Zantedeschia aethiopica

Famille : Araceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Aline Delaître-Voxeur

 

 

JPEG - 44.1 ko
Majoritairement cultivé pour l’industrie des fleurs coupées, l’arum d’Ethiopie pousse en extérieur sous climat doux © Giuseppe Mazza

Le Zantedeschia aethiopica (L.) Spreng. (1826) provient des endroits humides du Lesotho, d’Afrique du Sud et du Swaziland où il colonise de vastes étendues.

Le genre Zantedeschia honore le physicien et botaniste Italien Giovanni Zantedeschi (1773-1846) ; l’espèce aethiopica vient du Latin et signifie « d’Ethiopie ». A l’époque de von Linné qui a décrit cette plante sous le nom de Calla aethiopica, aethiopica désignait le sud et le centre de l’Afrique.

Noms communs : “calla” (Italien) ; “arum lily”, “arum-lily”, “calla lily”, “calla-lily”, “common calla”, “common calla-lily”, “lily of the Nile”, “pig-lily”, “trumpet-lily” (Anglais) ; “arum d’Ethiopie”, “arum des fleuristes”, “calla”, “florist calla” (Français) ; “copo-de-leite”, “lirio-do-Nilo”, “cala-branca”, “jarra”, “jarro”, “serpentine-brava” (Portuguais) ; “alcatraz”, “aro de Etiopia”, “cala”, “cala de Etiopia”, “cartucho”, “flor del jarro”, “lirio cala”, “lirio de agua”, “pato” (Espagnol) ; “Calla”, “Äthiopische Calla”, “Zimmercalla” (Allemand).

Plante semi marécageuse à rhizome, pérenne et à feuillage persistant ou semi-persistant, elle présente des feuilles sagittées de couleur vert foncé. Elle mesure de 20 à 40 cm de long et s’étend sur 10 à 20 cm. Les pétioles charnus mesurent de 0,6 à 1 mètre de long, parfois plus dans son habitat naturel, et se forment directement à partir des rhizomes.

Les inflorescences sont caractérisées par une de longue durée de vie et sont formées d’un spadice jaune de 6 à 10 cm de long entouré d’une spathe blanche en forme d’entonnoir qui présente des bords incurvés, une base verdâtre et mesurant de 10 à 20 cm de long. Les fleurs sont unisexes : les fleurs mâles occupent la partie haute du spadice tandis que les fleurs femelles occupent la partie basse sur environ un cinquième du spadice. Les fleurs mâles et femelles n’atteignent pas leur maturité en même temps, ce qui rend impossible l’auto-fécondation.

Les fruits de couleur jaunâtre sont des baies globuleuses d’environ 1 cm de diamètre contenant plusieurs graines. La plante se reproduit généralement de façon végétative et une plante formée à partir d’une graine mettra de 3 à 5 ans avant de fleurir.

Dans les zones tropicales et humides sub-tropicales, Zantedeschia aethiopica se comporte comme une plante à feuillage persistant tandis que dans les zones à climat tempéré marquées par des changements saisonniers, il se comporte comme une plante à feuillage semi-persistant et perd ses feuilles pour une courte période pendant la saison sèche.

En extérieur, il nécessite un emplacement ensoleillé et un sol poreux, drainé, riche en substance organique et gardé constamment humide. Il peut aussi être cultivé en bassin ou au bord d’étangs en gardant la base de la plante dans quelques centimètres d’eau. Dans les zones relativement arides, un emplacement semi-ombragée est préférable.

Les feuilles sont endommagées autour de 0°C mais les rhizomes peuvent rester enterrés jusqu’à -8°C et doivent être paillés. La culture en pot est aussi possible mais nécessite un emplacement protégé ou doit être cultivé comme une plante à feuilles caduques. Le substrat doit alors être maintenu sec afin de faire flétrir les feuilles, les rhizomes doivent être conservés dans un endroit sec et ventilé et être enterrés quand les températures le permettent.

La plante est souvent cultivée sous serre pour la production de fleurs coupées. Les feuilles sont aussi souvent utilisées dans les compositions florales.

Quand le sol est trop compact et peu ventilé, il est souvent la cible de champignons et de bactéries, en particulier Erwinia carotovora, qui peut s’avérer létal.

Toutes les parties de la plante contiennent des substances toxiques telles que l’oxalate de calcium et peut causer de sérieuses réactions si elle est mâchée et avalée.

Synonymes : Calla aethiopica L. (1753) ; Calla moschata Moench (1794) ; Colocasia aethiopica (L.) Link (1795) ; Calla ambigua Salisb. (1796) ; Richardia africana Kunth (1818) ; Richardia aethiopica (L.) Spreng. (1826) ; Otosma aethiopica (L.) Raf. (1837) ; Arodes aethiopicum (L.) Kuntze (1891) ; Pseudohomalomena pastoensis A.D.Hawkes (1951).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des Aracées et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_C-58-11_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
_C-58-2_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
_C-58-4_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
_C-58-9_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
_C-58-10_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Zantedeschia aethiopica

Family : Araceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 44.1 kb
Very tilled for cut flowers industry, grows in open air in the mild climates © G. Mazza

The Zantedeschia aethiopica (L.) Spreng. (1826) is native to Lesotho, RSA and Swaziland, where it colonizes wide areas.

The genus is honoured to the Italian physician and botanist Giovanni Zantedeschi (1773-1846); the Latin name of the species, “aethiopica” = of Ethiopia, comes from the fact that by the time of Linnaeus, who described it under the name of Calla aethiopica, such wording was identifying the whole central and southern Africa.

Common names: “calla” (Italian); “arum lily”, “arum-lily”, “calla lily”, “calla-lily”, “common calla”, “common calla-lily”, “lily of the Nile”, “pig-lily”, “trumpet-lily” (English); “arum d’Ethiopie”, “arum des fleuristes”, “calla”, “florist calla” (French); “copo-de-leite”, “lirio-do-Nilo”, “cala-branca”, “jarra”, “jarro”, “serpentine-brava” (Portuguese); “alcatraz”, “aro de Etiopia”, “cala”, “cala de Etiopia”, “cartucho”, “flor del jarro”, “lirio cala”, “lirio de agua”, “pato” (Spanish); “Calla”, “Äthiopische Calla”, “Zimmercalla” (German).

Semi-marshy rhizomatous, perennial, evergreen or semi-deciduous herbaceous, with arrow head shaped leaves of a glossy dark green colour, 20-40 cm long and 10-20 cm broad, on fleshy petioles, 0.6-1 m long, even more when in its natural habitat, directly from the rhizomes.

The long-lasting inflorescences are formed by a yellow spadix, 6-10 cm long, contained in a white, funnel-shaped spathe, 10-20 cm long, with curved edges, shaded of green at the base; the flowers are unisexual, the male ones occupy the upper part of the spadix, the female ones are grouped in the lower part for about one fifth of its length, but self-fertilization is avoided due to the different times of ripening, trick which favours the cross fecundation.

The yellowish fruits are globose berries of about 1 cm of diameter, containing several seeds. It usually reproduces by division; when by seed, it will need from three to five years before getting the first blooming.

In the tropical and humid subtropical zones, it behaves always as an evergreen, whilst in the climates with marked seasonal changes it behaves as a semi-deciduous, going to rest, and losing the leaves for a short time during the dry season.

When cultivated in open spaces, it requires a location preferably in full sun, in porous and draining soils, rich of organic substance and kept constantly humid, it can also be cultivated in basins or ponds with the base submerged by some centimetres of water; in the rather dry climate areas, some shady location is to be preferred.

The leaves get damaged already with temperatures around the 0°C, or little less, but the rhizomes can remain interred also in the zones where are possible temperatures of about -8°C, provided well mulched, otherwise, it can be cultivated in pot, but in this case it is to be sheltered in a protected location, or cultivated as a deciduous, drying up the substratum in order to wither up the leaves and to keep the rhizomes in a dry and ventilated place for, later on, re-interring them when the temperatures are suitable.

The plant is often cultivated in greenhouse for the production of cut flowers, also the leaves are often utilized in floral compositions.

When in too much compact and poorly ventilated soils, it is easily the prey of fungal and bacterial infections, particularly the Erwinia carotovora, which can be lethal.

All parts of the plant contain toxic substances, in particular calcium oxalate, which can cause reactions, even serious, if chewed and swallowed.

Synonyms: Calla aethiopica L. (1753); Calla moschata Moench (1794); Colocasia aethiopica (L.) Link (1795); Calla ambigua Salisb. (1796); Richardia africana Kunth (1818); Richardia aethiopica (L.) Spreng. (1826); Otosma aethiopica (L.) Raf. (1837); Arodes aethiopicum (L.) Kuntze (1891); Pseudohomalomena pastoensis A.D.Hawkes (1951).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the arum family and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_C-58-11_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
_C-58-2_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
_C-58-4_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
_C-58-9_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
_C-58-10_Zantedeschia_aethiopica
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants