of Actinopterygii, the ray finned fishes, to vast order of Perciformes and to the family of Labridae.

The name of the genus comes from the Greek "xyreoé" = to shave, to cut and "icthys" = fish.

The name of the species comes from the Latin "novacŭla", meaning razor. Concluding, as the Genoese say in their dialect, it is also a “Pescio razù”, that is a razorfish.

This, obviously, due to its flat structure which allows it to disappear n a jiffy under the sand, for escaping the predators, for sleeping or for spending the winter.

Zoogeography

Present in all the Mediterranean, but the Black Sea, it is found on the two sides of the Atlantic and also in South Africa, with a liking for the Caribbean and, usually, the warm waters.

Ecology-Habitat

Apart the coral reefs, more than the rocks, it loves the sandy, clean, low bottoms and the submerged prairies. We usually find it between the 5-10 m of depth, even if, in order to shelter from the winter cold, it may go down up to 90 m.

Morpho-physiology

It measures 15-20 cm, but the males, bigger, may exceptionally reach the 30 cm.

Apart the thickness, it can be recognized at once thanks to its showy livery and the profile of the head, almost vertical.

The eye is small, very high in respect to the mouth, horizontal and tiny, but well equipped of teeth. The central ones, bigger, are protruding and are sharp as canines, but there are also, more deeply, some molars and, finally, we can see some flat teeth on the pharynx.

There is only one long dorsal fin, starting immediately after the head, and an anal one, similar but shorter. The pectoral ones are relatively wide and the ventral small. As is the case for the Coris julis and many labrids, it is a protogynous hermaphroditic species. The females, when ageing, become males. The background tint is pink or red, with blue bands and arabesques, more or less intense.

Ethology-Reproductive Biology

It mainly nourishes of molluscs and crustaceans, but also of echinoderms, cnidaria, bryozoans and foraminiferans.

In the Mediterranean, the reproduction takes place in summer, with floating eggs with a very rapid development. The post-larval stages are little known, but it seems that the young spend all the winter under the sand.

The vulnerability index of this species is of 36 over 100.

Synonyms

Amorphocephalus granulatus - Bowdich, 1825; Coryphaena lineata - Gmelin, 1789, Coryphaena lineolata - Rafinesque, 1810; Coryphaena novacula - Linnaeus, 1758; Coryphaena psittacus - Linnaeus, 1766; Hemipteronotus copei - Fowler, 1900; Hemipteronotus novacula - Linnaeus, 1758; Hemipteronotus psittacus - Linnaeus, 1766; Novacula coryphaena - Risso, 1827; Novacula coryphaenoides - Schinz, 1822; Novacula coryphena - Risso, 1827; Novacula cultrata - Valenciennes, 1840; Novacula lineata - Gmelin, 1789; Novacula lineolata - Rafinesque, 1810; Novacula novacula - Linnaeus, 1758; Xyrichthys argentimaculata - Steindachner, 1861; Xyrichthys binghami - Mowbray, 1925; Xyrichthys cultratus - Valenciennes, 1840; Xyrichthys jessiae - Jordan, 1888; Xyrichthys psittacus - Linnaeus, 1766; Xyrichthys rosipes - Jordan & Gilbert, 1884; Xyrichthys uniocellatus - Agassiz, 1931; Xyrichthys vermiculatus - Poey, 1860; Xyrichthys vitta - Valenciennes, 1840.

 

→ For general information about fishes please click here.

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the Osteichthyes, the BONY FISH, and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_X-1-5_Xyrichthys_novacula
_X-1-6_Xyrichthys_novacula
_X-1-7_Xyrichthys_novacula
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants