Zingiber officinale

Famille : Zingiberaceae

Texte © Pietro Puccio

 

 

Traduction en français par Aline Delaître-Voxeur

 

 

JPEG - 77.3 ko
Zingiber officinale © Giuseppe Mazza

Comme de nombreuses plantes cultivées depuis la nuit des temps, l’aire d’origine de Zingiber officinale Roscoe (1807) n’est pas connue avec exactitude et proviendrait du sud de la Chine ou de l’Inde.

Le genre Zingiber vient du Latin “zinziber” (“gingiber” en ancien Latin) et du Grec “ziggiberis” qui semble lui-même venir de “singabera” en Prakrit. “Singabera” viendrait de “srngavera” ou “shringavera” en Sanskrit qui signifie, en référence aux rhizomes ramifiés, “en forme de bois de cerf”. Le nom de l’espèce "officinale" vient quant à lui du Latin “officina” qui signifie atelier, laboratoire, en référence aux vertus médicinales de cette plante.

Les noms communs les plus utilisés sont “zenzero” (italien) ; “zangabîl”, “skînzhbîr” (arabe) ; “ginger”, “Canton ginger”, “culinary ginger”, “common ginger”, “stem ginger” (anglais) ; “gingembre”, “gingembre commun”, “gingembre officinal”, “gingembre traditionnel” (français) ; “Inbwer”, Ingwer” (allemand) ; “jengibre”, “kion” (espagnol) ; “gengibre”, “ingever” (portuguais).

Cette plante herbacée vivace possède des rhizomes tubéreux, charnus, ramifiés et aromatiques avec de fines tiges mesurant jusqu’à 1 m, similaires à des cannes ; les feuilles lancéolées de couleur vert foncé mesurent jusqu’à 30 cm de long et 2,5 cm de largeur.

Les inflorescences, qui se développent directement à partir du rhizome, sont des épis compacts mesurant de 25 à 30 cm. Elles comportent des bractées vert clair à partir desquelles apparaissent des fleurs jaunes-verdâtres composées d’un labelle central rayé de rouge et ponctué de jaune crème.

Les fruits sont des capsules déhiscentes (c’est-à-dire, qui, à maturité, s’ouvrent le long de lignes de moindre résistance), de couleur rouge, contenant de petites graines noires entourées d’un arille blanc (involucre qui, chez certaines espèces, enveloppe tout ou partie de la graine). La reproduction se fait principalement par division, rarement par semis (de nombreuses variétés cultivées sont stériles ou fleurissent rarement).

Ses rhizomes sont depuis toujours utilisés en médecine traditionnelle et en cuisine, pour aromatiser la nourriture et les boissons. De nos jours, cette plante est cultivée dans tous les pays tropicaux et sub-tropicaux, l’Inde détenant 50 % de la production mondiale.

JPEG - 83.3 ko
Les rhizomes du gingembre possèdent des propriétés aromatiques et des vertus médicinales © G. Mazza

Pour une croissance optimale, la plante a besoin d’un sol riche, maintenu humide pendant sa phase végétative et d’une exposition ensoleillée ou mi-ombragée.

Synonymes : Amomum zingiber L. (1753) ; Zingiber zingiber (L.) H.Karst. (1880) ; Amomum zinziba Hill (1770) ; Zingiber aromaticum Noronha (1790) ; Amomum angustifolium Salisb. (1796) ; Zingiber missionis Wall. in J.D.Hooker (1892) ; Zingiber officinale var. cholmondeleyi F.M.Bailey (1900) ; Zingiber cholmondeleyi (F.M.Bailey) K.Schum. in H.G.A.Engler (1904) ; Zingiber officinale var. macrorhizonum Makino (1933) ; Zingiber officinale var. rubens Makino (1933) ; Zingiber officinale f. macrorhizonum (Makino) M.Hiroe (1971) ; Zingiber officinale f. rubens (Makino) M.Hiroe (1971) ; Zingiber sichuanense Z.Y.Zhu, S.L.Zhang & S.X.Chen (1987) ; Zingiber officinale var. sichuanense (Z.Y.Zhu, S.L.Zhang & S.X.Chen) Z.Y.Zhu, S.L.Zhang & S.X.Chen (1992) ; Zingiber officinale var. rubrum Theilade (1996 publ. 1998).

 

→ Pour apprécier la biodiversité au sein de la famille des Zingiberaceae et trouver d’autres espèces, cliquez ici.

 

Les archives photographiques de Giuseppe Mazza

_Z-7-13_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-14_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-15_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-16_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-17_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-18_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-19_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-20_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-21_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-22_Zingiber_officinale
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants

Zingiber officinale

Family : Zingiberaceae

Text © Pietro Puccio

 

English translation by Mario Beltramini

 

 

JPEG - 77.3 kb
Zingiber officinale © Giuseppe Mazza

As per many plants having a long history of cultivation since the remote times, the area of origin of the Zingiber officinale Roscoe (1807) is not known exactly, being thought to be the south of China and of India.

The name of the genus comes from the Latin “zinziber” ( late Latin “gingiber” ), in Greek “ziggiberis”, which seems to come from the Prakrit name “singabera”, which, in its turn, should come from the Sanskrit “srngavera” or “shringavera”, which means shaped like the antlers of a deer, with reference to the ramified rhizomes; the name of the species comes from the Latin “officina” = factory, laboratory, hence, relative to the pharmacy, as it contains medicinal substances.

The most utilized common names are: “zenzero” (Italian); “zangabîl”, “skînzhbîr” (Arabic); “ginger”, “Canton ginger”, “culinary ginger”, “common ginger”, “stem ginger” (English); “gingembre”, “gingembre commun”, “gingembre officinal”, “gingembre traditionnel” (French); “Inbwer”, Ingwer” (German); “jengibre”, “kion” (Spanish); “gengibre”, “ingever” (Portuguese).

Perennial herbaceous plant, it shows tuberous rhizomes, fleshy, ramified and aromatic, with thin stems tall up to 1 metre, similar to canes; the leaves, lanceolate, are long up to 30 cm and wide 2,5 cm, of a dark green colour.

The inflorescences, which come out directly from the rhizomes, are compact 25-30 cm tall spikes, with light green bracts, from which appear greenish-yellow flowers with the central labellum with purple coloured stripes dotted with yellow cream spots.

The fruits are dehiscent capsules (that is, opening when ripe along lines of minor resistance) of red colour containing tiny black seeds with white aril (involucre that in some species wraps all or in part the seeds). It usually reproduces by division, rarely by seed (many varieties in cultivation are sterile or bloom rarely).

Since the ancient times its rhizomes are variously utilized both for the traditional medicine and for aromatizing foods and beverages. Nowadays, its cultivation is spread in all the tropical and subtropical countries, but it’s India which presently holds the record with about the 50% of the world production.

JPEG - 83.3 kb
The rhizomes of the ginger have aromatizing and medicinal virtues © Giuseppe Mazza

For an optimal growth, it needs rich soils, kept wet during the vegetative period, and a full sunny or partial shady exposition.

Synonyms: Amomum zingiber L. (1753); Zingiber zingiber (L.) H.Karst. (1880); Amomum zinziba Hill (1770); Zingiber aromaticum Noronha (1790); Amomum angustifolium Salisb. (1796); Zingiber missionis Wall. in J.D.Hooker (1892); Zingiber officinale var. cholmondeleyi F.M.Bailey (1900); Zingiber cholmondeleyi (F.M.Bailey) K.Schum. in H.G.A.Engler (1904); Zingiber officinale var. macrorhizonum Makino (1933); Zingiber officinale var. rubens Makino (1933); Zingiber officinale f. macrorhizonum (Makino) M.Hiroe (1971); Zingiber officinale f. rubens (Makino) M.Hiroe (1971); Zingiber sichuanense Z.Y.Zhu, S.L.Zhang & S.X.Chen (1987); Zingiber officinale var. sichuanense (Z.Y.Zhu, S.L.Zhang & S.X.Chen) Z.Y.Zhu, S.L.Zhang & S.X.Chen (1992); Zingiber officinale var. rubrum Theilade (1996 publ. 1998).

 

→ To appreciate the biodiversity within the family Zingiberaceae and find other species, please click here.

 

The photographic file of Giuseppe Mazza

_Z-7-13_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-14_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-15_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-16_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-17_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-18_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-19_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-20_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-21_Zingiber_officinale
_Z-7-22_Zingiber_officinale
Photomazza : 70.000 colour pictures of animals and plants